We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picky People Love This Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Spencer House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
519 West 6th Street, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Picky People Love This Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We are seasoned bed and breakfast "stayers", and we loved this inn. The home itself is absolutely lovely, bedecked with lots of beautiful wood, architectural features, and plush bedrooms. The common areas are punctuated with Joy's absolutely stunning needlework, which is a delight. We stayed in the Spencer Suite, located on the third floor. It's a good hike up the steps, but it was good exercise, and well worth it! The breakfasts were delicious. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
We're so happy that you stayed with us and can't wait for your next visit here. Hopefully you'll make it back sooner than the next conference <G>

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
46
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Spencer House Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the city's historic “Millionaires Row.” We are from New York, it was our pleasure to stay one night at Spencer House, since we have been a big Bed & Breakfast fans. I couldn’t wait to tell everyone. Mr. and Mrs. Coleman provide excellent homemade breakfast and very comfortable room. The decoration of the house is increditable; I could not put my camera down....

Room Tip: Great value, excellent breakfast, quality room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Jada and Bertram,

We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for sending the pictures. Hopefully you'll visit Erie again and take in a little more of our city.

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Coming from Los Angeles, what a great way to see Erie , by staying in a B &B in the historic downtown area. Colemans provide a great hospitaity place and very comfortable. I am not used to how the peacefulness, as in L.A. it is usually helicopters and sirens, The smell of a homemade breakfast waiting downstairs was equally incredible, and delicious! The Coleman's are great hosts, and made me feel welcomed. and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in "Mary's Room" which for me being a big guy was perfect, however there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
We were so happy you stayed with us, and you made the extended weekend so much fun! Hopefully now that you've discovered Erie, you'll be back soon!

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our room in this beautiful house was amazing. It was very large with lovely furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts provided by Joy and Fletcher were superb and very filling. The position in Erie was very close to restaurants, shops and Lake Erie and Fletcher recommended a restaurant for dinner that was good. We were very pleased we had chosen to stay here and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The Presidents Suite is beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We're so glad you stayed with us. Hope the trip home was enjoyable and you visit again!

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spencer House Bed and Breakfast offered a wonderful overnight experience from the moment my husband and I stepped over the threshold. The historic home is decorated down to the smallest detail, charming and immaculate. It set the stage for the nearby tourist sites with its attention to the area's rich maritime history. Our "room" was more like a spacious suite, quiet and lovely. Breakfast, made by Fletcher, who is the innkeeper along with his, wife, Joy, was sumptuous and a meal you could see he took pride in preparing. When we called Joy from the harbor for a suggestion on where to eat dinner, she cheerfully assisted. An Erie tourist can't go wrong in staying with them; not only is their house a mansion, the entire street is attractive. Jon and Linda

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Jon and Linda,

We're so glad you enjoyed Erie and that you stayed with us! Can't wait to see you both again,

Fletcher and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Spencer House Sept 12-13, 2013 , this was our first B&B experience and what a amazing one it was, Joy and Fletcher made us feel so at home , Fletchers breakfasts where awesome, the B&B is located close to everything we walked to some sites, we stayed in the Nanny's Room nice and private the whole house was amazing and so nice and clean, check out the Tap House awesome pizza, and for some great crab cake sandwiches and clam chowder check out the Smugglers Wharf, and once again thanks Joy & Fletcher for making our first time stay and not our last so relaxing and enjoyable, Bill& Steve

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nanny's room nice an private but all rooms looked welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Bill and Steve,

It was great having you here this past weekend, and we're so glad you had a good time and great food. Can't wait to see you both again soon.

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed for one night at the Spencer House on August 19th. The hosts/owners (Fletcher and Joy) were friendly and knowledgeable. The house is a beautiful late 19th Century mansion that will just amaze you. You're located within walking distance to downtown Erie (restaurants, museums, attractions). My room was comfortable and spacious. If I'm traveling through Erie again, I would definitely stay here again. Oh yes, the breakfast is delicious and filling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joy c, Owner at Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Howie, it was so much fun having you stay with us on your way back home. If you ever decide to cross the country again, we hope to be your first stop!

Joy and Fletcher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spencer House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 519 West 6th Street, Erie, PA 16507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only full service Bed and Breakfast in Erie, we're a beautifully restored Victorian mansion on Historic Millionaire's Row. Close to Gannon University and within walking distance of wonderful restaurants. Built in 1876 as a wedding gift, you'll feel welcome as soon as you enter the front door. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and individual controls for heat and air conditioning. Walk to many local restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spencer House b&b
Spencer House Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.