We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No bargain here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No bargain here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I travel extensively, from Montana to Maine, and stay in a wide variety of hotels/motels. We look for a reasonable price and good value, and realize that you get what you pay for! That said, we have certain brands we avoid based on our experiences, and Econo Lodge is one of them. However, this property got good reviews, so we thought we'd give it a whirl. We wanted to use the hot tub after driving all day, but arrived just as the pool area closed for the night, so instead we upgraded to a jacuzzi suite since the price was decent. As luck would have it, the jacuzzi in our room did not work - loud noise, then it stopped and would not restart. The desk clerk arranged for us to move to the room next door, but we found that room was not clean, so we chose to stay put. Not a good experience, but stuff happens. On the plus side: the room was spacious, fairly clean; tub/shower was well lit, with a retractable clothesline (nice perk!); adjustable night light on the hair dryer wall mount (thumbs up!). On the down side: the mattress had collapsed on one side, so we shared half a bed; the fridge was tiny; the toilet seat would not stay up on its own; furniture was beat up; heating/cooling unit was battered but did work; no healthy choices at breakfast (fruit, etc). Kudos to the manager, he gave us a sizable discount when he heard our tale of woe, but that's not enough to bring us back. No value here.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    53
    35
    21
    34
See reviews for
84
29
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 5 yr old son was so excited to swim in the pool and go to splash lagoon conviently right across the street.after a fun day at splash lagoon we were exhausted and were heading to our room right outside our door there were a large group of very intoxicated ADULTS swear and being obnoxious. our hotel room was blocked by people. The maid told them to be quiet and two woman pushed her into the elevator and began to beat her rightn front of my 5 year old son. He was hysterical and traumatized by this and couldn’t sleep most of the night. We saw no management and no security and they continued to be loud and literally right outside our doorway. we called 911 We felt very unsafe we again were woken up by foul language and yelling outside our door at 3am and running around from the floor above us.We had also asked for towels 3 different times to never get them we got so frustrated we ended up just paying to reuse the same towels again Had hoped would be a great family weekend turned out to be a terrible weekend

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms were dated. It looks like they boarded up the window from the hot tub to the room.
We booked 3 rooms, 1 was supposed to be smoking, and we didn't get what we reserved and paid for.
Female front desk clerk had major bad attitude on Saturday morning when I asked for more towels - she never did deliver them as promised.
Much better hotels in tbe area to choose from.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca1727, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Ton and Kathy E,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements and continued training for our staff to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Rebecca Keefe - Operations Manager
Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me just start by saying this hotel is right across the road from Splash Lagoon, if you're unfamiliar with the area, that's the giant indoor waterpark Erie has become known for. This being said, the hotel is always packed with families and younger children. If your goal is to visit Splash Lagoon, this is a cheap alternative to the connected hotels. If you're not really kid friendly, I'd really recommend another hotel.

The hotel itself isn't bad, it's a little backwards and it's hard to find certain things. I saw a comment saying there wasn't an elevator, there is, it's just tucked around a corner...as is the breakfast room and other amenities. My boyfriend and I had gotten a suite for the weekend to just relax and get away. The room had a king sized bed, and a double jacuzzi tub. It was clean and we had no complaints.

Venturing out of the room is another story. The staff isn't the nicest bunch, but there are a few friendlier ones hiding behind the front desk. The hotel itself is situated on what I like to call the wrong side of peach street. There's no light to get out and you have to head out of town to turn around to go back into town because this part of peach is divided with those cement dividers in the medians. Honestly, it's less than a block of back and forth, but it's peach street and that makes it frustrating in itself.

The pool area is fantastic, if you get there when there's no one there, before they all get back from their days. The pool is of decent size, the hot tub is twice the size of a typical hotel spa, and there's a dry sauna.

Honestly, I'd stay here again, as long as it was the off season when kids are in school. Definitely one of the better, and cheaper, hotels in Erie!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca1727, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear


Dear Ashley H,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your last visit to our hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are meeting and exceeding our guests' needs. I am happy that you are one of those guests.

I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire team here at the Econo Lodge-Erie, praising them with a job well done. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again while traveling in the Erie area.


Sincerely,
Rebecca Keefe
Operations Manager
Erie Econo Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

If you are looking for a one night stay that is cheap and clean then this is the place. Clean rooms, good service and average breakfast. It does the job and I had no problems at all. Comfortable rooms and beds with a nice wake up call. Good place!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca1727, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share this review of our property. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found it to be a good value. We will be sure to share your thoughts about your stay with our entire staff.

Thank you for your business, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Can you give negative stars??!?Horrible,uncaring staff.asked for manager, would not get one for me. Dirty. If you're looking for a nice time with your nice family so not come here!!! Unsafe pool. Kids jumping off wall and diving into pool on top of each other. Drunk parents sitting around the pool. Reserved a rollout bed. Of corse didn't get one. If you want to have a horrible time with horrible people stay here. If not, look elsewhere!!!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca1727, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear 1234Mom,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your disappointment with your recent stay with us. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean, spacious, and quiet and all services are on-time and of the highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not inconvenienced as you were.
Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns


Sincerely,
Rebecca Keefe - Operations Manager
Econo Lodge Erie, Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Visited here March 14th-15th2015. Rates were ALOT cheaper than rooms attached to the water park. Had a terrific breakfast. Much more than we expected. Shuttle service to Splash Lagoon was great ! Well worth the savings to stay off site. Had a GREAT time !!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca1727, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear Kathi K,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your last visit to our hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are meeting and exceeding our guests' needs. I am happy that you are one of those guests.

I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire team here at the Econo Lodge-Erie, praising them with a job well done.

Sincerely,
Rebecca Keefe - Operations Manager
Econo Lodge - Erie, Pa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.