We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Mena, AR
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Interesting but Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Older property but maintained. Have both motel and hotel rooms - so be sure to know what you are getting. It was a good value for a one night travel stop. The furniture was a bit mismatched, but we didn't care, just noticed. The pool area was nicely done - indoor with lots of fun decorations. There are some rooms that have balconies to the pool area -- the 1st floor rooms opened right to the pool area which would be convenient for families.

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet you might want to avoid a pool-side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    51
    44
    19
    21
See reviews for
52
33
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NorthCentral PA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stay here several times a year when traveling to Erie on business. I choose this property because it has the best rate. The staff are always friendly, the room is clean. The pool is nice, and the pool area is kept clean. A big bonus-if you are away from the pool, this is one of the quietest hotels I've ever stayed at. You don't hear noise from other rooms, people going down the hallways, doors slamming...easy to get a full nights sleep before important meetings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

For an older hotel the decor is updated and the rooms neat and clean. Location is great. Not in a busy part of town, but close to where you want to go. There is an in house restaurant that offers room service. Wait service was very polite, food was average, however the fries were outstanding!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, PA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rooms were okay, neat, clean, nothing special. We were disappointed that our room had no refridgerator or microwave, web-site stated most standard room inluded these. The others we traveled with did have a fridge but we did not. Hotel has nice indoor pool. Restaurant provides a nice breakfast buffet for $5 for those staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I know some other people have written positive reviews about this property, but they must have pretty low expectations for hotels.

I recently stayed here for a business meeting that was held at the nearby Bayfront convention center. The rates weren't bad, but you get what you pay for. Unfortunately, I didn't make this reservation myself or I would have stayed elsewhere.

The hotel is older, but is generally kept up well--at least at first glance. Some small, but very important, things have gone overlooked. For example, the bedding is old and worn. The pillows had clean (I think) cases on them, but the pillows themselves smelled of sweat and dirty hair. The mattress was worn out as was most of the furniture in the room. The deadbolt on my room did not work. And, the card readers on the outside doors also did not work. Internet service was free, but if it constantly shuts off or works slowly, then whether or not it's free doesn't really matter.

The worst part, though, was that my shower/tub drain was completely plugged and the mechanism for closing and opening the drain was broken. The tub very quickly filled with water and whatever else came into the tub that had been in the drain (a lot of filth and pipe gunk). It was truly disgusting. I called the front desk to let them know. Their response did not include any apology or offer to change rooms for me, but instead they planned to send over the maintenance guy when he got back from their other property. As it was well past midnight and I had to get up early the next morning, there was no chance that I could wait up for a maintenance man who might or might not show up. I asked the front desk worker to simply discount my bill, which I was told, "He thought he could do." However, the next morning, the bill was slid under my door showing no adjustment.

There was never any apology or follow-up contact. Clearly, the hotel doesn't really care about it's guests, at least based on my experience.

The restaurant on-site was pretty good and I would eat their again. Their menu had a lot more variety then the typical hotel fare, and I enjoyed the options.

The neighborhood of the hotel wasn't good. To get to the hotel, you had to drive past bars/strip clubs, and this was not a place where you would feel comfortable walking around at night.

In sum, it is very well worth paying a bit more to be closer to downtown, are up-to-date, have clean/fresh bedding, and are in good working order. This hotel is not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We live in Erie and whenever I need a winter getaway with the kids without going to far we pick the Clarion. Wonderful pool.. cozy furniture surrounding. Nice filling $4 breakfast buffet. The staff always upgrades if they can to a poolside room for us, they always bring us what we need when we ask. I have no complaints and can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location near some good restaurants, and of course Presque Isle. The room was spotless, it overlooked the pool. The entire place was very clean and bright. The staff was friendly and will get coffee for you when the restaurant is closed. I hate paying for breakfast buffet when others offer it for free, but 4 bucks for all you can eat is worth it. The pool area is beautiful and quite warm and cozy in the dead of winter. My only complaint is that the pool is not supervised at all. There were TONS of kids there for the weekend and were all in the pool unsupervised on Friday nite. At one point, there were 8 kids in the hot tub with plates of food!!!!! Make sure there is not a kid's team or something of that sort scheduled for the time you want to be there if you care at all to use the pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice, but it gets warm on the balcony. Can be noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Victor’s Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Monday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie’s main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.