We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Nashviille
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is okay for what you pay, but is only average. Could really use a sprucing up. The employees were good to deal with, but the hotel is a little dingy and my main complaint is that the non-smoking room sure smelled like a smoking room to me. Here's the trick, though. The restaurant in the same building--Victor's--is primo. Had a truly great meal there. So skip the hotel and go to the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We are pleased to hear your experience at Victor's was fantastic! We apologize that your entire stay was not as enjoyable; however, we are in the process of improving and hope you have a more pleasurable experience during your next stay. Thank you for reviewing the Clarion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    51
    44
    19
    21
See reviews for
52
33
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shippenville, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

When you first see the hotel, it looks very nice as you enter the loby it's so elegant looking and then when you get to your rooms it looks like a motel 8!! Very sketchy! Dark hallways, and very confusing layout of the hotel also! Couldn't find anything we wanted. The heater in our room didn't work very well, either really cold or extremely hot. Our room was on the first floor..normally that would be okay, but the blinds don't close! The ones that did were shear and you could see straight through them. Very creeped out when people would walk past. And breakfast is $5?! That's crazy. What's happened to all exclusive. Over all it was disgusting, never coming here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you kindly for your review of our property! We wanted to take a moment to apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay. We take your comments seriously and will use them to help make improvements in the future. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Erie area. Please feel free to contact us directly at the hotel should you have any further questions, or if you would like to discuss this matter further-we are more than happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Unfortunately I won this bid on Priceline - at a horrible price too! $95 a night for this dump. I made the mistake of lowering my star level as I was getting desperate to book 3 rooms in the summertime for a family trip.

It is so outdated and dirty. Our room had a soaking wet old, musty carpet. Like you couldn't even take your shoes off it was that wet. Thankfully they moved us to another room the next night. We saw them later set up a fan to dry it out. The other two rooms had a newer carpet but it was still very outdated with gold fixtures, etc. I can sometimes over look outdated but not when I'm paying $95 a night in Erie, PA! I just returned from Grand Cayman and spent $100 a night for the Marriott!

The only positives are that the staff were very friendly and accommodating, the breakfast buffet for $5 was not too bad and it is close to the beach area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are terribly sorry to hear the accommodations did not meet your expectations; however, we are glad to hear that you experienced excellent customer service. We take your comments seriously and will use them to help make improvements in the future. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anynomous
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel for years, this hotel has been around for many years, yes it can use updates and just most recently upon my stay thats exactly what they did!! the outside up front was painted, the room had brand new carpet, the hallway is maybe the only carpet that i seen that needed to be replaced, but people dont realize that is the most difficult to do when the hotel is always busy. they have to wait until they arent as busy and when it would be an inconvience for the guests, to me thats them thinking and placing the guests first!! (which is the number one goal of a great establishment) otherwise people will be complaining how the noise bothered them as they were doing the construction and everything. In fact they were working on the room right next door amd not once did i hear them do this, they do it during the day hours and i only seen this because the room was gutted out when i see one of the workers go in there!! I seen all these complaints about having to pay a misley $5.30 for a hot breakfast buffet, i mean really?? it was very worth the money and they staff made it even better, greeted with a smile, offered to make a waffle for me, cleared my plates promptly upon finishing, kept up with stocking the food. (go ahead and go to perkins or mcdonalds, but u will pay way more for the same stuff) the front desk gave me great directions. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, February 25, 2014
On behalf of our staff here at the Clarion Hotel, thank you for your review! It's always a pleasure when our guests take a moment to notice the small details, including service, and we are very happy to hear we were able to give you a great stay! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet in Victor's. Thank you for being a guest at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Erie, PA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

As you pull up to the hotel, while the neighbourhood seems really sketchy, the outside looks nice...but then you go inside and it's really run down and not very nice. The hallways are dark and dingy and even though it's a non-smoking hotel guests were still smoking (you could see a haze in the hallways) and made the rooms smell. The carpets are dirty and our heater/AC didn't work well (it was boiling hot in the room). As a place to crash...it was fine...but overall we tried to stay out and about as much as possible so we didn't have to hang out here. I reserved two rooms (they have tons of adjoining rooms) and I booked about 5 weeks prior to our stay and our rooms were on separate floors. We asked if we could be moved and they told us we would have to beg the people beside us to move - but they wouldn't tell us if they were checked in or not. We just left it alone and stayed on separate floors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you kindly for sending feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for not granting your requests and are saddened that your overall experience was unpleasant. Prior to your next stay with us, we ask you to please call the hotel directly to request adjoining rooms. We do have a very limited number of rooms that adjoin, along with several room types that offer none at all. Our staff is very dedicated to seeing that as many requests as possible do get granted. Again, we want to apologize for providing you with a less than exceptional stay. We look forward to providing you excellent customer service during your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTON
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I were using our Choice Privilege points so we planned a little get away. We have been to Erie before and like it. And we have stayed at the Clarion before. Nice place. When I booked the room I did not even notice that I was booking a Business Suite. So when we arrived and checked in. We were given 2 sets of room keys. 1 set was for the room with a King bed and the other was for a sitting room. There was a couch, loveseat, a chair, a dining room table with 4 chairs and a wet bar. It was a great surprise. In our room the fridge did not work and the microwave was making noises so I unplugged it. But we had the fridge in the other room so it was okay. I told the lady at the desk upon checkout so I hope they got it fixed for the next guests. Breakfast was very good. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay! It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. The pleasure is in truly knowing that we have provided excellent customer service as well as a quality product. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed the rooms and our breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing your during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were there for a conference. We ate at Victors and the food was really good. The only thing I was disappointed in was I did not have time to use the pool or hot tub. We had a good breakfast and staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you kindly for reviewing the Clarion Hotel! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Victor's. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Victor’s Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Monday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie’s main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.