We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Erie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Erie Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Erie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1015 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it! Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is definitely an older hotel, but I loved it because of that. I was impressed with how clean everything was, and everything seemed freshly painted and well-kept. There was even a mini fridge and microwave. I loved the actual keys they give you instead of cards, and there was a bottle opener attached to the wall near the bathroom. Beds are comfy. Also, it's in a safe area, with plenty of places nearby to grab food or a drink. It's really close to Presque Isle, and not too far from downtown. Great customer service from the front desk too! Overall, it was very charming.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    7
    9
    29
See reviews for
37
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Was in town this past weekend and nothing else was available, but this hotel... Rooms are dark and dingy. The couch looked like it had been to HELL and back. The bathroom window had roots growing thru the screen. This place was straight nasty!! And they didnt have espn. If this is the only thing available,please take my advice and postpone your trip.

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I traveled here with a friend for a last-minute end of summer trip. I based my choice on the location of the hotel (close to the beach)- rather than any knowledge of the place itself. I have stayed up in Erie occasionally, since it is one of my favorite weekend getaways during the summer. We were there for a weekend in August. I was pleasantly surprised by the location, and the unheard-of friendliness of the staff! They were very nice from check-in until check out, and everything in between. If you need extra towels, they get them for you, and they also ASK regularly if you need anything. That is certainly something nowadays you cannot put a price on.
OTHER STUFF:
The other fun thing about this hotel is the pool (although small) they play fun music during the day there , and they also have a fire pit, a volleyball area with sand, and a cool gazebo to sit in whenever. Also the breeze coming off the bay is fantastic at night. If you are a smoker, you can sit right outside your room in the big wooden chairs they provide and have a puff. A lot of places don't allow that even on the property.
ROOMS:
Well, I have to say I did love how the room sizes were nice- they seem to be slightly bigger than the standard hotels. The decor makes you feel like you're in the 80's but thats fine with me since that's when I grew up! lol. But it certainly is nice to share a room and not feel like you're falling over each other the whole time. BUT, we did laugh because my friend pointed out there were 2 pickles left there flung to the wall, and stuck to the wallpaper in our room ! The dusting and deep cleaning could actually be better- but remember you're by the bay, and beach etc, it's probably hard to keep spotless.
OTHER GUESTS:
well , I just have to say sometimes there are just loud people out there, if you're staying mid-way along the line of rooms there- don't expect to sleep very long in the am. doors slamming, people yapping, you'll hear all of it. If you want quiet, ask for a room on the end. And I recommend not driving if you don't have to, because the parking spaces get filled up at night (surprise) and you will most likey NOT get the space in front of your room to pack/unpack the next day.
LOCATION: AWESOME. There are many different types of businesses nearby- there are food places, a shopping center, and bars all within walking distance. Definitely a GREAT option if you want to go out and tie one on, and don't want to risk drinking and driving. AND they are on the road to the beach! you just can't beat that.
Also, the continental breakfast is decent, and the coffee is Diesel, haha. but a great way to pick up in the am.
OVERALL, my kind of place, for a lot of people it may be rustic, but it is perfect in many other ways. I will be giving them my business in the future ! keep it up and you have a forever customer. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

So I stayed here with my grandparents for a week, and we loved! They helped us with everything, cleaned the rooms everyday, gave extra towels and even had amazing coffee. All the staff was kind, helpful and entertaining and I will certainly stay here again anyday. Some other good things about this hotel are McDonald's is just a minute walking distance away, same with CVS pharmacy, Applebees, Taco Bell, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our family booked 3 rooms for 3 days over the Labor Day weekend and had a great stay. Owners, Frank and Harry, and staff are all very nice and attentive. (I've read reviews about the small bars of soap - small bars prevent waste and they will provide more if you need them!) The Lodge has a homey, family atmosphere and the kids loved the pool and the volley ball court! The campfire is an extra nice touch - a nice way to get to know others. The gazebo was a nice place to sit and enjoy our morning coffee or enjoy burgers cooked on the grill. Everything was clean and well cared for. If you are looking for a family-oriented place to stay, the Lake Erie Lodge is it! We will be back!

Room Tip: If you are looking for something more than just a room, they also have an efficiency with a small ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a great trip to Erie and Presque Isle! Our stay here was amazing. The staff is all about service and making us feel comfortable and welcome. Need more towels? No Problem! The pool is awesome. Nice and warm and relaxing. And this is a great location for all activities and great restaurants. Try Serafini's if you love homemade pasta and red sauce! But the staff here even offered us a "slice" from their own pizza pie. You guys make great hosts! Thanks for a great stay at the Lake Erie Lodge!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my fiance had gone up for the weekend for our getaway . We have stayed at many motels and this has been the best stay so far . Great location no more then 10 minutes from presque isle beaches . The staff was amazing , very friendly , very laid back , great room service , rooms are clean . The pool was very relaxing . Continental breakfast . Well worth the price ! See ya next year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Erie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Erie Lodge

Address: 1015 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Erie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lake Erie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Erie Hotel Erie
Lake Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Erie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.