We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs some TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 35 hotels in Erie
Strongsville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“needs some TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We opted to stay here while visiting the Splash Lagoon indoor water-park because it is attached to the water-park and had a bunk bed area for the kiddos. We have stayed at Holiday inn's before so were surprised when this room was far below our expectations. The room was in need of some serious TLC. There were stains on the furniture, the carpet was bubbling all over, the wallpaper was tearing off the walls, and the wood structure that made up the kids area looked as if it might fall at any moment. The breakfast that was provided in the morning was decent but the cafeteria area itself was disgusting. From the minute you walked into the area your were sticking to the floor. The night before when we walked by there were still dishes stacked up from the previous morning. ICK! Although we enjoyed ourselves at the water-park we would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: we had the kid suite with bunk beds....kids loved having "their own space" but the bunks a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Our team here at the Holiday Inn Express would first like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide superior accommodations. In this regard, our team would like to apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. Rest assured that all of the points you raised in your review will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. In the very near future we will be doing upgrades to the property and would love to have you and your family return to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    30
    20
    16
See reviews for
112
25
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

If you're planning a trip to the Splash Lagoon in Erie, this is a great choice for hotel. This year's spring break was extremely cold, so it was a big advantage to be housed within the Lagoon complex - no need to go outside.

Our family stayed in one of the suites, which is equipped with a full kitchen (including dishwasher). The bedroom is separate from the living room, so you can close the door and let the kids get to sleep. Electric fireplace in the living room and a pull-out couch that provides an extra bed. Flat screen TV's in both rooms. Full bathroom with tub and shower, all very clean.

We were impressed by the friendly attitude of the staff, and felt very satisfied with our stay. It's our first experience with Holiday Inn Express, but it certainly won't be our last.

2 Thumbs up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We are most pleased to read your review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Erie. Thank you so much for your feed back for we strive to deliver excellence in all that we do. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express as well as Splash Lagoon. A perfect time to escape the cold weather that fell upon us during our spring break this year, 84 degrees is most certainly more appealing than snow :) There is no better motivator for our team than seeing a guest returning to the hotel! We look forward to being of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I recently travelled there with my family for a night. We experienced a problem in regards to reservations, where I was charged improperly...the General Manager helped me settle the issue as well as upgraded my family of 4 to a beautiful suite with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Just beautiful and very nice of her. Thank you for a pleasent stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write your kind words about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express! I am over the moon that you and your family enjoyed yourselves so very much. I will bring these positive words back to our team here. We truly hope to see you again on your next visit to the Erie area. Consider us a home away from home :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed here with my family to learn that this hotel did not meet expectations. The rooms were dirty, smelled of smoke in a non-smoking room. The floors were so dirty I wouldn't let my dog sleep in the floor. Had to change hotels and stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn for half the price. Water Park Great Hotel us awful!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns about your recent experience at the Holiday Inn Express. I would like to extend my apologies for your less then pleasant time you had with our property. I have taken note of all your valuable comments and they will be addressed accordingly. We take all reviews, both positive and negative, very seriously and your feedback will help us improve on our service for your next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed there with my daughters and grand daughters just to have "Girls time". We stayed in one of their studio suites which also was handicapped accessible. The room was very open, spacious, and very clean. The bathroom had a tub and shower, a shower chair was also there. Jacuzzi in the main room. 2 queen beds, and 2 couches that turned into beds. It comfortably accommodated 5 adults and 3 children. The hotel has access to Splash Lagoon which was great not to have to outside with bathing suits. The arcade had a "pajama party" which the girls had a ball. There was many families staying there, so the continental breakfast in the morning really had the staff hopping to keep up. Staff from desk on were extremely helpful filling our needs for extra towels, etc. Would I stay here again? Hell yeah! My family cant wait ti go back. My only complaint...needs more parking spaces

Room Tip: Room 118.. handicapp accessible.. on the first floor.. not far from the front desk and dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Our studio suites are most certainly the best for events such as a "girls night", spacious and sounds as though very accomodating for your family. We would love to help in hosting the next trip that you and your family plan on making to Erie area. We strive for our guests to have a positive experience and are delighted we had achieved this with your trip. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Check in was quick and smooth. No issues on our stay. Staff was accommodating and all our request was met. Free breakfast was appreciated. Access to water park from within the hotel. Ask for higher floors for a good view. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Non smoking room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
On behalf of myself and my team we are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We hope to see you and your family again soon. I would love to help in any future plans you may have in comming to the Erie area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

First, I would not stay at this hotel again and I am a very loyal IHG Platinum member. But the hotel is quite a bit dated compared to HI Express in my opinion and it likely shows a bit more wear and tear since it is connected to a water park.

I stayed in rooms 423 and 523, both rooms had two beds. So out of 4 beds, I would say all mattresses were pretty worn and inconsistent. I also thought the hotel in general and in the rooms were not as clean as other HI Express properties.

The staff/service after my stay was great (I had to call to fix a minor issues), but during the stay and during check-in there was very little over the top customer service.

In my opinion it is a 2 star average Holiday Inn Express. I will probably would stay at the hotel again, but if another IHG property opened in Erie that is for sure where I would stay.

Like other reviews, my room was not clean. Found hair in both and room was simply worn down.

Room Tip: A different hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would first like to thank you for taking time to write your review from your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express in Erie. I would also like to extend my apologies for inconsistency you had found with our property. I would like you to know your concerns are not taken lightly and we take these reviews very seriously. As we strive to make our service top notch, reviews such as yours are taken back to our team in efforts that situations like this do not occur again. Also in the near future we will be making some updates in the rooms. As a valued customer of the IHG brand we hope that in your travels you would consider giving us another chance. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Address: 8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.