We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting an "OLD" friend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like visiting an "OLD" friend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

About ten years ago, this used to be our favorite weekend get-away that was less than 2 1/2 hours from Pittsburgh and close to Lake Erie. We went back for the first time in ten years, and were a little surprised by the condition of the premium pool-side rooms. Unfortunately, the rooms looked EXACTLY the same as they did ten years ago and the king-size beds desperately need replaced with pillow-top mattresses. We were informed by the front desk that they are starting to remodel the rooms, but you would think they would have started with the premium rooms first!

Don't get me wrong...we still love the hotel. The staff are very friendly and accomodating and the pool and hot-tub are fantastic, especially during the winter months. The added plus is the restaurant in the hotel....downside is that they now charge for their breakfast bar ($4).

We will definitely go back....but NOT until the pool-side rooms are remodeled!
Oh yes....be careful which week-ends you pick, since this hotel is very popular with the youth hockey clubs for out-of-town tournaments. The pool can get VERY noisey and crowded.

Room Tip: ALWAYS request pool-side rooms. Little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    44
    19
    21
See reviews for
50
33
7
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were traveling around the country, chose this one because of reviews here on TA, and arrived late evening. It is not close to the interstate but only a few minutes away. Definitely worth it. Close to the lake (where we took a drive in the AM before we left the area.)

We were greeted and directed to our room. The pool had just closed which was unfortunate as it looked very inviting.This hotel is older, but updated. The bed was comfortable, though soft and the pillows were good, too. We slept well, after getting used to the refrigerator turning on and off. We couldn't turn it off as we needed it to keep some things cold. The bathroom was nice and clean. Beds, pillows and bathrooms are the most important things to us!

Breakfast was great; nice buffet of scrambled eggs, home-fries, casserole, bacon/sausage and other items. Nice staff and a fast check out. We'll be putting this place on our list of favorites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have always found it to be excellent. It is conveniently near the entrance to the beautiful Presque Isle Park, and close to highways, shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are large and clean, with comfortable beds. The pool is well used since it is large and a comfortable temperature. The restaurant offers an excellent buffet breakfast for a modest price, as well as tasty food for other meals. Always tea and coffee in the lobby.
There is lots of parking so cars can be near entrances.

Room Tip: There are many sections to this hotel. The best choice is the main building, poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We used this hotel for a quick overnight stop. We got in too late for the pool and left too early for it, which was unfortunate, as the pool and it's area looked well-kept and inviting. We were greeted promptly and courteously--if maybe a bit over-enthusiastically--by a young fellow who took care of us readily.
The room was older, smaller and about what you'd expect for a hotel of its vintage. It was kept in pretty good repair and was not fraught with some of the often seen maintenance issues such as peeling wallpaper and peeling and/or moldy caulking/grouting in the bathroom around the tub. As a matter of fact, I'd guess that the bathroom had been done over in the fairly recent past. The mattress was a bit soft on the side facing the center night stand, which is a common problem; the other side was fine.
I forgot to mention to the clerk that the heating A/C unit made some ugly noises when it started. Though problems like that are troubling--it took a few extra minutes to go to sleep--unless guests make it known, the management won't know about it.
We were pleasantly surprised that the clerk who checked us in gave us complementary breakfasts, which is normally a small charge. He gave the couple checking in behind us the same thing, so I don't know weather that's just a gimmick to get more favorable feedback or what (He didn't see the Trip Adviser bag, honest!) The breakfast was one of the better ones we've had. Everything was nicely prepared and displayed. They had an interesting potato casserole that was quite tasty--never found that at any of the others in the Quality group before.
The place is someone maze-like, as another reviewer mentioned. Pay attention when the clerk gives you the map or you'll be wondering for a couple minutes.
Overall, it was well worth the couple minutes drive off the highway as the rates were better than those closer to I-90. It was also a fine place for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Mn
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a huge older hotel. I felt like we were walking though a fall corn maze to get from our room to the front desk!! The room was fine and bed comfortable. We were glad for the microwave and frig. The toilet was loose from the floor so had to be careful. One of the lamps had a light bulb hanging from it. The carpets are very worn throughout the hotel. The breakfast was delicious with lots of variety of items. The staff was very helpful checking in and with any questions. We loved being so close to the Presque Isle Park - which we enjoyed both days we were here. There were plenty of restaurants close by. The Environmental Center is nearby and we spent an afternoon looking at all the info and watching the omnitheatre film.

Room Tip: Most hotels we stay at have a free breakfast so we were surprised that they charge for theirs. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at Clarion for one night. I can't speak for the amenities (pool, restaurant, etc.) but I can at least mention the room itself and the service. Check in was simple and both people that assisted us were very nice and helpful. We requested a room with a king size bed but they didn't have one available. We had to settle for the two full beds. They were definitely full, and not queens, which makes quarters pretty tight and if you're used to being able to move your legs around or sleep diagonal at night, it will be a tough sleep for you. The pillows were sooooooo small. There were 4 pillows on each bed but I would say that they weren't much larger then a throw pillow. They were supposed to be 2 different types but we really couldn't tell the difference. The room / hotel was fairly outdated but that didn't make for a bad experience. We had a quiet night with no distractions from hotel noise. We really didn't have the best TV either. Most all of the channels were very snowy but again, we were there for a wedding and not to hang out in the room. I would say that if your stay will be a short one, you should be in good shape here. Anything longer than 2-3 days, I would probably find a few more dollars to spend at a different, more luxurious hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a king size bed. Otherwise, you're stuck with two full beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire as a result of a last minute hotel deal. I was there while working at an office in downtown Erie. The hotel is a bit on the old side, nothing seems to really be new. The room was clean, but worn. My room was located in the far left side of the hotel, and it seemed pretty quiet. Internet in the hotel room was pretty slow. I had to work for a bit in the room and what should have taken 15 minutes, took close to an hour.

The hotel is near Presque Isle, and I believe there is an amusement park nearby. The hotel was packed with families, and the indoor pool was a zoo. I don't use pools when on business, so this wasn't an issue.

The hotel bar was nice, with a selection of local and standard beers. Prices were about average, and the staff was nice. There was a fun crowd there in the evening, the result of a conference at the hotel.

Breakfast was decent for $4. Standard buffet, with Belgian waffles, eggs, meats, fruits, and Danishes. There was plenty of seating for people.

Parking is free and plentiful, and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.

Address: 2800 W 8th Street, Erie, PA 16505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bel-Aire Clarion is a full-service, locally owned hotel that offers conference rooms and banquet space to accommodate up to 360 people. We have 131 guest rooms, which includes four suites and a parlor. Our hotel facilities comprise an exercise room, a sauna, an indoor atrium pool, and Jacuzzi. We offer off property catering and in-house dining. Victor’s Restaurant offers a daily full hot breakfast buffet day and is open for dinner Monday-Saturday. There are nightly drink specials and an increasing number of celebrity bartending events. We also own another Choice Hotels property, Comfort Inn Presque Isle, less than a mile from the Clarion. Our Comfort Inn has 100 guest rooms, especially to assist with large overnight groups.We are half a mile from Waldameer Amusement Park and Waterworld and a mile from the beaches of Presque Isle. Presque Isle boasts seventeen miles of beaches and biking and walking trails. The Millcreek Mall, fourth largest mall in America, is a quick shuttle or car ride from our hotel.Our location provides us with being the gateway to Erie’s main attractions: Presque isle, downtown, and the Millcreek Mall.Bel-Aire Clarion opened in 1961, giving us over 50 years in business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Erie
Clarion Erie
Erie Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.