We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ehh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The only nice thing about it is that splash lagoon is right across the street. All the rooms says non smoking but the place smells of cigarettes. If you're looking for a comfy bed, you won't find one here.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    39
    24
    36
See reviews for
92
36
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My room was freezing when I came in, it smelled very musty and of cigarettes, and the bathroom had peeling paint with black around the tub. The beds are like sleeping on a piece of plywood. I was so disappointed I went across the street to the Comfort Inn where there was pleasant staff, nicer beds, and a warm room. I would NEVER recommend the Econo Lodge to anyone. Comfort Inn and Econo Lodge are owned by the same company - Scott Enterprises and was surprised to find out such a huge difference in customer service and room quality. I am pleased to say the Comfort Inn helped me change my reservations over so I did not have to stay in that room for more than an hour.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Student Traveler14:

Thanks very much for taking the time to give your valuable feedback regarding the poor experience you had the Econo Lodge, Erie Pa. I am very sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, but I am happy to hear that your stay at the Comfort Inn and Suites was much better. I am looking into the issues you mentioned with the bathroom in your room, and also the poor air quality.
I am also happy to report that the hotel is being renovated this year, and all of the beds will be replaced as part of that. The ownership and management have recognized the need to update the property and are working hard to make this come to fruition. The staff at the property do their best to make every stay an excellent one for each guest, I am sorry that we missed that opportunity in your case. I hope you give us another chance if you ever come back to the area. Thanks very much for your time.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here one night after weather conditions forced us off the road. First we were told we had a non-smoking room but found a cigarette in the room on the tray with the coffee maker (which makes me wonder how housekeeping missed that when they cleaned). It was not "dirty" but there were very noticeable stains on the furniture. The heat controls were very difficult to work. We showed up for breakfast 20 minutes before it ended and they were out of almost everything but make your own waffles. When we found the woman in charge of that room she was doing dishes. We asked if there were more breads, she sighed, rolled her eyes and left us waiting in the hall until she finished washing a stack of plates. Without a word, she walked back to the dining room and handed us exactly two bagels (tough luck for all the rest of the people in there) and then left without a word. The tables were all filthy, covered with dirty plates, spilled food etc. Having said that it was a good size dining room with only one employee to keep the food supplies stocked, wipe tables and do dishes? I think the management was expecting too much of one employee.
We also were charged for a safe that we didn't use and were not told about ahead of time.
We realize that we did not pay to stay at the Hilton, but even so this was a less than enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear iavb:

Thanks so much for using your valuable time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Econo Lodge-Erie, Pa. I am extremely sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one, and that we missed an opportunity to make you a satisfied guest. I have personally addressed the issues you mentioned with regard to the room condition and the breakfast. This is an opportunity for all staff members to see just what can happen if they are not 100% committed to providing an excellent experience each day, for every guest.

I hope that you give us another try if you happen to return to this area. I would like the chance to see what a positve change can happen as a result of your sharing an honest opinion of the property during your stay.

With kind regards,

Deonna Caputo
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge a couple of different times in October while on a fishing trip. Enjoyed our stay with a jacuzzi in the room, hot tub and indoor pool. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast was good with some hot items, eating area was good size. Will definitely stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear LucyLou1944,

First I would like to thank you for sharing comments about your recent stay at the Econo Lodge in Erie Pa. I am very pleased to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and I want you to know that I have shared your comments with the entire staff and management company.
We hope that in the future if you are in the Erie area you come and be our guest again.
Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Traveling between PA and NY I got stuck in one of the wonderful of lake Erie windstorms - this was the first hotel I reached getting off the exit. My last minute room featured a hot tub and a very comfortable bed. The staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was as expected.....They have Waffles!!!! Value comparable to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Krzy4kt2,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your last visit to our hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are meeting and exceeding our guests' needs. I am happy that you are one of those guests.

I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire team here at the Econo Lodge-Erie, praising them with a job well done. I hope that you will choose to sta ywith us again while traveling in the Erie area.


Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our 5th year staying here but the hotel is getting a littel run down. The facilities are basic, the breakfast runs out of fruit, yogurt and other items so you are left with bread, bagels and waffles. The rom s are clean but the furniture is getting worn, The TV works and has a good channell selection but it too is getting worn.

Room Tip: Don't stay on teh pool side as it can be noisy. Only 1 elevator and slow so plan on the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear TheRobMac,

Thank you for sharing comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
I want you to know that we take all the comments from our guests very seriously and use them to help make improvements.
We hope that if you are in the Erie area in the future you will give us another chance and stay with us. Again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

On the road again following the college soccer team.Went online to check out Choice Hotels, and found this Econo Lodge.We had an oversized king room with a jacuzzi bath and sleeper. The room also had a micro, mini frig., coffee maker, and safe. I especially liked how the bed was made with the blanket in between both sheets. The pool,whirlpool,sauna area was a definite step above the normal type of setting found in most hotels. There was also à decent fitness center. There was a full hot breakfast, and the area was large-it seemed more like à restaurant-- and we ate and drank from china instead of styrofoam. There are numerous places to eat,drink or shop within 1/2 mile. Price $75! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Prinman,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent visit to our hotel. it's always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are exceeding our guests' expectations. I am happy that you are one of those guests.

I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire staff here at Econo Lodge-Erie, praising them with a job well done. Again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#24 of 35 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Erie
2.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#9 of 35 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#10 of 35 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Erie-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.