We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully finished.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Carroll House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Carroll House
Save
You added George Carroll House to your Saves list
401 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautifully finished.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I was taken aback by the beautifully restored house. My room (#2) was enormous and had gorgeous linens and furniture, and was pristinely clean. The house was quiet, and instead of a key, there are keypads on the doors that have a password specifically for you- great idea! I am a solo traveller and Chris made me feel so welcome. I could not recommend this bed and breakfast more highly!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
52
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

The pictures on the George Carroll House web site just don't do this place justice. Other than the flooring, almost everything in our room (#1) appeared to be recently updated. There were antiques, a faux fireplace, and framed pictures of Erie landmarks on the wall. As mentioned by previous reviewers, the place is very clean. There is off-street parking in the back and the location, next to Gannon University, was perfect for us.
This is the 6th review I've written on various Erie lodging in the past year and I believe $75 is very resonable for this level of accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

My husband and I just stayed last weekend from Friday to Sunday. We both loved this place! We loved the fact that you didn't have to wait in line to check in, when you arrive you can go straight to your room! The room made me feel like I was at home! It was so clean, fresh, and updated. I am very picky when it comes to hotels and my husband and I already plan to stay at the George Carroll House again! There are great places to eat within walking distance and you can also walk to the Bay. It was great!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Classy exterior , contemporary and comfortable interior.
Well located for walks to Erie Lakeside.
Chris was a great host, very helpful and accomodating.
If we are back in Erie then we will stay here.

  • Liked — Secure Number keypad entry so you can come and go as you please
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

I stayed here for a night with my girlfriends and 18 month old daughter. It was very nice for the cost. We paid $65 per room, but the price has just gone up to $75. It's still worth it though.

I should warn people that this is an urban setting and there are no other residences in the immediate area. This fact, and the variety of people walking around, scared my friends a bit. They were worried that our car would be broken into and that the place would be a flop house. Nothing bad happened and we all enjoyed our stay, but you may want to brace yourself if you don't spend much time in cities.

Also note that you do not get a full breakfast, but the pastries and beverages were very good.

Additionally, this is in the city of Erie and not very near the Peach St. attractions. However, the lake is fairly close.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — I liked everything.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Hills, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

A couple of years ago, I passed this unique place and told the lady I would be back. I felt so comfortable and relaxed, in fact, I thought I was the first person staying there, immaculately clean. I enjoyed reading the book they had about Erie and how life was back in the 1800's. The fire truck was so small the firemen had to use bycycles along the side. This is a place that will be a stickler, one that sticks in your mind. Great bus services and the trolley was free, back in the 1800's, it was 10 cents. Location was the seller to me! If you like catfish, just a block away called Hook's Catfish.

Ella Lipchik
Penn Hills, Pennsylvania

  • Liked — great fellings and comfort
  • Disliked — walk up the steps to the room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2008

My fiancee and I stayed here in November, 2007 ( just writting review now). We came to ERIE for the American Thanksgiving weekend. We are from Canada.

The place was awesome, clean, classy and the host Chris, is great. She was polite, kind and fun.

The room was clean, modern and had it all. Even a umbrella, extra blankets, flat screen tv, phone, little nick nacks etc.

She was even kind enough to leave all the local flyers for me, about what deals are on etc.

We are coming back this November.

AWESOME JOB

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, host
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Carroll House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Carroll House

Address: 401 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Carroll House offers historic lodging accommodations in downtown Erie, Pennsylvania. The Queen Anne style house was built in 1872 for George Carroll, an early settler and lumber dealer. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and air-conditioning. Off-street parking is available and a continental breakfast is served. Stay with us for your next visit to Erie and enjoy a unique alternative to the standard motel or hotel room. Keyless entry to the Inn and all guest rooms. No children under 12 * no pets * no smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Carroll House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.