We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham Erie to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8060 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Carmichaels
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I would rather stay at Econolodge than stay at this place again. For the price we paid for a jacuzzi room, we had to call and have it fixed twice. We wanted some information about local restaurants in the area and the girl at the front desk acted as if we were a bother to her. The breakfast was horrible. I know personally I don't want eggs that looks like they belong on an egg McMuffin. They definately need a friendlier atmosphere. I also figured for the price I would get more than 10 TV stations to watch. Anything else had to be paid for. The least they could do for the money being paid to them is offer ESPN.

Shannon
Carmichaels, Pa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    303
    101
    32
    15
See reviews for
391
210
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Nice size rooms with refrigerator, flat screen tvs, and very clean. The breakfast was great with eggs, sausage and waffles. Free in room internet is a huge bonus. Next time in erie we will be back at the wyndam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

I was not impressed with my recent stay at the Wingate and am not sure why it is rated number one on here... My complaints mostly have to do with the amenities and services that supposedly set this hotel apart and make it worth the price. The room itself was clean and offered a decent amount of space however I did not like the fact that my king-sized bed had midget-sized pillows. If you are looking for a good wireless connection then look elsewhere. The internet would randomly disconnect several times while on the web for no apparent reason (it actually disconnected while I was writing this review so I had to re-do it). This was extremely frustrating because I was trying to get work done for my business trip. The TV only had 27 channels and I had to get a new remote from the desk each night because it would magically stop working. The walls are paper thin so good luck trying to get a decent night’s sleep when the place is full, especially if you are like me and have a room full of cackling women next to you. Breakfast was mediocre at best and not worth the added amount to the nightly fee. So if you are looking for anything other than a clean room I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The staff was all very helpful and professional. We thought the breakfast was very nice. The improvement I would recommend would be to add a second toaster. Their offering of waffles, assorted danish, coffee, juice, toast, eggs, and sausage was very tasty. The room was very clean, offered free internet, and had a microwave and mini-fridge. The beds were comfortable and the upscale furnishings were very nice. Although we didn't use it they do have a fitness center, business center, and indoor pool. I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

We booked this hotel for 2 nights during our March break for a shopping trip. It was our first trip to Erie, so we booked based on TripAdvisor recommendation. Clean room, adequate breakfast, and close to the main shopping outlets of Erie. If you have children, this hotel is (almost) across the street from the Splash Lagoon indoor water park, which our young teens enjoyed. Only one small complaint, when we asked at the front desk about other area shopping centers and outlet malls, we were told that they didn't have the information. ?? Other than that, we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

The staff at this hotel were great, they all talked to you and were very friendly, and they acknowledged you when you walked past the front desk, ready to answer questions if you had any.
The beds were very comfortable, good night sleep, and not noisy at all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Great hotel! I usually come to Erie about once a year for an annual shopping trip and have stayed at other hotel in the area but this is by far the best. When we arrived we decided to try to check in earlier and we had no problem. ( we checked in at 1:00 ) their check in is 3:00. The size of the room was great being with 3 other girls. The first night we wanted to go for a swim but the pool closed at 10:00pm but the staff was cleaning there and allowed us to use the whirlpool at 11:00pm. Great customer service! The bed were extremely comfy and the breakfast was pretty much the same as any other hotel in the area. The only thing that thet forgot was toilet paper on day 2, so we had to call down to reception and they promptly brought some up. overall a great place to stay! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Erie

Address: 8060 Old Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#3 Family Hotel in Erie
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham offers world class accommodations as well as first class customer service. We provide you with a deluxe hot breakfast from 6am until 10am, indoor heated pool with whirlpool, 24 hour fitness center, business center, and sundries shop. Our room offer you wired and wireless high speed internet service, pay-per-view movies, flat screen TVs, in room safes, mp3 player adaptable alarm clocks, as well as mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the local airport, casino, mall, and a limited service area. Shuttle hours vary. We have great rates, packages, and specials that we offer. Book direct to receive the best available rate. We do offer price matching as long as we can validate the rate. One all inclusive rate at one great price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Erie Hotel Erie
Wyndham Erie
Erie Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.