We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping weekend in Erie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Erie
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shopping weekend in Erie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our 5th year staying here but the hotel is getting a littel run down. The facilities are basic, the breakfast runs out of fruit, yogurt and other items so you are left with bread, bagels and waffles. The rom s are clean but the furniture is getting worn, The TV works and has a good channell selection but it too is getting worn.

Room Tip: Don't stay on teh pool side as it can be noisy. Only 1 elevator and slow so plan on the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear TheRobMac,

Thank you for sharing comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
I want you to know that we take all the comments from our guests very seriously and use them to help make improvements.
We hope that if you are in the Erie area in the future you will give us another chance and stay with us. Again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    27
    17
    24
See reviews for
73
17
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New London, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

On the road again following the college soccer team.Went online to check out Choice Hotels, and found this Econo Lodge.We had an oversized king room with a jacuzzi bath and sleeper. The room also had a micro, mini frig., coffee maker, and safe. I especially liked how the bed was made with the blanket in between both sheets. The pool,whirlpool,sauna area was a definite step above the normal type of setting found in most hotels. There was also à decent fitness center. There was a full hot breakfast, and the area was large-it seemed more like à restaurant-- and we ate and drank from china instead of styrofoam. There are numerous places to eat,drink or shop within 1/2 mile. Price $75! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Prinman,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent visit to our hotel. it's always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are exceeding our guests' expectations. I am happy that you are one of those guests.

I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire staff here at Econo Lodge-Erie, praising them with a job well done. Again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for the first time this past Monday and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was for such a reasonable price. The rooms were clean and ours included a microwave and small fridge. The shower was large and bathroom and room very clean. I liked the cozy lobby with small tables and easy chairs as well for a nice area to sit awhile if desired. The pool area looked nice and also a sauna is available . We did not have the opportunity to use either but will another time. I peeked into the fitness room and it was more than adequate . The breakfast was enough to get you going in the morning...and this area was well serviced and clean...with REAL utensils instead of the usual plastic...a nice touch I thought. All in all the hotel was very nice and in a great area for any shopping. Would not hesitate to stay another time.

Room Tip: We usually ask for a room away from elevators and outside doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Weezy7Stonecreek,

First I would thank you for taking the time to share comments from your recent stay at Econo Lodge, Erie. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
We pride ourselves in exceeding our guests' expectations and we hope to see you again
when you are in the Erie area. Again, Thank you!

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family stayed here on October 19-20, 2013. As I expected with a "name brand" hotel, the lobby was nice and the room appeared to be nice also. But looks can be deceptive. The elevator was out of service for most of the weekend. When we attempted to go to sleep we learned that the walls were paper thin as we heard excessive amounts of noise from both the room above us and from the stairway doors outside our room door. The windows whistled from the outside wind blowing against them. When we went to their breakfast (1 hour before closing), the tables were dirty, there were no doughnuts, there was no syrup at any table for the waffles, there was no silverware and the bread and bagels were non-existant. The staff had one speed and that was ultra slow. If management does not care about the staff and the staff does not care about the guests, then I will NEVER stay here again. We go to the same are of Erie each year at the same time for the last ten years and this is our only negative comment about any of the hotels. Next year will not be at the Econo Lodge.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the stairwells and on the top floor (so you don't get noise from the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Daniel B,

I really appreciate you taking the time to share your your dissapointment with your recent stay at the Erie Econo Lodge. I want to personally apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We want our guests to have the best stay possible where every area of the hotel is clean, spacious, and quiet and all services are on-time and of highest quality. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not inconvenienced as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts with us. We value you as a guest and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns and that they have been addressed with the staff and our management company.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Right off the highway. Great value. Nice clean hotel. Pool area looked nice but we didnt use it. Breakfast was ok. Staff was helpful but not overlu friendly. Definately could recommend for someone passing through and needing a place to stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Kidron 733,

Thank you for sharing your comments from your recent stay at Econo Lodge, Erie. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in making sure we meet our guests' expectations and we are so happy that we met your expectations.
We hope to see you again when you are traveling through Erie. Again, thank you!

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was a delightful surprise. I do a few weekend trips a year to Erie, pa with family in order to go speed boating at Presque Isle. I booked this hotel because they allow you to bring a dog. The hotel was clean, had a nice breakfast and the staff was very friendly. The indoor pool area was really nice. There was a sauna and a hot tub in the tropical themed area. The hotel is also across the street from Splash Lagoon, near I-90, close to Millcreek Mall, Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle Downs Casino.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDCaputo1, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Bernadette R,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent visit to our hotel. It's always nice to hear positive feedback, showing us that we are meeting our guests' needs. I am happy that you are one of those guests.
I can assure you that I have shared your compliments with the entire team here at the Econo Lodge, Erie, praising them with a job well done. We hope to see you again when your in the Erie area. Again, thank you.

Sincerely,

Deonna Caputo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This could be a nice place with a bit of cleaning, repairs and some consideration shown to guests.
-noticed large bags of garbage, dinnerware by doors and laundry in the hall when we checked in at 3:30 pm which I figured would be cleaned up when rooms were all cleaned, but it was all still there when I went to bed.
-noticed dresser drawer were all askew and off tracks which I ended up fixing in order to use them.
-pool area nice but fake palms covered in layers of dust, sauna was cold even after turning on for an hour
-at about 5AM was woke up by staff talking very loudly in the hall, I am guessing they were collecting garbage and delivering receipts under the door.
-noticed on receipt that they charge for a safe in the room even though you do not use, they refund this if you happen to notice and complain

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 8050 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge is located off of Interstate 90 and is adjacent to Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark Resort. The hotel is central to most shopping, dining and entertainment opportunities in the Erie area.Hotel amenities and features include:-Hot Continental breakast with fresh made waffles-Free high-speed wireless internet in all guest rooms and public areas-Free transportation to the airport, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Splash Lagoon Indoor Waterpark resort-Room service daily from 6 to 10 from Applebee's, Famous Dave's, Quaker Steak and Lube and Boston's Gourmet PizzaAll of our guest rooms are spacious and include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, 60 cable channels plus free HBO and mini fridges in each roomWhether you're traveling to the Erie, Pennsylvania area for business or pleasure, enjoy the superior lodging and friendly staff at the Econo Lodge. Book a room with us today! We enjoy accomodating the everyday business traveler as well as providing a resort atmosphere for families on vacation.Our mission is to exceed our guest's expectations by providing memorable experiences that reflect the care, pride and expertise of our management and associaties!We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Erie
Econo Lodge Erie
Econolodge Hotel Erie
Erie Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.