We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8060 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Midwest
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and picked it again - while our visit was to Presque Isle and friends in downtown Erie, the nicest downtown hotel was sold out, and for some crazy reason, no one has built any new hotels in downtown Erie. So schlepping up to Upper Peach -- a long stretch of suburbanesque development hell -- is a must.

This visit was awful - the beds were uncomfortable as any bed I've ever been in. The room was near the highway and had constant noise, and perhaps most odd -- the darkening curtains in the room did not close, so as soon as daylight came, we were awake.

The bathroom looked like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s (though I don't even think this hotel is that old) and the hallway looks like grandma's basement.

Had OK experiences at other Wingates, but this one? Never again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy S, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham Erie, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Oh my goodness! I am sorry about your visit! We get soooooooooooo many reviews about how great the beds and pillows are! I sincerely wish yours was as good!!! I also wish I would have known about your curtain issue - had you told us when you were here, we would have remedied that immediately. The bathroom issue also perplexed me - we do get fabulous comments about them, albeit, mostly from women.

We will take your comments to heart - thanks so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    285
    93
    32
    13
See reviews for
374
199
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8060 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#4 Family Hotel in Erie
#5 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Erie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham offers world class accommodations as well as first class customer service. We provide you with a deluxe hot breakfast from 6am until 10am, indoor heated pool with whirlpool, 24 hour fitness center, business center, and sundries shop. Our room offer you wired and wireless high speed internet service, pay-per-view movies, flat screen TVs, in room safes, mp3 player adaptable alarm clocks, as well as mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the local airport, casino, mall, and a limited service area. Shuttle hours vary. We have great rates, packages, and specials that we offer. Book direct to receive the best available rate. We do offer price matching as long as we can validate the rate. One all inclusive rate at one great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Erie Hotel Erie
Wyndham Erie
Erie Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;