We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Mercer, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location near some good restaurants, and of course Presque Isle. The room was spotless, it overlooked the pool. The entire place was very clean and bright. The staff was friendly and will get coffee for you when the restaurant is closed. I hate paying for breakfast buffet when others offer it for free, but 4 bucks for all you can eat is worth it. The pool area is beautiful and quite warm and cozy in the dead of winter. My only complaint is that the pool is not supervised at all. There were TONS of kids there for the weekend and were all in the pool unsupervised on Friday nite. At one point, there were 8 kids in the hot tub with plates of food!!!!! Make sure there is not a kid's team or something of that sort scheduled for the time you want to be there if you care at all to use the pool or hot tub.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nice, but it gets warm on the balcony. Can be noisy too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    45
    20
    22
See reviews for
58
39
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Older Clarion, pretty well kept. Good location, lots of places to eat locally. The internet is a little slow. The breakfast is 4 bucks per person and it’s not bad but the eggs are not very good. Indoor pool, hot tub and the fitness area is better than the average motel.. Room service and housekeeping is very good, in fact all guest services are prompt and courteous. I would stay here again when I’m in Erie.

Room Tip: some of the rooms in the back are a pretty long walk to get to the front of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Check in went flawless, asked the girl about breakfast and was told it cost 4 bucks, but she also told me it was the "best". The room was pretty good, a tv smaller than the one in my kitchen. The other things I found wrong was a couple of hairs in the bath tub and the shower head was "broken", fixed it, showered, happy camper. There is a restaurant there, walked in, turned around, walked out, no explanation. Breakfast, a different story totally. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon and sausage .......... all cold, the eggs were runny, oh yeah, the milk was out of date ( by over a week ), so I decided to try a pastry, frozen together ( old and stale ), tried a bagel and realized why the ice hockey players love this place, you guessed it, hard as rocks. It'll be a long time before I spend my money there, could have went to a fast food joint. Oh well, there it is... thanks for looking

Room Tip: Get a room away from the parking lot !!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Arrival; We first arrived around 2:00 pm and were told we couldn't check-in until after 4:00 pm, no problem. We came back around 7:00 pm and there was no line, that was a plus. We attempted to get a king room and were told by an arrogant, gum chewing "desk manager" that there were no king rooms available.

The Room; We were given room 205...almost the longest walk from the front desk to the room if you stay inside. We did pull our car to a closer entrance that during our entire stay was unlocked all of the time, security not a type priority for the Clarion. On our third night our room key wouldn't work so again a long walk back to the desk..."oh that happens sometimes"...is what the desk clerk said. The room itself was ok, small "double" sized beds, a small flat screen tv and windows that seemed to be open when they were not. The heating unit did regulate the room temp and we had to turn it off and on numerous times to keep it from getting too warm or too cold.
Did I mention the buses? Oh the buses, every night between 8:00 pm and 10:00 pm the tour buses would arrive and drop off there tour groups. The buses would park right outside the window to our room and leave their engines running while unloading...about 20 to 30 minutes per bus. Now the noise and the smell coming through the great heating system made for an experience about what I would expect from a Motel 6 or worse.
To say the least we will not, ever, ever, stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a goodnight's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I have to say that before my wife and I left we were a little concerned about the hotel but our fears were soon put to rest. Our check in was very smooth and the woman who checked us in was very helpful with directions. Our room was very nice with the 2 double beds and fridge and microwave. The air conditioner worked very well and was quiet as well. Although we didnt get to try out all the hotels amenities as we were shopping most of the time we will definitely return and maybe enjoy ourselves a little this time. My wife was disappointed to miss out on the $3 martini's at Victor's on Wednesday nights as we got back too late lol. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

About ten years ago, this used to be our favorite weekend get-away that was less than 2 1/2 hours from Pittsburgh and close to Lake Erie. We went back for the first time in ten years, and were a little surprised by the condition of the premium pool-side rooms. Unfortunately, the rooms looked EXACTLY the same as they did ten years ago and the king-size beds desperately need replaced with pillow-top mattresses. We were informed by the front desk that they are starting to remodel the rooms, but you would think they would have started with the premium rooms first!

Don't get me wrong...we still love the hotel. The staff are very friendly and accomodating and the pool and hot-tub are fantastic, especially during the winter months. The added plus is the restaurant in the hotel....downside is that they now charge for their breakfast bar ($4).

We will definitely go back....but NOT until the pool-side rooms are remodeled!
Oh yes....be careful which week-ends you pick, since this hotel is very popular with the youth hockey clubs for out-of-town tournaments. The pool can get VERY noisey and crowded.

Room Tip: ALWAYS request pool-side rooms. Little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were traveling around the country, chose this one because of reviews here on TA, and arrived late evening. It is not close to the interstate but only a few minutes away. Definitely worth it. Close to the lake (where we took a drive in the AM before we left the area.)

We were greeted and directed to our room. The pool had just closed which was unfortunate as it looked very inviting.This hotel is older, but updated. The bed was comfortable, though soft and the pillows were good, too. We slept well, after getting used to the refrigerator turning on and off. We couldn't turn it off as we needed it to keep some things cold. The bathroom was nice and clean. Beds, pillows and bathrooms are the most important things to us!

Breakfast was great; nice buffet of scrambled eggs, home-fries, casserole, bacon/sausage and other items. Nice staff and a fast check out. We'll be putting this place on our list of favorites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
3.6 mi away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#17 of 35 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#9 of 35 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Victor’s Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Monday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie’s main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.