We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Times for Whole Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park Resort

Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park Resort
8091 Peach St, Erie, PA 16509
814 217 1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 16 Attractions in Erie
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ride, Slide, Splash And Plunge Your Way To Fun At Splash Lagoon In Erie, PA. From 9 Swirling Water Slides, Relax In The Family Whirlpools, Float Down The Lazy River, Play In Adventure Bay, Get drenched by The 1,000 Gallon Tipping Bucket, Toddler Play Areas, Explore The 5 Story Tiki Tree House, 6,000 Sq Ft Of Gaming Fun In Treasure Island Arcade, One Of The Best Places To Kid Around For Your Birthday Or Group Outing.Play All Day Or Play In Stay At One Of Our Award Winning Hotels. Wild Waves Indoor Wavepool opening Fall 2011! Play All Day Or Play In Stay At One Of Our Award Winning Hotels. Coming Soon-10,000 Sq Ft Wave Pool Coming Spring 2009!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good Times for Whole Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Purchased a hotel/admission package through the Residence Inn, which made it very economical. Was there on a non-holiday weekend in January. Not very crowded early in the day. Got a little more crowded around 2 PM. Lots of fun things to do for all ages. Limited food choices though (Boston Sports bar is connected to water park, but we didn't visit it), mostly fried foods and not so good pizza.

Good changing rooms, with things like bathing suite dryers and plastic bags to put wet clothes in. Well maintained and clean.

Grap a seat or small table near the wave pool and pretend you are someplace warm and sunny.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    201
    59
    40
    43
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Small Waterpark, but nice!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

As the snow was falling outside, waves were crashing around us. I give it an average rating only b/c it's very small. We did the evening pass 4-close & that was plenty of time for us.It was the best winter activity near Pgh, w/o a doubt! Check out the red roof in 2 miles away. Incedibly cheap & nicer than the more expensive hotels. It was redone this year & is #1 here on trip advisor. Thanks to TA for this excellent value. It goes to show you can rely on what the majority says.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good visit for children not so much for adults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

It's great that they have a swim up bar but the adult hot tub was filthy, this attraction is more oriented towards children then adult ventures, if you stay here get the package deal that includes your stay at the attached hotel, everything is cheaper that way

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So much fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We surprised our 10,13 year old with a few days at splash lagoon the day after Christmas. Considering we have been to several indoor water parks across the United States we throuly enjoyed our stay. I defiantly suggest getting the ultimate upgrade which was very worth the money and too much fun!! We stayed across the street in the Econo Lodge despite it needing upgraded it was very nice with a nice pool an hot tub. Overall we had an AMAZING stay. Thank You Splash Lagoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Top Contributor
721 reviews 721 reviews
473 attraction reviews
Reviews in 263 cities Reviews in 263 cities
981 helpful votes 981 helpful votes
“Still Our Favorite Indoor Water Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

For our annual indoor water park trip this year we returned to Splash Lagoon during the Holiday season after several years in which we visited some other water parks including the newer water parks in Sandusky, OH which is closer to home and we were very pleased with our decision to return.

Splash Lagoon is a smaller, older water park but they have done a generally good job of maintaining and expanding the park to “keep up with the Jones’” which has resulted in some crowding and a patchwork layout as new additions are squeezed in and added on but the results have been generally very good. Several years ago, they started by adding two major slides bringing the total to five (there are several smaller slides for the younger set) followed shortly by laser tag, a Tree Tops rope coarse and a wave pool addition which opened about 18 months and also brought additional lockers, showers, tables, restaurant & bar facilities. Some of the new features require additional charges such as the laser tag and ropes course.

In addition to the slides and wave pool, they have the requisite tower with a few slides and tipping bucket splash zone, lazy river, activities pool, a separate shallow area and small slides that is always popular with the very youngest guests and their parents and separate children’s and adult hot tubs. Another thing that is offered that is popular with the preteen set is a worm like squirt gun which is a long rubber bladder in a fabric sleeve with a plastic tip that is used to fill the squirt gun at special stations and as well as squirt. My 12 year old son had a great time playing with a large group of kids of similar age until the rubber bladder finally fatigued and ruptured from repeated refilling. Our experience has been that this bladder failure always occurs eventually and is a bit disappointing as the squirt gun costs almost ten dollars with tax but did provide hours of entertainment.

There are also a couple of party rooms, an arcade and a gift shop where lockers can be rented as well as a couple of restaurants and a bar. The resort food is like food at most resorts, not very good and over priced but not as over priced as at many other resort areas. If you are willing to go elsewhere to eat, there is just about every conceivable restaurant within a few blocks north on Peach St and many of them will deliver to the connected hotels.

During our visit over the Holidays, the water park was near capacity but with the expansions the crowd was handled quite well; in fact, better than during some of our previous visits. We were able to find an available table with relative ease, rarely had to wait for an available tube and it was only a few moments when we did need to wait, towels were generally available but on the one occasion they ran out more were brought out within a few minutes, there was no wait for a locker nor for a shower on the way out. Most importantly, the wait for the slides was reasonable as the lines almost always seemed to move and there always seemed to be a slide with a short line. We found that one of the, likely unintended, benefits of squeezing in the additional slides is that all five major slides are served by two platforms right next to each other so we simply took a look to see which line was short and rode that slide which minimized waits but gave us the opportunity to ride each slide multiple times over the course of our stay.

Also, during the holiday visit, Splash Lagoon offered a few additional activities at no additional charge two of which we took advantage of; a midway of carnival games where inflatable toys were given away and Jungle Terry who brought a number of animals the kids were allowed to hold and pet.

The bottom line is that after our visit, the kids were very happy and all agreed that Splash Lagoon was still our favorite indoor water park.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park Resort also viewed

 

Been to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.