We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO bad I have to let others know” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive Garden
5945 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509-3439
(814) 866-1105
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 343 Restaurants in Erie
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SO bad I have to let others know”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our experience this afternoon was so bad it was almost unbelievable.
We arrived and were told there would be a 15 minute wait which was not a problem as my wife and I were not in a hurry.
We decided to sit at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine. It arrived promptly and was presented in a wine chiller. The only problem was it was not opened. The bartender asked if we would like to open it. Rather difficult to drink if it is not opened.

We were seated at our table and immediately asked to be moved somewhere else as it was uncomfortably cold in this spot. We were moved to another location which was not much warmer, but decided to stay any way.

We both ordered appetizers which after a 45 minute wait ,while my wife sat in her coat zipped to the top, they both arrived burned and cold. We asked to speak to a manager about the food and the uncomfortable cold conditions in the restaurant. When Bonnie came over, she copped an attitude with us about our request to turn up the heat. Needless to say, we asked for our check and left to find a place with heat and better food. Will not be back here for a LONG time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    23
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
1 review
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I sat there for 15 mins with not one staff member acknowledging us, so we left. We are from Canada and enjoy the Olive Garden when in the states but this time said to say we did not.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Will definitely return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Had dinner late Saturday night so no wait at all and were very impressed by service, food, value and overall experience. Rebecca, our waitress, did an amazing job - everything she should - smiled often, courteous and friendly, very knowledgeable of menu, great suggestions when asked, patient when we all couldn't decide, and was very attentive to all our needs throughout meal. Unlimited bread and salad is an option that we hope Olive Garden will always retain. Meals were very tasty and portion size excellent. Thanks Rebecca and Olive Garden kitchen for making it a great dining experience - we will definitely highly recommend and return when we're back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Unlimited Bread and Salad... Need I say more?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

LOCATION – The Olive Garden was located very close to the main shopping in Erie and less than a five minute drive from our hotel. It was fairly easy to get to, but you can't turn left out of the parking lot. Luckily we didn't have to, but you could see a lot of cars making u-turns down the road because of it.

FOOD – We always really enjoy the food at Olive Garden. My husband cannot eat dairy, so he had a bit of a hard time finding something on the menu substantial that wasn't cooked in butter, milk or a cream sauce or smothered in cheese. In the end he was able to order a dish with minimal changes, and he really liked it so that's always a plus! There was unlimited soup or salad and bread which was great. I filled up on salad and bread and took part of my dinner home for a snack the next morning. Our waitress even gave us extra bread sticks to go. Which was awesome.

ATMOSPHERE – The atmosphere isn't anything special. It doesn't feel like it's themed or "take you anywhere". It is basically just like any other chain restaurant.

SERVICE – We had great service. Our waitress was really helpful in terms of my husband's dietary restrictions and she even brought us sample drinks before we ordered. Unfortunately she had a very difficult customer at the table behind us (who was very rude and just looking to be difficult and get things for free) which occupied a lot of her time. But we still felt like we had her attention and she checked in just the right amount of time during our meal.

COST – The cost was pretty reasonable considering the amount of unlimited bread, salad and soup we had. The meal prices were very comparable to other restaurants.

OVERALL – We love the Olive Garden and stop in every time we are in the USA. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food and Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We no longer have an Olive Garden's so it was great to be able to enjoy it again. For $12.99 we have unlimited bread sticks, salad and an entree PLUS an additional entree to go! wow great taste & value.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.