We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational including the movies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Ridge Center

Tom Ridge Center
301 Peninsula Drive, Presque Isle State Park, Erie, PA 16505
814-833-5049
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Attractions in Erie
Type: History Museums, State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Educational including the movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

There is so much to learn about the native wildlife to the environment to the history. Especially great for kids. Gift shop has nice selection and variety of priced items. Loved the Imax theater. Go often, the movies change periodically, never disappointed in them...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    52
    21
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WESTON
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have been to Erie a few times and this is the first time we stopped at the Tom Ridge Center. It was very neat. We really like going up in the tower and looking around. It was very windy that day and you could here the waves crashing on the shore from the top of the tower. We also watched a show. It was about the ice age. I don't remember the name. But very good. show. The center was free and the show was $5.00 a person.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The "green" building is its own best exhibit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Probably would be a little boring for kids/teens. Love the gift shop. I was doing a virtual geocache so I learned a lot more about the building itself than i would have just wandering through it. The green features are very interesting but for the money it cost it should be a lot more, and have more varied exhibits so it's not the same thing every time you go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Especially on a day when you would rather not be buffeted by high wind and 20f temperatures. Our first visit occurred several years ago, when temp dropped and light snow arrived in late October. It was fantastic, even though we ran out of day...we visited again last year. Don' t miss it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ac lot of cool and interesting things to see and do. a must is to go up into the tower to see the view!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tom Ridge Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Ridge Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.