We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home2 Suites by Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Home2 Suites by Hilton to your Saves list
Home2 Suites by Hilton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8035 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Economy, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent quality for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a really nice new hotel. Rooms are immaculate and very spacious and comfortable. We were surprised upon on arrival at the excellent quality of the hotel for the price. The bed was SO comfortable & the sheets were the softest I've ever slept in!! I wish I could find the same sheets for at home! It has many room and hotel amenities and is also in a very convenient location. Even more of a bonus, is they accept pets. My only two complaints would be not enough parking if you come back to the hotel very late and the breakfast area was congested so it was hard to get to anything. Overall, this is an excellent hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Erie PA. Probably the best stay in a hotel I've ever had. We would definitely stay here every time! Well done!

Room Tip: We were in room 302, which was at the end, so it seemed pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. So happy you enjoyed your stay!! We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    17
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
46
18
5
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elderton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked for 3 nights and how disappointing. We walked into the room and was very impressed with the kitchenette..for a family it would be perfect. The room itself was not very welcoming or cozy. It seemed clean to look at but upon further inspection we noticed hair all over the bathroom floor and entry/kitchen area. Not just a hair or two but hair everywhere! Not so clean. It seemed like they lightly took a dust cloth across a few things and that was it! The beds...now the beds were super comfortable and the sheets were amazing!! Best part of the entire experience for sure!! Breakfast was a total fail!! The layout is awful. We were constantly bumping into people, who, like us , were trying to find something decent to eat. Lots of oatmeal toppings! BUT, were was the oatmeal? Upon asking, the girl says they are out. Its only 7:45 am geesh! She said they did have a couple instant packets but they are gone. It would have been nice if she would have brought me one out but I guess once the two packets of instant are gone your out of luck until 6am tomorrow. They were out of just about everything by 8am and did not bring out any replacements while we were down there. We will never stay in one of these hotels ever again. Sadly we have two more nights to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff so this situation doesn’t happen again. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great place away from home, Outstanding service and a exciting place to stay.
The area has many things to do and plenty of places to eat, Rooms are very clean and spacious
along with a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the staff and how clean your room was!! We really appreciate your feedback!

Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a newer concept of hotel as defined by a hotel front desk staff member. The location of the hotel is just down the road near Peach Street on Oliver Road near Splash Lagoon and the surrounding shopping center. This fact makes the location very accessible and a short drive away from many attractions. We were pleasantly surprised upon on arrival at the excellent quality of the hotel for the price, which for us was $170 a night for a Deluxe Queen Suite with Sofa Bed on the first floor. The room was IMMACULATE upon entry and included a kitchenette with a microwave, dishwasher, and even a sink. This rooms separate living area had a very comfy couch/sofa bed with a large HD 42" flat screen television also included in the bedroom. For the electronic savvy guest, this hotel provides free complimentary WIFI for your device which you can set on the movable desk with chair which both can be moved around the room.(there is also CAT 6 High Speed Ethernet ports as well) The bathroom was also excellent, with sliding pocket doors. Our only complaint about the bathroom is that the doors tend to slam easily. One of the doors also had pencil marks over part of it, but I can overlook that in my review because it is hard to notice. The bedroom has a comfy queen bed with two pillows, which may be a set back for some but the front desk could deliver some for you. The AC and Heat were great with two units in our room, which were able to keep the room at a QUIET 70 degrees easily. The saline pool is medium sized and the depth reaches 4 feet and 9 inches. The continental breakfast that Home 2 refers to is called Inspired Table, which offers a number of baked items, microwavable items, cereal, yogurt, waffles, and more. Overall, this is an excellent hotel, and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Erie PA.

Room Tip: TIP: Get a room on the first floor. Its MUCH easier to load your luggage through the side door rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review!! We want the cleanest and most friendly hotel in Erie!! We are so happy that you enjoyed the room including all the ammenities, saline pool and breakfast!

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a nice new hotel. The bed was SO comfortable & the sheets were the softest I've ever slept in!! I may have to order some for home. Convenient location, right off rt90. Close to Resturants, shopping,Splash Lagoon. This hotel has a full kitchen that is really nice for families & they take pets too. Has inside swimming pool also. All the staff were terrific and very accommodating! Breakfast was good too.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We receive many great compliments about our sheets! They are a microfiber blend that is only made for Home2. I understand that several brands in the Hilton family are interested in getting the sheets for their properties too- but only Home2 has them so far! Please come back to see us soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in this hotel on a Saturday. The hotel was very nice and very clean. The staff were lovely. The room was well stocked and very clean. The bed was super comfy and the sheets were SO soft. Best stay in a hotel I've had since vacationing in the caymans. We would definitely stay here again and again. A+ well done.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaChilson, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderfule review! The sheets are incredible- a microfiber that only Home2 has. Can't wait for you to come back and visit.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a new concept by Hilton, and the suite rooms are very nice. It leans more toward an extended stay hotel, with the full size fridge and kitchenette. Attractive, modern furnishings, efficient storage space, very nice privacy curtain between the bed area and suite sitting area. The rollout desk design is a bit clumsy.

We experienced 2 negatives during our 4 day stay:
-- The pool area furnishings are sparse. There were only 4 chaise lounges, made from an uncomfortable, slippery hard plastic material, in keeping with the ultra-modern motif.

-- the breakfast was a significant negative for us, such that we will not return. Hilton proclaims a "healthy" breakfast, using this as an excuse to strip the offerings down to bare minimums. Because they use hard plates and silverware, people do not clean their tables when done; each day, tables were full of dirty dishes, and it was hard to find a place to sit. The counter was a mess, and the floor was sticky.

Offerings are limited to 2 waffle machines (whole grain, tasted like cardboard), cold cereal, breads and toaster, and some deep frozen, microwave them yourself, cheese eggs. It took 7 minutes in the tiny microwave to cook 1 serving of eggs. Rather than a hot breakfast tray, one encounters an unappetizing frozen package, which one has to stand for a long time to microwave.

The breakfast appeared to us to be a rollback towards the continental breakfasts of 10 years ago, as a cost savings measure by Hilton. Our disappointment was politely brought to the attention of the manager.

For that reason, we'll pass on this chain.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for completing a survey. I understand that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We appreciate all feedback- that is how we know what we are doing well and where we need to concentrate our efforts.

We hope you will give us another try when you are in the area.

sincerely,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton

Address: 8035 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened all-suite Hilton property opened in June 2014. Gorgeous hotel with every in-room amenity that you need for a short or long-term stay. This environmentally and green focused property faetures an indoor heated saline pool, a outdoor patio with firepit and gas grills make it a perfect place to entertain or enjoy with your family. Our "Inspired Table" breakfast has something for everyone, including hot waffles, artisan breakfast sandwiches, gourmet healthy egg options and fresh fruits, cereals and yougurts with all the toppings. Our "Spin2 Cycle" exercise area has state of the art equipment featuring treadmills, a universil machine, ellipticals and free weights. You can do laundry while you work out, as our large guest laundry facility is free of charge to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home2 Suites by Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.