We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B close to everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Carroll House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Carroll House
Save
You added George Carroll House to your Saves list
401 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Erie B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great B&B close to everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We rented three rooms for a graduation downtown, and couldn't be happier. Clean rooms, walking distance to the square, museums, lakefront, charters, and restaurants. Both sets of parents commented how much they enjoyed walking around and conversing in the common areas and sitting on the porch and relaxing, and about how they served the best banana bread of anywhere :) Kelly was always available and eager to help with any request. For any future trips to Erie my wife and I plan to stay here.

Room Tip: They have a large double room for families, and single rooms with queen beds that are different size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you found the location convenient and that you enjoyed our many common areas, indoors and out. Again, congratulations to your wife on her graduation. We do hope that you stay with us on any future trips to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
48
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed for a weekend and couldn't have asked for a better place! It was our first bnb and it def set the bar high! The owners on site and everyone is very friendly. Everything is newly remodeled and updated rooms. The location itself is perfect and within walking distance to most attractions, bars, and restaurants. I would recommend this place to everyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris K, Owner at George Carroll House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are happy that your first stay at a bed and breakfast was a positive experience and that your room was to your liking. The location of our inn does makes it easy to enjoy the many benefits of the downtown attractions, bars, and restaurants. We are glad you took advantage of that and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I were in town for date night, and ended up having a few drinks thus deciding to stay in the city. When the rest of the hotels were unaccommodating, the George Carroll House had their "emergency" room available to us! I called at around 11PM looking for a room, not knowing that this was an inn, trying my luck and to my surprise the owner was so gracious and accepting of our late night circumstances, she gave us the room she always keep open for emergency patient families in the event they need last minute accommodations. Upon our arrival, we rang the bell to be allowed in (the poor lady was trying to get some rest when we called), yet she arrived at the door to let us in and get us set up. We stayed in room 6, and although a Victorian home, the room was adequately and nicely updated in a modern, but not overly, fashion. For our brief stay, the place was a perfect fit. If I am ever in the area again, I will not hesitate to try to make reservations for this quaint little, inner city, inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The owner lives in half of the house, guests have access to two rooms downstairs and their bedroom upstairs. Rooms are spare, but adequate. You make your own bed. It is a nice contrast to the fussiness of Victorian decor. Breakfast is serve yourself, but is enough, and there are several places close by.

The location was convenient for going to Lake Erie, eateries, and wineries. It is not in a residential area, but still quite pleasant with good parking. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All are fine. Contact Kris for more detailed help. She helped me choose one for my friend who was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent in all respects. - A+ experience. - Highly recommended.
A downtown setting, but off the main street, State Street, by a block.
Very convenient. Walkable to the bayfront and local restaurants and art museum.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the second floor. In my opinion, there is not much difference except in room capaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here at the end of June, 2012 because a family member was having surgery at UPMC. This is such a nice place to stay within walking distance of UPMC, a short block away. I love all the architectural details on the house and spent a lot of time just looking at it from the outside. The inside was left as original as possible - hardwood floors, beautiful staircase, even down to the carved door hinges - but was modernized to accomodate modern guests. Our room had to fit a family of four so we got the double queen room in the front (north) corner of the house. Huge room! We were there for 6 days so it was nice to be able to spread out and get comfortable. The shower had perfect water pressure and there was a nice vanity/storage area next to the bathroom where we could lay out our toiletries and hang our towels up on hooks along the wall, such a convenience to be able to get ready in the morning without needing to crowd the bathroom. Chris, the owner of the house, puts out a nice little tray of morning goodies and each day is different - coffee cake, bundt cake, pastries, etc. There is also cereal, oatmeal and hot and cold beverages. We are very late sleepers and she was very accomodating to leave everything out until we finally made our appearance. Chris is such a nice lady - so very kind and caring. For other meals we went elsewhere. The best deal is right next door at Tickle's Deli. We loved the sandwiches piled high with pastrami or corned beef for only $4! We also ate at the Pufferbelly, which is an old fire station converted into a restaurant, a short walk away. Go east on 4th for two blocks, then turn right (south) on French Street. The Pufferbelly is a few doors down the block. Of course there's a McDonalds right down the street, but use the drive-thru for safety. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely come here again if we ever get back to Erie.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

George Carroll House was built in 1872. It looks a little run down on the outside but the facilities are modern but in keeping with the style of the house. Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. Hair dryer in room and iron if you want to borrow it in the hall. Breakfast is self serve continental. The area is none too attractive but it is within easy reach of Presque Isle State Park which is lovely. (Free to enter and park) Plenty of good places nearby to eat. Exceptionally good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Carroll House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Carroll House

Address: 401 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16507
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
George Carroll House offers historic lodging accommodations in downtown Erie, Pennsylvania. The Queen Anne style house was built in 1872 for George Carroll, an early settler and lumber dealer. All rooms have a private bath, cable television, free wireless internet and air-conditioning. Off-street parking is available and a continental breakfast is served. Stay with us for your next visit to Erie and enjoy a unique alternative to the standard motel or hotel room. Keyless entry to the Inn and all guest rooms. No children under 12 * no pets * no smoking. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Carroll House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.