We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy campers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Erie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Erie Lodge to your Saves list
Lake Erie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1015 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Erie
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unhappy campers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Our stay was memorable but not because of this place!!!! The "motel" was dated, grubby and lacking simple necessities such as sufficient towels or toilet paper. Requests for assistance were either totally ignored or less than prompt. They failed to "clean" our room on the first morning of our stay. Save yourself and drive passed this establishment!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    7
    10
    29
See reviews for
37
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I am currently staying at the motel and decided to write a review to others who may potentially be interested in staying here. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean,pleasant, and price friendly place to stay. Expectations has been exceeded in all aspects of our extended stay. The two gentlemen in charge have been nothing much friendly and accommodating for all the needs/wants of my family and I. And I can't think of any other way to show my gratitude!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayton, De
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We stayed at Lake Erie Lodge in the cold month of November. The people there were very friendly and helpful. They made certain that our room was always warm, clean, and welcoming. It was a comfortable room with a convenient location for an ecomical price. Great place to stay. We are looking forward to staying there again in May when my grandson graduates from college.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

The room was very clean and new wall paper. I see lots of cardboard boxes in the office area with new appliance and HVAC systems to be installed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

DONT EVER CONSIDER STAYIN AT THE LAKE ERIE LODGE. I STRONGLY CONSIDERED CALLING THE ECHD>Erie County Health Department because that place is unsanitary, filthy,bug infested,trash under the beds, there were stains on the mattress, the sheets and the floor. We had to buy 50$ worth of cleanning supplys just to make it comfortable.When aksed by the owner how was my stay, I replied "FILTHY! JUST FILTHY!"

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

i have been coming to this motel for the 9th time hopefully will make many more stays. This place is nice and the prices are affordable. Rooms are decent and the location is great, breakfast is nice also, though dont expect 5 star service.... their were alot of activities outside, pool area is nice with the gazebo and the badminton net also the other games. this time the rooms were renovated a bit like they had new microwaves and a bigger fridge. my family was pleased with this especially my teens and we look forward to returning next august!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Website says "we maintain the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort in order to insure you enjoy an excellent stay with us." Carpeting was dirty and worn from door in and not vacuumed, especially around the head of the bed on both sides. Baseboard ledges were dusty and dirty, cobwebs on wall, 3 flies in room, stain on ratty beige, pilled blanket and on dark green, patterned fitted sheet, mold on shower curtain-ICK!! Second room offered was only slightly better with newer carpeting but lost my desire to stay there when they can't even pick up visible paper trash reliably! "No refunds" so beware. The Comfort Inn that night was all that we'd hoped for and said they get "a lot of business from the motels in the area!!"

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Erie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Erie Lodge

Address: 1015 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Erie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Erie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Erie Hotel Erie
Lake Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Erie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.