We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Erie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Erie Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Erie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1015 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Cleveland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Good, The Bad and The Ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Good.
10 minutes in a straight line drive to Presque Island and Waldemer Park. The outdoor pool was quite warm. No need to get use to the water temperature, just dive in. The music from the pool house was a nice touch.On weekends there is a fire at 9 P.M. to gather around with other people and chat and relax.There is an old fashioned Coke A Cola bottle opener screwed into the bathroom door frame. The kind you would use when glass bootles had criped metal caps.
The Bad.
Wi fi available only in lobby and outside for about eighty feet. No wi fi in rooms. The tv had all the sports channels you could never want and all of the paid information channels. No local or broadcast channels, ABC, CBS, FOX or NBC. They tease you with "adult" channels you can't order. Some tv channels were on a photocopied paper in a desk drawer, next to the smoke detecor, in same drawer.
The Ugly.
Fairly well maintained sixties decor for the rooms. The smallest travel soap possible. No tiny bottles of shampoo or conditioner. Some other reviewer got waffles in addition to pastries, coffee, OJ and bananas in the morning. No waffles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    7
    9
    29
See reviews for
37
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We came for the weekend to visit Waldemere, and Presque Isle. This Motel is located in a very convient location for visiting both. The Lodge is clean and the employess were attentive. The boys left several electronic cords and we called as soon as we got home. The staff (Frank) was very helpful and went to the room himself to look for them. He found them and then mailed both cords to my grandsons. Thanks to the lodge and the staff for preventing the need to purchase additional equipment!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is the worst I have seen in 20 years of traveling. Filthy pool, filthy room for starters. The room did not have enough towels for 3 people. The soap was the size of a tic tac and there are no other bathroom essentials available. No Kleenex or clock in the room. The a/c is behind the wall so only the small area outside the bathroom gets cooled. The so called free wifi needs a password that they won't give out. The toilet needed extra attention to flush by you holding the handle until all was flushed. Besides the pool being filthy it is not heated as they claim and the music being played from the shack next to the pool was so loud you couldnot hear the person in the pool standing right next to you. No bonfire happened even though the weather conditions were perfect for it. There is not a continental breakfast available. The brochure states it is AAA approved but they do not honor the AAA discount. AAA should recind there approval. STAY ANYWHERE ELSE BUT NOT AT LAKE ERIE LODGE IN ERIE PA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: No good rooms available at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just got home from a six day stay and had a wonderful time.
We have been staying at the Lodge for three years now and go four to five times a year there!... Rooms are clean and affordable and Frank & Harry go out of their way to make your stay a happy one !
Has a pool, volleyball court and they have a fire pit which is nice !
It`s an older motel but clean and well kept !

Room Tip: They have a couple of suite with kitchen and separate bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We took this trip to visit Presque Isle Days as we have done many years in the past. We have stayed at this place since it was under the previous ownership. Our first year staying there under the new ownership occured initially on our anniversary when Frank's mom and dad (Dad is now regrettably deceased) feted us with chocolates and roses. On our most recent stay, our room had a malfunctioning commode (no fault of the ownership), but Frank graciously accomodated us at the last minute with another room. My wife and I decided to stay an additional day, and were accomodated with a room, there, again, at the last minute. All the staff is both courteous and helpful and the fire-pit is a nice touch. We will definitely book our next visit there. The only issue is the size of the soap offered there. It's pretty small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a nice trip to Erie. Checked out several motels in the area and this by far was the cleanest in the area. Greeted promptly, and was helped with looking at rooms and checking in. Our stay was nice and enjoyed the pool, fire pit and volleyball court. Met some great people, and was pleased with all the staff we encountered. As a mom I appreciated the lights outside the doors. They were bright and kept our area well lit. The bathroom was dated but clean, and that's what matters. The rest of the room was updated. We will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at The Lake Erie Lodge in July 2011. (see previous review) We just returned from another long weeked stay there. Frank and Harry and the staff once again made us feel like family. The rooms are clean...still a little out-dated, but it adds to the rustic lodge charm. The evening firepit is a great opportunity to gather with other guests...make new friends, share some culinary discoveries and unwind. The location is great...the parks and several excellent restaurants are in walking distance...as well as some interesting little shops. Just like the last time, we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Erie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Erie Lodge

Address: 1015 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Erie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lake Erie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Erie Hotel Erie
Lake Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Erie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.