We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Roots Grill

Joe Roots Grill
2826 West 8th Street, Erie, PA 15606
814-836-7668
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 345 Restaurants in Erie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Independence, Missouri
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had their signiture Lake erie perch, it was great. There are many other menu choices. Great place to eat just a few blocks from the lake.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    38
    31
    14
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Looked really nice from the outside and was crowded so we thought we'd take a chance. Food was pretty good, especially the bread, but thought it was way overpriced for the portion you get. Our waitress (Brittany) was awesome but doubt we would return due to the prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“blah”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This place survives despite its mediocrity. I cant beleive how often I get asked to go here and despise the idea of it. Had a business lunch here the other day it was disappointing as usual. Average service, tasteless food. If you are looking for a lunch in the area, try Gerry's Deli a few blocks down 8th in the Colony Plaza. If you are looking for a sit down diner, head west to Petra or Alto Cucina.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We come back home to the Lake Erie area for perch and walleye so we went to Joe Roots. My meal was good. The atmosphere was poor. We were so warm we could not wait to leave. We asked our server about it and he said they have tried to fix it but could not. Granted it was a 90 degree day. I think they are trying to make it look rustic but it gives you the feeling it is dirty. We will try again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALLIANCE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went here for lunch. We remember when this used to be the Elephant Bar or something like that. Back then it was a very nice place with a lot of safari animals and decor. Now it looks like an old worn out restaurant in need of some updates. It's dark and not very inviting. I ordered the lagistino mac & cheese and it was very salty - and very heavy. I like salt a lot, but after eating about 1/3 of it, I couldn't eat the rest because it was so salty. My husband got a steak salad and the meat was good and cook the way that he requested. The salad was fresh. The fries that it came with were okay - looked to be fried from frozen. This place is just okay - I wouldn't bother returning because there are too many other places to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Roots Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joe Roots Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Roots Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.