We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Erie
1 review
“Stay somewhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Stayed here for the Erie Marathon. When making the reservation, I requested late check out, told not a problem (would have gone to a different hotel if I couldn't get it). When checking in I was told it wasn't on my reservation and it might be charged. I checked out 1hr 15 mins late and was charged an extra $45 on a $78 reservation. The staff never told me I was being charged this, it was on the receipt which I had to ask for. I talked with the on-duty manager and got no service, she basically told me that this was my fault because it wasn't in the computer system (keep in mind that I made the reservation over the phone with the staff from this hotel directly). I had to file a formal complaint with the corporate office to get in contact with the franchise owner who did give me a refund. The interaction with the franchise owner was the only positive part of the transaction).

When we first got to our room my two year-old found small items from prior guests on the floor (hair clips).

Other minor issues like a rough general condition of the building (pool shower only works on full hot, stained carpets, cosmetic scratches, wear and tear of an older hotel).

If you must stay here, stay away from pool view rooms, you will hear everything from the pool in your room.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    44
    30
    19
    28
See reviews for
76
23
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Erie property is desperately in need of a deep cleaning (both the hall and the room smelled of smoke, despite being on a non-smoking floor). In addition, a refurbishing of bathrooms, in particular, is in order. Dirty, practically moldy-looking grout in the bathroom did not lend confidence to our belief that the rest of the room was well-cleaned. Front desk staff were shockingly unhelpful, bordering on surly. We arrived ten minutes prior to check-in time and were told our room wouldn't be ready for at least another half hour. We were in town for the Erie marathon and needed an extended check-out time. We inquired about a 1:00 p.m. check-out time when we initially checked in (we were there for two nights) and were told that the front desk staff wouldn't know if they could accommodate us in this request until the day of our departure. This answer, in combination with the unfriendliness of the woman who delivered it, was surprising and disappointing in a customer service industry. Not only will we not be back to this property, but this experience has turned us off to the EconoLodge brand generally. We were traveling with our dogs and bookended this trip with stays at the Red Roof Inn, which we found vastly superior in cleanliness, accommodations and service. When we travel with our dogs we will likely restrict ourselves to them.

Room Tip: Asking for a non-smoking room on a non-smoking floor does not guarantee that your room won't sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Econo Lodge the night before the Erie Marathon. When I checked in, I asked whether I could check out two hours late the next morning so that I could come back after the marathon and shower before heading home. I was told that was no problem by the person at the front desk. When I went to check out the next day, I was charged an extra $50 for the late checkout. When I complained to the manager, she told me that nobody would have said to me that it was OK to check out late and that she couldn't credit my hotel bill for the late checkout charges because the hotel would lose money. This level of customer service and the fact that I was fraudulently overbilled is unbelievable. Needless to say, I will never stay at an Econo Lodge again in my life.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped at the Visitor Center on the PA border, found a coupon book & called the hotel. Coupons are only for walk-ins but they had 11 rooms left. The price was unbeatable, and the room they gave us was unbelievable! Spacious room with jacuzzi, huge pool and hot tub available, pretty lobby, friendly desk folks, great breakfast. Made our long interstate drive rewarding. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: The accessible room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I get to Erie quite often and have probably stayed at most hotels! I do not know how I missed this property because it turned out to be better than some of the best! My stay was 8-25-2014 and believe me, the word Econo does it a grave injustice!! Room was excellent and service personnel was first class! I am always asked if I will return and I can only unequivocally say--without a doubt and I highly recommend this property to every one. Still can't believe what I've been missing!! LOL...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed the evening of 09/10/14. It was our first stay at this location and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was large and very clean. The hotel had a welcoming entrance and a great indoor pool and hotub area. Conveniently located on Peach Street with all the shopping and restaurants you could ever hope for. It was also adjacent to the "Splash Lagoon" - a great family attraction. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 9/4,5, and 6th. Room was nicely laid out with 2 sinks, fridge, micro, coffee pot, everything worked and the air conditioner was quiet. We also had a whirlpool tub. The furniture and rug are getting worn but were clean. Only con was the TV which wasn't quite clear , we thought it was the older TV but was cable as it was the same on the new sets in the lobby and breakfast room.. The breakfast had something for everyone and had fresh fruit on the bar every day. We were there for a Motorcycle State Convention.

Room Tip: All the rooms our group had booked were on the 1st floor and had whirlpool tubs. Hint water HAS to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.