We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lights Out?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Erie to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2087 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Gas and Go Package!
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lights Out?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Loved this hotel; have stayed here before. The staff is friendly and the room was clean! The two requiements at the top of my list. It is located at the top of a shopping center. Far enough away that you don't hear traffic, but close enough if you wanted to walk to an eatery. The first time we stayed here (about 2 years ago) it was tough trying to figure out how to actually get to the hotel. If you're not familiar with the divided highway, it might be confusing.

On our initial visit, we stayed o the first floor. This year, we were on the 2nd floor and, unfortunately, adjacent to the side parking lot. The room did not have drapes to draw and the lights from the parking lot shone directly into the room. The hotel should consider blackout curtains, or drapes, for the rooms on that side of the hotel.

Other than an unrestful night's sleep, because of the light, it was an enjoyable stay. One other comment: since the reservation was prepaid, a receipt should have been issued upon arrival. I had to request a receipt at checkout.

Overall, a nice visit.

Room Tip: Request a room on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Valuehunter_13
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our convenient location for shopping. We are glad to hear you had a nice visit and we’ll see you next time!!

Thank You

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    78
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
109
65
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We just returned from a weekend break in Erie and stayed at the Springhill Suites.

The hotel is well located, very close to the Millcreek Mall and set back from the busy main road.

This was our fiurs time at a Springhill Suites, so we did not know what to fully expect. The hotel grounds were clean and there was plenty of parking. The lobby area was pleasant and they had coffee/tea in the lobby all the time, which is always good!

The room we booked was not quite what we had expected, as we booked a one bedroom suite, but it was all one big room, with only a half wall separating the lounge area and the bed. Our kids shared the sofabed, which was fairly small and was not ready for our arrival. I had to ask the reception for a new blanket, pillows and sheets, which were duly brought up to the room.

The room overall was OK, if a bit small (think normal hotel room size). It had 2 TV's, but as the room was shared, it was awkward to have both on at the same time. The A/C although efficient, was quite noisy. BTW, the king bed was large, but VERY soft.

The toiletries were just about adequate and the towels were small and not so great. The bath fixtures were looking old, but the water pressure was good.

One bug-bear I had was breakfast. Although my family enjoyed it, as someone who does not eat eggs, why on earth were both hot items eggs? I underatnd that one should be, buy why both?? My wife and kids enjoyed breakfast, so that was OK.

The pool was nice and not too cold and htere was a small but sunny outside patio area. Our kids really enjoyed the pool.

There are three restaurants within two minutes' walking distance of the hotel, so no need to drive. Another twenty or so within 5 minutes drive. We ate at Cheddars, which was good and well priced.

Overall a good hotel, we will stay here again, but in a room with two queen beds. Not bad for a first stay, given the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
GarethParry
T
hank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to provide feedback. Our convenient location to the Millcreek Mall is one of biggest draws to the area. The three restaurants close to the hotel give our guests a variety of dining options I am glad to hear you will stay with us again.

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wedding anniversary this weekend stayed Saturday night. Whirlpool suite was awsome! Clean spottless room .Breakfast and hotel staff were Fantastic! Nice safe area, would not hesitate at all to walk to local restaurants at night. Well lit parking lot..Will definetly stay again.!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
kent n

I appreciate you taking the time to comment on the cleanliness of our guest rooms. Our staff strives to exceed expectations in customer service. We our glad to here you be back to the SpringHill Suites Marriott in Erie and you noticed our “nice safe area.” Out staff takes great pride in maintaining it!!

Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has everything and it may not be the biggest or grandest but it has it. Free wife, indoor pool, fitness room, free continental breakfast, apples and coffee/tea free all the time. Walking distance of Buffalo Wild Wings, Outback, Tax and Ermas and more. Short drive to downtown bar seen or a 16 dollar cab ride. Fridge and microwave in room with nice seating area. Beds are nice and rooms are cleaned well. Never had any issues in all my stays. This isn't 5 star but a sold 4. Staff is pleasant and helpful. Price for area is reasonable. Have had no reason to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
clpjr2000,

We appreciate your loyalty to our team at the Springhill Suites Marriott in Erie, PA. Thank you for complimenting us on our pleasant and helpful staff. Our team members love the positive feedback online from our guests. They love hearing the positive reviews.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was the best hotel I've been at in a long time. It was clean, modern, quiet, and peaceful. The location is convenient, the price is reasonable, the staff were friendly, and the breakfast was good. I checked in at a time when the hotel was full, they had a lot of kids from Canada there for some type of tournament. The kids were well behaved and I didn't hear a lot of noise. In addition, I received an upgrade of my room which consisted of a whirlpool tub in the middle of the room. It was an amazing stay. I felt like I was in a peaceful resort. It was truly relaxing and I hope to get upgraded again, the next time I'm there.

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
madlynclay,

Thank you for your comments about our hotel cleanliness and friendly staff. These are two of the areas we take a lot of pride in exceeding guests expectations here at the SpringHill Suites Marriott Erie, PA. We hope to see you back again soon!!

Thank you
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I live outside of Cleveland and were looking for a romantic weekend away that wouldn't strain our wallet or car's mileage. Erie is a great choice for anyone in Northeast Ohio, Northwest PA, or Western NY as it centrally located with easy access of the highway and plenty of attractions to entertain for a day or two between shopping, the casino, and state park.

We chose SpringHill Suites as we'd stayed in them before and have always been pleased with the accommodations. This one did not disappoint. Access from the highway is super easy and check-in was a breeze.

We stayed in a King Suite with Jacuzzi Tub - and the whole room was much less than what you'd spend in other cities also within a 2-hour drive (Wheeling, Pittsburgh, Columbus). The room was immaculate, quiet and pretty romantic, actually! Great for a quick little get-away for a couple who isn't looking to break the bank!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Smealy,

I’m happy to hear your enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take advantage of our central location to shopping, dining and entertainment. Our staff loves the positive feedback about the Springhill Suites Erie’s cleanliness. I hope to have you back for another romantic getaway soon!!

Thank You
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Love the location and layout of the hotel. Overall I would think that this is a good choice in Erie compared to some others that are older.
Most of the employees seemed to understand customer service. Some of them though seemed a little too casual and need some customer service training.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil E, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Erie, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you taking your valuable time to review our property. Our convenient location is major determining factor for many of our guest. We continue to strive to be customer service focused. We thank you and for your compliments and will see you again on your next stay.

Thank You,

Phil E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Erie

Address: 2087 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Erie
#4 Business Hotel in Erie
#11 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Erie is located just 6 miles from the Erie International Airport. Our all suite hotel provides guests all the comforts of home with separate living, dining and sleeping areas. Start your day with complimentary hot breakfast buffet and shop nearby Millcreek Mall, Summit Towne Center Plaza and Erie Marketplace Plaza. Experience the city at Splash Lagoon, Erie Zoo, Tom Ridge Environmental Center, Presque Isle Downs & Casino and Erie Civic Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.