We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Presque Isle” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Near Presque Isle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We choose this hotel a lot because it's the best choice closest to Presque Isle. There are places to eat nearby and it's also very close to Waldameer. My husband and I can't figure out why another hotel chain hasn't grabbed the chance to build near here though. We stayed last summer with our kids and grand children and all had a nice time. The smaller size pool did get crowded, but it was near the 4th of July. I think this is a good choice if you don't want to be near the hub bub of the Kearsarge area and don't want to pay the $$$ for the Sheraton waterfront in Erie. Try to request a room with refrigerator and microwave (not all rooms have them). We enjoy going out to Presque Isle a lot so I feel this is our best choice (for now).

Room Tip: Avoid being near an entrance door. Don't bother with the rooms with a balcony near the pool dur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel when you visit Presque Isle! It is wonderful to close enough to the park to give guests the opportunity to walk down if they choose. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will return to the Clarion in the future. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    46
    42
    19
    21
See reviews for
48
31
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were in Erie for a wedding. Check in was quick, desk staff were friendly and efficient. Finding our room was a challenge, the lay out of the hotel is very confusing. Other wedding guests also experienced difficulty finding their rooms as well as their way to the lobby to meet the shuttle. This would be especially difficult for people with physical problems and while luggage carts would have been nice they would have been useless on the stairs. Our room was clean and had everything that we needed. Pretty dated, reminded me of Erie vacations with my parents in the 50's, which was kindof cool. We had a room overlooking the pool and with that the noise, light and chlorine smell. Bed was comfy, plenty of pillows. Shower drain...did not drain. Breakfast buffet was ok, as it was an additional charge I expected better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the pool. If you have ambulation difficulties you should make reservations directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Clarion. I am glad to hear that overall you were satisfied with your stay. I am sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet all of your needs and expectations. We appreciate your feedback, as it tells us what we need to improve upon and what we have done correctly. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is only a few miles from the airport and the same for Presque Isle beaches. It is easily accessible from I-79. The reception by the staff at the desk was friendly and courteous. The room was beautiful, clean, and quiet.
If you are attending meetings, touring, or spending the day at the beach, you will appreciate your stay and the accommodations here. Victor's Restaurant which is located in the hotel is excellent. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that you and/or kids will enjoy.

Room Tip: None needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We appreciate the positive review and are pleased to hear you enjoy your visit with us. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Was here with a friend for an event. The hotel was very comfortable, the staff was great. Loved the indoor pool, plus there was an Arby's across the street. Decently easy to get to from the Interstate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, July 21, 2014
I am glad to hear you found us conveniently located from the interstate and enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Due to a family emergency, we booked a night here based on a discount we heard about at UPMC. Victor's was great service was wonderful. Hotel desk clerk was also nice. The room, average smelled of cigarette smoke, you could hear every door on what sounded like every floor slamming shut, I could hear the people above us talking to each other word for word at whatever hour it was, the room was freezing when we entered with the AC running when it was 22 degrees outside. Oh but the best part is hearing the men above us urinating then flushing the toilet. You can hear it all through these walls. The pool area however not used by us was nice.

Room Tip: Not the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Clarion. I am glad to hear we are able to accommodate you during a family emergency. I do apologize that we did not exceed your expectations in your sleeping room. I understand how important a good night sleep is, and regret that you were unable to obtain that during your stay at the Clarion. I do hope you will provide us the opportunity in the future to provide you with top notch sleeping accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Does anyone else read manager retorts as sort of bullying ? I'm sure there told to do it.. But the point of online reviews is that it's peoples opinions .. There allowed to them.. I'm sure they think it's professional.. Personally I don't like it...
So, the hotel...
Pool : above average
Hot tub : is a tub , as in not recirculating water, but large, nice, and warm
The rooms that open to the pool are cool.. But yes it screams early 80s.. My room was ok, spacious bed a lil old but clean .. There was a lot of ambient noise thru walls, but not much you can do there..
The eats : this was a confusing thing... The restaurant looked so fancy, I was excited to eat ANY steak.. But a very limited menu... Burgers, chicken etc... Ordered a very gross Cesar salad ..... So I'd say take the short walk to near by eats..

All in all, I'd suggest price being the deciding factor for you...
Want a pool ? Pay the extra and stay here other than that no real reason to pick this hotel in the market ...

Room Tip: I think they had a 5 dollar Buffett for breakfast.. Look into that
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, March 25, 2014
On behalf of the staff, appreciate and thank you for reviewing the Clarion Hotel. We are pleased to hear you found the pool to be above average and were able to utilize it during your stay. We are terribly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal at Victor's. Thank you for choosing the Clarion during your Erie visit. We invite you to stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had my Daughters Wedding Reception at the Clairion Belaire. It was so classy and wonderful .The Lobby has a nice staircase for pictures. The food was fabulous . The rooms were very nice.Ours looked over the pool. They have a nice buffet breakfast in the morning, it cost $5.00 which was fine. The Pool Jacuzzi area is indoor in a very nice atrium area. This city is very cold and snowy so that was great for February. We had a problem with a room for the bridemaids in the morning and the staff took immediate actions and solved the problem . .
It was perfect. The Hotel is very close to Erie Areas beautiful beaches on LAke Erie and a very nice Amusement Park . The Hotel is older, but kept up very nice. I would recomend it for visiting our area or for a wonderful wedding receptions .

Room Tip: The room overlooking the Pool were very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Bel-Aire for the wedding reception venue. We are so glad to hear everything about your experience was terrific! We look forward to your next visit or function! Please join us anytime for lunch or dinner at Victor's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Victor’s Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Monday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie’s main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.