We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roar on the shore stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Glass House Inn to your Saves list
Glass House Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3202 West 26th Street, Erie, PA 16506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Erie
New Brighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“roar on the shore stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

OK this family business gives you at home feeling. I'll start off with the beds are comfterble, and that matters too me. Clean rooms, big bath towels, that matter too me too. Clean wonderful heated pool. This hotel is small and cozy, ice machine for you as well. All the comforts of home for us, and many others whom return the glass house inn every year for the July roar on the shore event. There ois a natural gas weber grill there as well for your use. Picnic tables for entertaining large groups perhaps! But all was wonderful. I support small business whenever possible and this is why. Thank you

Room Tip: 44 off the path and in corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We're so glad that everything here was to your liking, from the pool to the towels and everything in between! It sounds like you truly enjoyed your stay here, and we're happy to hear about it. Next time you're in Erie, we'd be happy to host you again -- we're looking forward to it!

Best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    137
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
119
146
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very convenient for presque isle. Retro style motel. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Very nice continental breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will recommend local restaurants. My husband and I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful, to-the-point review, Barbara. We truly appreciate your kind words, and we'd be more than glad to welcome you back next time you visit Erie.

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband, 4 year old daughter, & I very much enjoyed our visit to this hotel. This was a last minute trip and after researching many sites to find a suitable hotel this was the one with the best ratings. This place also came recommended from a family friend who has stayed here in the past and also from my parents that had stayed here years ago so we were hoping the hotel would be as good as we were expecting it to be. The sign inside our hotel room said that they hoped we would feel like this place was our home away from home and it definitely was. I was concerned that I might have a hard time bathing our daughter but I had no issues since there was a tub for us to use. It was also nice that the tv had kids channels to help our daughter relax a little.

I also enjoyed the fact that when asked for recommendations on places to eat I was given a coupon and directions to a restaurant in the area. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly come back in the future. Extra plus... This hotel offered discount tickets to the local amusement park Waldameer. We weren't able to visit the park during our stay but the next time we come we will most likely take advantage of that discount.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We're glad you decided to take your friend and parents' advice and give us a try, Renee! It's great to hear that you had such a good time staying here, and we're especially pleased that your daughter was also happy. We hope you'll come stay with us again -- Waldameer awaits!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We're from the UK and stayed here whilst travelling from Indianapolis to New York City. Very conveniently placed for the beautiful Presque Isle State Park and the children particularly enjoyed the swimming pool in the parking lot. The staff were great and whilst fabric of the building was a little tired around the edges, the experience more than made up for that. For us it was a slice of quintessential Americana, one which our young children will remember for many years to come.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, Jonathan! We're both glad you and your family enjoyed your stay so much, and that you were able to enjoy everything Erie had to offer while you were here. We really appreciate this great review, and if you ever find yourselves back in our city, we'd be glad to host you again.

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We utilized Glass House Inn for a Thanksgiving trip to Boston when we were one of the two reservations. We returned again this summer. Enjoyable and reasonable facility a little dated but quaint and economical. Good referral for local Mexican restaurant El Canelo. Staff made arrangements for us to take breakfast items to our room and mini-frig the night before since we were departing before continental buffet opened on departure morning. Will stay again in the future for such a convenient and reasonable motel.

Room Tip: Our room this trip near the front was quiet. Middle area room at Thanksgiving time was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed not just this stay with us, but also your Thanksgiving visit as well. We're definitely an old-fashioned, traditional kind of place, and that's how we like it! It's great you liked it too. We'd be happy to host you again anytime. Thanks again!

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Butler, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We wanted to get away for a few days with our niece for her & I to get in a little fishing. The room was very neat and clean. I slept like a baby after being in the fresh air. We spent two days and everything was very nice. We did not participate in the breakfast because we wanted to get out fishing early, but next time we will definitely partake of the food. Very pleasant experience. Management was most appreciative of our staying with them. Staff was very pleasant and wanting to make our stay as comfortable as possible. We will definitely stay at The Glass House Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We're glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, Larry! We definitely did love to have you here, and we were more than happy to do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible -- it sounds like you thought we succeeded, and we appreciate you saying so. We look forward to hosting you again sometime!

Thanks again,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. however, I have stayed here a few times in the past. Rooms are clean, in a good location and very close to shops/restaurants, and a very short drive to Presque. The staff is always friendly but the girl at the desk didn't seem to have any idea about local events going on for the 4th of July(we later found out all events had occurred the previous night). It's very relaxing to sit outside of the hotel room on the patio and it isn't loud and rowdy like other "motels" are. Only small issue was our room wasn't cleaned one day when we turned the sign to have the maid clean it, but it was cleaned after we called the office to ask about it. All in all I love the glass house inn and I will continue to stay here when I visit erie.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! We're glad you've always been so consistently satisfied with your stays here, but we're sorry there were a few mixups on your last visit here. That said, we're glad to hear you won't let that stop you from coming to see us again! We're looking forward to it.

All the best,
Tim & Laura, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Address: 3202 West 26th Street, Erie, PA 16506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#2 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#5 Family Hotel in Erie
#12 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.