We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good service, a bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,525 reviews 1,525 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
“Nice room, good service, a bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for one night as we visited Splash Lagoon. This was actually a free upgrade from the Residence Inn (on the other side of Splash Lagoon), as they lost our reservations and the other hotels were sold out. We found the rooms to be in great condition, with comfortable beds and a huge whirlpool bath in the bathroom. (Although why anyone visiting Splash Lagoon would need an in-room whirlpool is beyond me!)

The room was comfortable, and the morning complimentary breakfast gives you anything you could possibly want for the price. The only problem was a room full of noisy people right next to us, but we were still able to sleep through it. I would gladly return to this hotel for future visits.

Room Tip: Bring a copy of your reservations along with you. Reservations made through Splash Lagoon are gettin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    32
    26
    17
See reviews for
131
27
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We brought a family of 8 for a 3 day Splash Lagoon vacation. The water park was great as usual, but our service at the Holiday Inn was exceptional (Logan especially). Every single person we spoke with went above and beyond to ensure our needs were met. Our jet tub wasn't functioning properly. The maintainence man ,Tony from Colorado, fixed it, and then stayed to fill the tub up to test it properly before leaving. He made sure we had no other issues before leaving as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brookfield, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

as other reviewers have said its freezing inside waterpark but this review is for the hotel so i will leave it at that. we stayed in a family suite that consists of 3 rooms. we were charged $560 because they had no other rooms available. on the 2nd day we decided to stay again and all of a sudden we were able to shut the door to the one room and rent the other half for $119 (without waterpark passes) but still. as other reviewers say management is never available and even when you call corporate they give you a case number and tell you someone will get back to you in 48hrs. so heres there scam, the housekeeper claims that the room smells of smoke and without telling you, they charge your card for $250. we stayed last weekend and upon looking at my account i noticed a $250 charge. so, i called the hotel and the chief housekeeper told me that the room smelled like smoke and they took pictures of 3 ciggerette butts in the trash can. first of all i dont smoke, my husband does but he smoked outside. my husband smokes outside even at home because we have 3 young children. noone mentioned anything about there findings noone showed us any pictures, not a word despite the fact that we stayed in the other half of the room for another night so it wasnt like we left and they couldnt notify us of there so called findings. im going to dispute the charges at my bank. if this money is not returned im filing a lawsuit. i dont care if it cost me more than $250 its the principle that counts. worse yet, im telling everyone i know. soooo mad

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Billy B,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on and we are sorry to read that in this case you feel we have fallen short of your expectations. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in the studio suite as we are a family of 2 adults and 4 children. Overall the service was great and found all staff to be very helpful. The family suite is a perfect size for us and had everything we needed. We found that the two pullout couches were way past their prime though and weren't even comfortable for our young children. There is nothing to the mattress at all and the springs come through it. Even as a couch it's uncomfortable and ratty looking. They really look like they were picked up off the curb... Aside from that, our experience was otherwise pleasant. We visited Splash lagoon everyday and had a blast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We've been to Splash Lagoon several times. We purchased a one night package and one night hotel stay. We stayed there for 2 nights. The package stay allows you to use the water park the day you arrived to the end of the next day.

This was our third stay in this hotel. It is just off I90. There are a lot of restaurants around there. The room is clean and is a good size. Our room had two queen beds and a pullout sofa. It can definitely sleep for 6 people. There is a fridge and a microwave in the room too. We stayed on the first floor. It was so convenient to walk to the water park. We loved it. The breakfast was okay. They have a pancake machine but I did not try the pancake as there was a line all the time. I will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear C S,

We at the Holiday Inn Express are happy to read that your stay here was all you needed, we appreciate your feedback about your stay. We know there are alot of places to stay and we are glad you chose us! Thanks Again the staff at Holiday Inn Express!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is AWESOME! It is write attached to Splash Lagoon water park. My suite included a full kitchenette, a whirlpool tub, fireplace, flat-screen tv, 2 double beds, air conditioning, a pull out sofa and a hair drier.
We didn't cook our dinner in the suite because their were so many restaurants close by on Peach street. We also didn't have to make breakfast either because they had a HUGE BREAKFAST BUFFET! If me and my family came back to Splash Lagoon we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a family of 5 stay in the kids suite If you have a family of 6 stay in the queen suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Andy L,

We appreciate your kind words from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Erie, PA. As we strive daily to make every experience count it is good to see that it is working! We are happy that you had such a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a trip to Splash Lagoon.

We arrived early, 1:30 PM, but our room was not available. We did not mind so much until the front desk person stated that there was no room for left luggage. It seems to me that this is hotel would have a place for Splash Lagoon folks to leave their luggage while waiting to check in.

We booked a kids suite which was a lot of fun for our 9 year old son. He had his own TV and bunk beds.

The refrigerator and microwave were handy. The room itself was clean and spacious for our 3 person family.

The hotel provides breakfast for guests. It was OK, but the pancake machines were not working properly when we went to breakfast. Our son was very disappointed.

We would stay here again when visiting Splash Lagoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Stampguy19,
We at the Holiday Inn Express in Erie, PA appreciate your feedback on your recent stay, as we strive to make it the best for all sometimes things are set aback, we are sorry we did not have storage for your luggage, and it will certainly be addressed with all so that maybe something in the future can be fixed. We look forward to your next visit with us and will certainly make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Address: 8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.