We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This property is attached to Splash Lagoon water park. I was amazed at how clean and quiet this hotel was being so close to the park. We had the kids bunk suite and it was great. It was roomy and clean. The only thing wrong with the room was some marks on the carpet. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom spacious. My only complaint is the limited parking but as the water park got near to closing we were able to park right out front.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing comments from your recent experience at Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in our kids suite. We are planning on some upgrades to come starting at the end of this year,and hope you will come back to them. We pride ourselves in doing our very best to exceed our guests expectations and are so happy to hear that we provided that for you. Parking can sometimes be very limited when we have our peek times at the hotel and apologize for that. We hope to see you again the next time you plan a vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    77
    32
    26
    17
See reviews for
131
27
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Randolph
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We booked this hotel as a package deal with Splash Lagoon. We booked the 2 family suite. There were 3 adults and 6 children with us. The children loved Splash Lagoon, but us adults loved the suite. It had a refridgerator, stove, microwave, coffee pot, fireplace, 4 queen beds, 3 tvs, 2 sofa beds, 2 tables, a desk, a coffee table, and 2 awesome whirlpool tubs. We opened up the suite doors for the kids to go back and forth between all of our 3 rooms during the day, but at night when it was bed time and some kids had to go to sleep before others, we closed the doors up and had our own families in our own little rooms. The whirlpool tubs were great, and they even had clothes lines above them to hang your wet clothes from Splash Lagoon.
The only thing not so great was they had some pots and pans and we tried to use them, but they were so poorly made, that the coating on them came off on our food. I wouldn't recommend you try to use them. We'll be bringing our own next time.
Otherwise, we were extremely happy with our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I would first like to give a big thank you from myself and the staff here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites for the positive comments you have shared about your experience. We are thrilled to hear that yourself and your family enjoyed the accommodations of our family suite. We are going to be updating our pots and pans here within the very near future so you will not need to bring anything with you :) We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We needed to stop while on a trip and this hotel was booked from the car. We had no idea what to expect but the price was reasonable and the room was available. The welcome we received was professional and friendly. The facilities were clean although a little dated. The bed was clean and comfortable. The room was spacious enough for two.
We had eaten a large lunch and needed a smaller something to go the night and it was right there for us. Sandwiches, drinks and cookies were available in the dining room for the taking Breakfast was also provided in the morning. there were a variety of eggs, cereals, hot oatmeal with toppings, waffles, buns and cinnamon rolls One could also have yogurt or fresh fruit.
We also used the pool and hot tub and found them to be clean as well. Great hotel and a credit to the Holiday Inn name.


.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are glad to hear that your experience was a positive one. We strive for our guests to have a memorable experience and are very delighted we achieved this with your stay. We are very happy to accommodate you and your family in the future. We also hope your experience in Erie was stellar one. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First of all I can't say enough about the staff. Friendly, helpful and accommodating. We (3 kids 3 adults) bought a package to splash lagoon in the studio suite for our first night. 2 queen beds and 2 large pullout couches with the hottub in the room itself. The kids loved it. The room is used allot and did have some signs of use here and there but super clean. The next night we got the executive suite. At 10 am on a friday they called our room and told us the new room was ready just 2 doors down. They mentioned they would try to get us on the same floor so the move would be quick and it was. I really like the new room. Its updated,. clean and perfect. Full kitchen,. separate room to bedroom. 2 tv's so the kids could watch cartoons and we could watch the news. Whirlpool tub in the bathroom fit 2 people and was powerful. I like the privacy of the tub in the bathroom better than in the room itself. I read the reviews on the busy breakfast time,. I think the managers really do read the reviews because it was a weekend and we ate just fine with out missing anything. We loved our weekend getaway. This hotel has the best deal on the splash package and the rooms are just as good as the more expensive residence inn(which btw if you show your room key at the RI pool you can use it since the HIE doesn't have one. The staff/housekeepers show pride in their job and it shows. If your like me and pour over reviews before booking you can trust me on this one! enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are very thrilled to see that our staff was up to standards for from the front desk to our housekeeping team. Also we are excited that you enjoyed both rooms that you had occupied during your stay with us. We do recieve alot of traffic in these rooms and will be starting to do some upgrades come this September. We do read each survey and take every positive and some times negative comments back to our team in order for us to improve our service. We truly appeciate you taking the time to share your kind words about you stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, and hope that we can be of service to you and your family again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheektowaga, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wonderful friendly staff, rooms were very well cleaned, great snack area. Breakfast in AM was free - good variety of items but not too much of a taste to the eggs, maybe it was a bad day, not sure. Id stay here again in a heartbeat. Love a clean hotel and by far this one was very clean!

Room Tip: Very nice place with very friendly staff - also ver, very clean room. I cannot complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, April 19, 2013
A special thank you from the team here at the Holiday Inn Express for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that our cleanliness and service was up to your expectations. Also that your enjoyed our breakfast choices. We are excited you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my three kids during a trip to Splash Lagoon. This was one happy mom. It's attached to the water park so that gave this hotel big points. We had a "kids suite" room which both kids and parents loved. They had their own little space separated by a partition...their own tv and bunk beds. Bathroom was better than expected as well. Super clean and wasn't expecting the jacuzzi tub so another nice surprise. Also had a small area with extra sink, mini fridge and microwave which again is great when you have kids traveling with you. The free breakfast in the morning was better than the average hotel. Staff was nice. Took advantage of the late check-out as well which....do I really have to say it....it's super awesome when you have kids !!! :)
We already booked another overnight trip here for May '13 because the experience was so great and the packages the water park offers online for this hotel are great and so cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with your last visit with us here at the Holiday Inn Express. We are glad to hear that your experience was a positive one. The kids suite is most certainly a great room to have with kids, for it is has so many special features for them. We strive for our guests to have a memorable experience and are very delighted we achieved this with your stay. We are very happy to accommodate you and your family in the future. We also hope your experience in Erie was stellar one. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
1,657 helpful votes 1,657 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Splash Lagoon indoor water park it is attached to the hotel !
great place for familys with kids, thetre is a lot for kids to do, the area is great for resturaunts shopping etc,great service great staff at the hotel and at Splash Lagoon,
we love this place !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, April 12, 2013
A very big thank you from myself and the team here at the Holiday Inn Express in Erie. I am very happy to hear that our team gave you great service. We are truly in a fantastic place for everyone's needs as far as shopping entertainment and restaurants, everything being right here on Peach Street makes it quite easy to enjoy. We would love to welcome you back again and hope to see you and your family for your next trip to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Address: 8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.