We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our latest Fall Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glass House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Glass House Inn to your Saves list
Glass House Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3202 West 26th Street, Erie, PA 16506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our latest Fall Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Following our day at the Semi-Annual Quilt Auction at Lawrence County Fairgrounds (held 3rd Saturday in April and October), we headed north toward Erie and once again checked in at the Glass House Inn. Following church, we brought dinner to our room and enjoyed the true comfort of a warm and friendly room and a good nights rest. On Sunday morning, we visited with many others who filled the Inn full, as we enjoyed our continental breakfast. A perfect stay. Then off to Presque Isle to continue our fall adventure...give it a try!

Room Tip: Rooms are all good...we like queen with comfortable reclining chair
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks for staying with us again. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our continental breakfast room. Hope to see you again soon.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    145
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
124
155
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Why three stars? Read on- but I will say upfront I am conflicted. It is a nice place with a major noise issue that got in the way of our two night stay. The off-season rate of $90 per night (with a 15% discount in Oct/Nov) was a great value.

The Glass House Inn is a nice place. It has been in the family for three generations and it is clear that the current owners take very good care of the Inn. The grounds, buildings and rooms are clean and in good repair. They do have a '50s feel as has been stated in other reviews but that is a positive comment- not a negative one. It does not present as a worn out facility at all. Pink tile in the bathroom was mentioned- it's true, it is pink but it is well maintained, clean tiles and clean grout. We had a room with a queen size bed and a connecting door. The bed was comfortable however, the people next door were loud- coming and going at odd hours- and we could clearly hear them talk. This happened both nights we stayed. I think the connecting door was the issue. I am really surprised no one else has commented about this. The shower would be the right temperature and suddenly run hot or cold- be careful. The Internet is OK but is very slow at times. Breakfast was OK- fruit, danish, bagels, muffins, cereal with peanut and jelly available along with coffee and juice. Since we have family in Erie, we may give it another try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you again for staying with us. We appreciate your business. I am flattered that you complimented the condition of our property. I understand about the adjoining rooms. When you stay with us again, you can request to not be in adjoining rooms, or we also have rooms that are tucked in the corner which are extra quiet. Those are my favorite. Hope to see you again.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It's nice to stay in a motel where the owners actually care about you and your experience in their facility. Yes, the rooms are small, and yes, the bathrooms are tiled in pink (see other reviews), but the room and bathroom were spotless. The beds were quite comfortable. The eating area was extremely clean too, something I never find in chain motels. As for the comment about the breakfast being skimpy, it was comparable to chain motels that charge much more. The flowers outside were very pretty and it was great to park outside our door and unload the car in record time. We will stay here again on our next trip to Presque Isle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thanks for the kind words. We really appreciate your business. Thank you also for noticing the landscaping. We work really hard on the garden areas:) Hope to see you again soon.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel. Room is clean and nicely equipped with microwave, which is perfect for us since we are on a budget. Staff is friendly and support late check-in. We'll go back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again. We really appreciate your business. Hope to see you again soon!

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband, my sister, her husband and I stayed at this hotel October 2013. We picked the Glass House Inn based on the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. My sister said their bed was so bad it sunk in the middle, the towel rack was inside the shower and the overall condition of the place was not quaint but old and shabby. The bathroom was so small it was cramped for one person and there was no place to set your toiletries. The bathroom was out of the fifties with pink tile and towel bars inside the bath/shower with no place else to hang your towel. The girl at the front desk was very nice and recommended a local place to eat that night for dinner. The continental breakfast was very skimpy, I would never stay there again. Considering the condition of the place I think the price was three times higher than it should have been.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are sorry you were disappointed with our place. As you can see from previous and following reviews, most people enjoy our quaint, clean and comfortable rooms in our motel which was built in the 1950's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here Oct 7, 2013, based upon a number of good reviews. The room felt like it was built about 50 years ago, but was nice. There was an attractive set of flowers planted outside the rooms. And there were quite a few places to eat and shop nearby. Standard buffet breakfast. The price was comparable to Super 8 or Red Roof inns.
The one small drawback was that there was a moderately strong smell of some cleaning material, and we had to leave the window open awhile to help clear it. I sleep with a CPAP machine, and this cleaning odor lingered in it for about 4 days after returning home! Never had that happen at any motel I've stayed at in the past.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for the kind words. Our cleaning staff uses the same products used in many homes. Sometimes bleach or Lysol could linger in the air. Sorry for any inconvenience. Hope to see you again in the future.

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin,Pa.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We enjoyed this motel. The rooms were small,but the beds very comfortable. It was quiet even though it was along a main road.We didn't have to drag our suitcase for a long distance.We are planning on returning on our next trip to Erie in Oct. The owners seemed to really care about there little motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasshouseinn, Owner at Glass House Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us and for the kind words! Hope to see you again soon!

Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glass House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glass House Inn

Address: 3202 West 26th Street, Erie, PA 16506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#6 Family Hotel in Erie
#12 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Glass House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting and vacationing in Erie, Glass House Inn will be your home away from home. Our personable, 30-room inn is family-owned and operated. Glass House Inn is a colonial style motel with quaint, clean, and comfortable rooms. We offer convenient parking directly outside your room. Each room is furnished with a range of amenities with all the comforts of home including in-room coffee maker, fridge, and microwave. Additionally, we also offer an outdoor, heated pool, outdoor gas grill, basketball hoop, and continental breakfast. Our homey inn offers all the amenities and accommodations of other hotels with an added personal touch. The Glass House Inn is only two miles away from Presque Isle State Park, Waldameer & Water World amusement parks, and minutes from Millcreek Mall and downtown Erie. Enjoy all the comforts of home at Glass House Inn when visiting Erie. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glass House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glass House Hotel Erie
Glass Hotel Erie
Glass Motel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glass House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.