We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Fredonia, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEKEND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed there with my daughters and grand daughters just to have "Girls time". We stayed in one of their studio suites which also was handicapped accessible. The room was very open, spacious, and very clean. The bathroom had a tub and shower, a shower chair was also there. Jacuzzi in the main room. 2 queen beds, and 2 couches that turned into beds. It comfortably accommodated 5 adults and 3 children. The hotel has access to Splash Lagoon which was great not to have to outside with bathing suits. The arcade had a "pajama party" which the girls had a ball. There was many families staying there, so the continental breakfast in the morning really had the staff hopping to keep up. Staff from desk on were extremely helpful filling our needs for extra towels, etc. Would I stay here again? Hell yeah! My family cant wait ti go back. My only complaint...needs more parking spaces

Room Tip: Room 118.. handicapp accessible.. on the first floor.. not far from the front desk and dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express. We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience with us. Our studio suites are most certainly the best for events such as a "girls night", spacious and sounds as though very accomodating for your family. We would love to help in hosting the next trip that you and your family plan on making to Erie area. We strive for our guests to have a positive experience and are delighted we had achieved this with your trip. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    71
    31
    25
    17
See reviews for
123
27
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Check in was quick and smooth. No issues on our stay. Staff was accommodating and all our request was met. Free breakfast was appreciated. Access to water park from within the hotel. Ask for higher floors for a good view. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Non smoking room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
On behalf of myself and my team we are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We hope to see you and your family again soon. I would love to help in any future plans you may have in comming to the Erie area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

First, I would not stay at this hotel again and I am a very loyal IHG Platinum member. But the hotel is quite a bit dated compared to HI Express in my opinion and it likely shows a bit more wear and tear since it is connected to a water park.

I stayed in rooms 423 and 523, both rooms had two beds. So out of 4 beds, I would say all mattresses were pretty worn and inconsistent. I also thought the hotel in general and in the rooms were not as clean as other HI Express properties.

The staff/service after my stay was great (I had to call to fix a minor issues), but during the stay and during check-in there was very little over the top customer service.

In my opinion it is a 2 star average Holiday Inn Express. I will probably would stay at the hotel again, but if another IHG property opened in Erie that is for sure where I would stay.

Like other reviews, my room was not clean. Found hair in both and room was simply worn down.

Room Tip: A different hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karly M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would first like to thank you for taking time to write your review from your stay with us at Holiday Inn Express in Erie. I would also like to extend my apologies for inconsistency you had found with our property. I would like you to know your concerns are not taken lightly and we take these reviews very seriously. As we strive to make our service top notch, reviews such as yours are taken back to our team in efforts that situations like this do not occur again. Also in the near future we will be making some updates in the rooms. As a valued customer of the IHG brand we hope that in your travels you would consider giving us another chance. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is our 2nd time staying at splash lagoon.

The BAD: hotel staff never seems friendly and the breakfast is a complete disaster in the mornings both times. . not enough food. . plates or seats.

The waterpark is cold. . we've been to Kalahari multiple times and is MUCH MUCH warmer inside the park. Part of the reason we like Kalahari better.

The GOOD: We love the waterpark. .our son is 3 and is very big for his age. He loves that he does not have to wear a lifejacket on the slides. He has no fear and goes down every slide and loves it. A major reason why we chose Splash Lagoon over Kalahari the last two times. . only down fall is the temp. it is no way 80 in there. Lines are always short and or fast moving. The employees inside the park are very helpful and polite.

The other thing is we found dirty socks and crumbs in our sons bunk beds. . it was gross we complained to the front desk they really didnt care - they said they would send someone to change the bedding and never did. . our son slept in our bed that night bc it was gross in his. I feel pretty let down on the customer service at the hotels. We will not be coming back due to this. We will try Great Wolf Lodge or go back to Kalahari next time. The hotel situation kills Splash Lagoon for our family. At Kalahari you feel like you are more on a resort and the hotel staff is much more friendly. We even called back after we checked out to complain and the front desk said they would have the manager contact us. . still nothing almost 2 weeks later.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear BuckeyeGirly,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our waterpark.

However,We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff and housekeeping as well as the poor breakfast selection. We will address this and I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We decided to stay here as a package with the water park and based on some poor reviews from the other nearby hotels. I decided to get the kids suite with a bunk bed and a jucuzzi tub. Really not worth the money because we spent all day in the water and nobody even used the gigantic jacuzzi. I would recommend the cheapest room available since your basically sleeping there and that's it. Check in 4, Out at 11 and since the water park stays open til 9 theres not much time or energy left to enjoy the room. Everything seemed cleaned, plenty of towels, sturdy bunk beds. A king bed would have been nice since I was spending $330 for one night( which included water park passes) The breakfast food was great, but eating area was a little crowded and noisy. There were a few business type people eating as well and they seemed frustrated with all the kids running around and the line to get some coffee.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rented 2 room suite for my family of 7.cost approx. $675 for one Sat. night. check in took over 20 min. and key did not work first time. Room was not vacuumed,hair on bathroom floor and in tub,paint peeling on ceiling(rm 328).Hallways had large stains everywhere.Now the bad part.Rented a locker on Sat. for some small items.Cost of $15. $5 for locker and a deposit of $10.On Sunday I tried to return key for my deposit.(also I was not supposed to keep the key over night.And I only kept it for the convenience of not having to go through the process again.Which was not posted anywhere or was it stated.) I was told at this time I needed my receipt.I was not told to keep it or I would have!So now they will not refund my deposit....ok it's only $10 but I still have the key which they wanted.I still have the key.Must be cheaper to repair,then to have me give up the key. Water park was nice,and staff at park, just ok. Highlight of the whole trip was breakfast and leaving.Sorry to say we wont be returning until I receive an apology.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana, pa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife, two children and I stayed one night. Check in was great. The girl at the front desk was excellant. The room was spacious and very clean. Splash lagoon was attached to the hotel and was a short walk. The continental breakfast was very good. I would stay here again. Don't go to Quaker State and Lube. Food was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township)

Address: 8101 Peach Street, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to go to a place where your just steps away from a water park attraction? Want the perfect place to spend the day without having to drive anywhere? Then the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Erie, PA is the place to be. We are connected to Splash Lagoon Indoor Water Park and Resort offering 77,000 square feet of continuous indoor water fun. The resort also featureng an a huge video arcade and are adjacent to Laser Tag Arena. All rooms are spacious suites offering 1 or 2 queen beds, a 2 person whirlpool tub, wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, the children will enjoy the 27' cable TV offering pay per view movies, and a sofa sleeper. Hotel features include complimentary hot breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning featuring the world s best tasting cinnamon roll. We have added to this great hotel 30 new and exciting rooms, some that have small kitchenettes, fireplaces, and flat screen TV's. Come visit Erie, PA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We are completely non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Erie (Summit Township)
Holiday Inn Express Erie
Holiday Inn Erie
Summit Erie
Erie Holiday Inn
Erie Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Erie (Summit Township), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.