We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riviera Motel
Save Saved
You added Riviera Motel to your Saves list
3107 West Lake Road, Alternate Route 5, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 35 hotels in Erie
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great price, no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I wanted a room that was cheap & clean. I got that. Only about a mile to Presque Isle, which is HUGE in my book. I just needed a bed, shower, AC and a TV, I got that. The AC unit was in the window which had drapes on it, so getting cold air into the room was tough at night, once I pulled the drapes, as it's all on ground level. Seems like a lot of fishermen stay there. As long as you don't expect fancy you are OK. Small fridge in room. Great people. TIGHT parking lot, if you are driving an RV or something...I don't know how you'd do it. The pool looked OK.... I just don't understand why you'd want a pool with the beach so close!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
17
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was our first trip to Erie PA/Presque Isle and I can guarantee that it will be a yearly destination for us! We would certainly stay at the Riviera Motel again. I do not care about decor, matching bed spreads and curtains....I care about the cleanliness of the room, the bed sheets, etc. and the Riviera was clean. It is a little retro and has an older feel, but the rooms are quiet, the water is hot and everything was clean and worked. Plenty of room for the money. (We had 2 adults and 2 teens in our party). The heated pool and area was immaculate, the "front porch feel" is a great way to wind down after a busy day of running, beaching and doing what tourists do!!! Bottom line if you are interested in aesthetics this may NOT be the place for you...If price and a clean place to sleep at night, with friendly staff and a "neighborly" atmosphere is what you dig...check out the Riviera.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarver, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We go to this place every year, twice a year and we love it! It's quaint and has a neat 1970's retro feel to it. The staff there is very nice and they will help you as much as they can. It's also a nice place to meet some new people! We met some of our good friends there!

If you are a person who is easily pleased and likes a quiet, laid back place to stay, this is it. If you're the type of person who wants a free continental breakfast and all the amenities, then you should go somewhere else.

Room Tip: the rooms with two beds are more spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you want the feel of a cheap 1960s motel, the Riviera Motel is what you'll get...at a price that's not so cheap. Since it rained a good deal of our trip, we spent much more time in the motel than we had planned. And that was not a good thing. This was our yearly multiple-family vacation to Erie and we had several rooms rented. Many of the rooms had the same issues.

The rooms were not very clean. I wouldn't let my toddler play on the floor. There was absolutely no counter space in the room or bathroom...and a couple rooms didn't even have a dresser. A single room air-conditioner was retro-fitted into the wall and was rather noisy. Almost every channel on the TV was snowy. The room was lacking in outlets for cell phone chargers, laptops, etc... The bathtub shower/faucet knob didn't work properly in one room, and the toilet didn't flush properly in another room. Nothing was addressed, even after we brought it to the attention of the motel staff on our second day of the trip.

The front desk had our reservations mixed-up, and the motel staff in-general were not very friendly.

On the plus side, the pool was nice and It is convenient to Waldameer and Presque Isle, but we will definitely NOT be staying at the Riviera again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

My family (two adults and a 17 month old child) decided to take a spontaneous weekend getaway in Erie. We didn't have any lodging reservations, but figured we would find something once we got close to Presque Isle. Unfortunately, there were no rooms available at any of the hotels we stopped at (soccer tournament) so we started to investigate motels instead. The Riviera Motel came to our rescue. When the front desk clerk heard that we had a small child, she did what she could to help us out. It was outstanding service and incredible kindness! They rented us a teeny tiny room - It was very worn, but good smelling and very clean. I can honestly say that the mattress was about as hard as the floor, but is sure beat sleeping in our car!! I feel fortunate that they were able and willing to help us out and would recommend them for their cleanliness and exceptional service, not to mention their kindness and compassion. Stay here if you want an inexpensive, old fashioned motel experience. Don't stay here if you are interested in creature comforts, expect a full range of amenities, or have no interest in nostalgia.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Upon pulling up to the hotel I had an Oh, no feeling. I was wrong. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and odor free. The air conditioner worked fine, a little noiser that mine at home, but it cooled perfectly. The shower/Bathtub was small, but big enough for my 2 & 3 year old to fit in at the same time. We never ran out of hot water. There was a coffee maker including coffee and creamer/sweetener. The refridgerator was dorm room size. There are a couple of picnic tables and grill area which we used daily. The pool was great, clean and warm. There is a small market directly across the street which was helpful. Also the Amusement park enterance is across the street. Other than that nothing is within walking distance. One mile at most to PresquIsle. The motel was completely booked for our entire stay, all of the guests that we spoke to had been there before, some have been going there for 10 years. Our family booked three rooms next to eachother, we are planning for next year!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My friends and I have gone to the Riviera for 2 years in a row, and plan on going back. The place is very clean, we see the cleaning women cleaning off the chairs all around the motel and pool daily. The pool is sparkling clean, and the motel is small enough that for most of the time you have the pool to yourself. We spend all afternoon at the pool. Staff is friendly and helpful, have menus in the lobby if you want to order pizza delivered. Place is close enough to restaurants that you don't even have to drive. Close to Waldameer and the beach. Make sure you check out the Ravine Flyer at Waldameer! Motel grounds nicely decorated with a nautical theme. Can't wait to go back.
Amy, Pgh

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riviera Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Motel

Address: 3107 West Lake Road, Alternate Route 5, Erie, PA 16505
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 hotels in Erie
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.