We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More But Got Less” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Erie to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8060 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Erie
La Plata, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Expected More But Got Less”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have traveled to Erie on several occasions this year due to my child attending Penn State and have tried several different hotels in the area and by far this was the biggest disappointment. When we arrived there was no welcome from either front desk clerks and I had to tell the clerk we were checking in! We always check our room before we lug all our baggage in and we proceeded to do so this time. We walked in and looked around and observed a clearly stained chair that had no spot that was not stained so we took a picture and went to the front desk where we were told "Sorry, we will switch it out with another chair" we were fine with that and went on to visit Krispy Kreme(hot light was on!) and shopping. We returned later that night and the chair had been switched out...with another stained chair! Really! Come on, is it that hard to find a chair that has no stains? We did not complain again as the stains were not as bad and it was clear to us the standards are met at sub-par level and management is okay with that. This became more clear when we used the restroom and there was no fan to circulate the air while you take a shower, clumps of dust on the ac vent and dirty bathroom floor. The room is too small for the amount of furniture they put in the room. Be aware this hotel allows pets and clearly size does not matter as most places have a weight limit, the room beside us had dog that was at least 100 pounds and barked the whole time the owners were gone(at least 45 minutes). When we complained to the front desk we were told the owners stepped out to get dinner and will be right back, why does that matter. I have a dog and love him to pieces but because we travel 7 hours to get here I leave him in a kennel for his safety and my piece of mind. I was aware this hotel took pets but not everyone wants to hear dogs/cats during the stay. Offer to have certain floors where there are no pets. The walls are very thin so you hear everything including kids running the halls at 7 am and TV's. We entered and exited the hotel several times and were never greeted by the staff. Also, we didn't even eat the breakfast. It was nasty! The sausage was burnt and the eggs were clearly overcooked and dry looking, we didn't even attemp to eat it, looks speak volumes when it comes to food. Coffee was awful in the room! Having a free breakfast is one of the reasons we stay at a hotel and this trip we had to spend extra money to have breakfast out that we did not expect to do. This was our first experience with a Wingate and will be our last.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I am so sorry your stay wasn't the stellar experience that over 90% of our guests experience! I have noted each and every point in your statement for our next staff meeting! I am thrilled that the rest of your reviews of my hometown were great - Erie truly is a fabulous place!

FYI - new chairs will be ordered soon - and while we do not have a weight limit for dogs - we really do get very few pets here - but thanks for the idea! We do get great reviews on our breakfast, I am sorry it wasn't looking up to par, wherever you did have your breakfast, I hope it was delicious! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    299
    100
    32
    15
See reviews for
391
207
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erie
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The room was big clean had everything you would need. We had a great time. The pool hot tub and weight room were very nice. The staff was very helpful. The bathroom looked a bit older but was clean. Because there was four of us you should have given us four sets of towels and more shampoo. but the maids took care of us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thanks for the great review - we LOVED having you for a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

wanted a hotel room close to restaurant and shopping but most were 140 to 199 us, unless you went east to the other exit close to the casino, than they were cheaper but the reviews were not that great..check the Wingate by Wyndham and was able to get the room for just under $100.
Crossed my fingers and hope for the best. When we got at the hotel we were pleasantly surprise to see fairly new hotel, nice clean rooms and a good spread for breakfast., room had fridge and microvage. We booked Monday to Friday. The only negative was Thursday must had been day off for the regular crew because the room cleaning wasn't the greatest, The girls came back from shopping and said most of the staff were too busy texting or talking to each other and things you seen every day wasn't happening. When my wife asked if they were going to make popcorn as they do every day in the lobby she was told "does it look like we made popcorn". Bit rude if you ask me. but the rest of the stay was great and the price was right.

Room Tip: only stayed once couldn't tell you what room is better, but we were on second floor close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8060 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#3 Family Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham offers world class accommodations as well as first class customer service. We provide you with a deluxe hot breakfast from 6am until 10am, indoor heated pool with whirlpool, 24 hour fitness center, business center, and sundries shop. Our room offer you wired and wireless high speed internet service, pay-per-view movies, flat screen TVs, in room safes, mp3 player adaptable alarm clocks, as well as mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the local airport, casino, mall, and a limited service area. Shuttle hours vary. We have great rates, packages, and specials that we offer. Book direct to receive the best available rate. We do offer price matching as long as we can validate the rate. One all inclusive rate at one great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Erie Hotel Erie
Wyndham Erie
Erie Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.