We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviera Motel
Save Saved
You added Riviera Motel to your Saves list
3107 West Lake Road, Alternate Route 5, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Canada
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good price, good sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here during a wild snowstorm. The room was big and comfy and the deck clerk was very friendly. The price was excellent and they had plowed the driveway before we woke up. The Oasis Pub was nearby for a bite to eat and some drinks. Not the best pub but any port in a storm! This is a budget motel that I would recommend on your way down to Grove City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Riviera for the first time and it was absolutely enjoyable. Clean room, pool and polite staff!!!!! Ended up being able to stay two extra nights which the staff made very nice for us. Were able to stay in same room and everything...am planning on going back up there this summer too....great experience and would highly recommend the Erie Riviera Motel....thanks for a great time !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle of the cornfields, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went to this motel on our trip to Erie to install my daughter in college at Mercyhurst. Desk clerk would not let me adjust our stay after seeing the room, made me pay first. Beds like concrete, motel over flight path from Erie airport so loud even at night. No one ever in office for problems or towel-none in room, had to ask several times. Didn't live up to its webpage. Spiders, big ones, in soda machine, came out with the soda. Only redeeeming factor, deli across the street has a large selection of legal fireworks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms are small but adequate. Shower in our room appeared to be new. Turned on a/c when we arrived to get rid of mild musty smell - smell was gone within 30 minutes. Small fridge, comfortable beds. If you want good location (around a few corners from Presque Isle State Park) and a good price, and you don't mind the 70's feel, this place is fine. Check-in and check-out staff were very friendly and accommodating. By the way, plenty of large parking spaces around the back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

One of the most filthy Motels we have ever stayed at. No pride of ownership. Garbage around the front door, trash next to the vanity, peeling paint, dirty floors and much more. Avoid this place at all costs

Room Tip: Pick another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I wanted a room that was cheap & clean. I got that. Only about a mile to Presque Isle, which is HUGE in my book. I just needed a bed, shower, AC and a TV, I got that. The AC unit was in the window which had drapes on it, so getting cold air into the room was tough at night, once I pulled the drapes, as it's all on ground level. Seems like a lot of fishermen stay there. As long as you don't expect fancy you are OK. Small fridge in room. Great people. TIGHT parking lot, if you are driving an RV or something...I don't know how you'd do it. The pool looked OK.... I just don't understand why you'd want a pool with the beach so close!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Erie PA/Presque Isle and I can guarantee that it will be a yearly destination for us! We would certainly stay at the Riviera Motel again. I do not care about decor, matching bed spreads and curtains....I care about the cleanliness of the room, the bed sheets, etc. and the Riviera was clean. It is a little retro and has an older feel, but the rooms are quiet, the water is hot and everything was clean and worked. Plenty of room for the money. (We had 2 adults and 2 teens in our party). The heated pool and area was immaculate, the "front porch feel" is a great way to wind down after a busy day of running, beaching and doing what tourists do!!! Bottom line if you are interested in aesthetics this may NOT be the place for you...If price and a clean place to sleep at night, with friendly staff and a "neighborly" atmosphere is what you dig...check out the Riviera.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Motel

Address: 3107 West Lake Road, Alternate Route 5, Erie, PA 16505
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.