We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location vs. Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tallyho-tel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tallyho-tel
7455 Schultz Rd, I-90 at Exit 27, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 35 hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Location vs. Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A small group of us were able to book rooms only a few days before the Roar on the Shore. The price was about average considering the event was a few days away. We had previously booked a room for the same price in Meadville, which would have meant driving further.

There is a bar you can walk to which is great. Make sure that you drink enough not to care about the filthy rooms. There were cobwebs on teh walls and even in the shower. There was no alarm clock, the bed was way too soft, the little couch was FILTHY! Our friends' rooms were all the same condition. Someone even made the mistake of looking under the bed (probably for dead prostitutes) and found more filth, food, wrappers. etc.

If you are looking for a cheap, close place to downtown and don't mind low quality it's okay, but don't get your hopes up.

Room Tip: Walk to the bar, drink enough that you can pass out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    6
    5
    24
See reviews for
10
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Better off sleeping in a tent on the ground. Old, dirty and similar staying in a garden shed. Yes really! Our toilet didn't work, so went reported it to the office. We returning later with our entire room all wet. They expected us to stay there. Drove home after first night, losing the money from our second night. Never consider this hotel. I've stayed in some less than elegant places, but this place was horrible. If this is your only choice -STAY HOME!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was the worst hotel I ever stayed in in my live , filthy dirty , nothing worked no ac in 80 degree weather bathroom was vulgar a so called hot tub that electrocuted us worst place ever to much stuff to list nothing was good its f#*king horrible at the tally go run for your life . Your better off sleeping in a sewer it will be cleaner

Room Tip: It should be tally go run away far away from it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived in Erie late one night on a cross country road trip. I liked the idea of a motel that we could just back up to the room door with our car and unload for the night. Very inexpensive room and (like the saying goes) you get what you pay for. Our room smelled like a bar at closing time. We did not have a remote control for the t.v. While I don't expect flat screen TVs everywhere, I do think that a remote should be pretty standard even for cheap motels. We set our alarm for 4am and hit the road early without showering - the bathroom was not inviting.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and found ourselves once again passing through Erie. I've seen the other reviews since my first one and was a little skeptical, but the price is perfect so we pulled into the lot. It looks like the roofs are all brand new and the yards were nicely kept and the beds were full of flowers and mulch, the parking lots and exterior were very brightly lit and so my impressions so far were good. Upon entering the lobby, we couldn't help but notice all the more upgrades and improvements, the new lobby is bright and spacious with leather couches. We were checked in quickly by an adorable gal who was very professional and made us feel very much at home. Our room was pretty much as I remebered it... not new, but very clean and tidy. Sure, the rooms are in need of a little modernization, but overall, ours was in good condition, clean and fresh, the bathroom was clean, towels were a little thin but had no stains, the TV, heater worked just fine. It's not a fancy place. But it doesnt't have a fancy price tag either. Free hot fresh coffee in the morning. Wireless internet in rooms is limited, but works great in the conference room off the lobby. Parking at your door. Free phone calls. Still no indoor pool.

Room Tip: Away from the highway in 220 section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frewsburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We [a group of 20+] , with varied accommodation requests , were treated very well by these folks. our goal was a pleasant, clean, and AFFORDABLE place to spend the night during a casino/ band/ get-away. The single story ranch style set-up and the easy access made it perfect for us ! Clean, fresh smelling rooms ,working a/c, and lots of hot water too.The staff were very cordial, cooperative, and pleasant to deal with,even through our several additions, deletions and changes to our reservation list. We will definitely check with them again when we need to plan a get-away!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel on Saturday evening. The room was supposed to be one of the better rooms...away from the highway....the bed was probably the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on. The room supposedly non smoking..burn marks evident on the bed spread. The sink cracked...the room quite unpleasant in appearance. Diff to open and close door. Smoke detector not functional. Overall very unsatisfactory..and very expensive for the appearance of the facility....obviously the management doesnt heed the reviews. Make ours number 19 poor.

Room Tip: too expensive and the bed was old and very very uncomfortable..new mattresses would help but it need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tallyho-tel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallyho-tel

Address: 7455 Schultz Rd, I-90 at Exit 27, Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tallyho-tel in Erie sits on I-90 at exit 27, 1/2 mile to the New Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. Conveniently located close to downtown Erie and its museums and attractions: Lake Erie Harbor, Presque Isle State Park and Lake Erie Beaches, Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park, local wineries, museums and Peach Street/Millcreek Mall shopping, and is conveniently located for business travelers, families and vacationers alike. All guestrooms were recently upgraded, receiving new bathroom flooring, lighting and large vanity mirrors; plush carpeting, beautiful faux-finish paint, upgraded furniture and furnishings, pillow-top mattresses and fixtures. We look forward to servicing your travel needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tallyho-Tel Hotel Erie
Tally Ho Tel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallyho-tel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tallyho-tel to your Saves list