We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service, Bad Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Horrible Service, Bad Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel plenty of times in the past couple of weeks because my boyfriend is currently working in Erie. My first stay was ok, the room was clearly outdated. After that, the rooms were not nice or clean. After that the fridge leaked in one room and created a horrible smell which we were told was probably garbage, but we didn't have any. On top of that the AC did not work, so they gave us 2 fans for the room. The stay after that, the AC did not work in that room as well. I have tried to get ahold of the manager for almost a week and he has yet to return any of my phone calls. I keep getting the run around. Even though the price is cheap, I would much rather pay a more expensive price to stay in another hotel other than the Avalon. My advice, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    42
    47
    92
See reviews for
67
49
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oil City, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Spend the money to stay at another HOTEL! YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED AND BIT UP IF YOU STAY HERE! The lobby was the best part of the hotel. Our room was in very poor condition and did not smell very good at all. The vending machine on our floor did not work and the vending machine the floor below was also out of order. They had RAT poison setting out in the stairway. YUCK! YUCK! YUCK! Go somewhere else or just go home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Our family held a wedding (250 guests) at The Avalon. The reception/banquet facilities were outstanding. The room was very nice, the setup was amazing, the service staff were absolutely wonderful, and the food was also outstanding! We would certainly host another event at this facility. However, the hotel had some room for improvements. Even though we had a large "block" of rooms for wedding guests, some were checked into rooms that did not have a bed! (hotel mgmt said they were in the middle of renovations) Also some guests had reserved suites but only got regular rooms. There was no air-conditioining, and no hot water! In summary, not sure we would stay in this hotel again, but we would definatley use their banquet services again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I went to the Avalon 4 the week-end on St. Patricks Day. Check-in @ 3pm and the room had no bed. They were movin the beds from the 6th floor down 2 the 4th floor... it took them about 1 hour to give my family and friends a bed to sleep in. The general manager was rude 2 us and said he didnt care how hot the rooms were.The next time I plan on booking a hotel room I will make sure its not @ the Avalon. They have bed bugs,no phone service and most of all no internet service that you can use.. The personal staff are rude and very disrespectful,plus their food is cold and looks like it has mold from the walls on the bread. God bless everybody who stays their and hope you have a strong stomach for the foul smell.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed on St. Patrick's Day. Check in was suppose to be at 3 pm, but we could't check in till 3:30 pm. If you read the bottom of your receipt it states that if you check in early they would charge you $10 extra. They didn't comp me anything for them checking me in late.
After partying all day downtown we thought it best to just go to the hotel and drink, little did we know that the lounge at our hotel didn't open at all that day due to large events happening at the hotel. Poor mgmt. on their part. What hotel wants their guests to go elsewhere to drink on a crazy day downtown?
We had no trash cans in our room and our drawers had lamps in them so we couldn't unpack our bag.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Many of the rooms were under construction and fumigation for bed bugs. Heavy odor of mold, damp, many prople slept here without bathing smell. People (staff) very rude. Food served cold and old (some bread had mold on it). Could not get out of there fast enough.

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is the third time we stayed at the Avalon for the St. Patrick day festivities and have never been more disappointed or frustrated. Our reservations had been made 6 months in advanced for adjoining rooms and when we checked in we had rooms on separate floors. There was no hot water for 2 days and their in-room phones were not in service. We either had to use our cell phones or go to the front desk regarding our concerns. Some rooms had been "updated" but not fully completed (no towel bars in the bathroom and microwave and fridge just sat on the floor). One of the bed spreads had a big stain on the underside when brought to cleaning personnel it was not changed. HVAC was not working properly and rooms were hot. The manager was conveniently not available in the 2 days we stayed there. I truly felt sorry for the wedding party guests who stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.