We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8040 Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Getzville, Ny
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Good, the Bad, the Ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First the Good....great location, right off the thruway, off Peach Street, hard-working women at the breakfast station, yummy fruit and other selections, comfortable bed, nice front desk young man named Zack. The Bad....horrible Internet service, neither remotes worked as they should, stations don't match the guide. Now the Ugly...dirty walls in the room, grime in the corners, musty, mildew smell when we first entered our room, hotel needs some TLC. We used our rewards points to end our vacation on a high note. We had a nice suite, but if I had paid for this room, I would be demanding an adjustment on the high price they were asking.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the ice machine and elevator to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    46
    52
    47
See reviews for
137
63
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here with my 14 yr old son and 11 yr old daughter who were participating in a soccer tournament in Edinboro. The hotel staff were very nice, the room was clean and included a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker with coffee and tea samples, hair dryer, ironingboard, iron and toiletries. The continental breakfast was kept well stocked and the employee there was super friendly. Only complaint would be that the pool water was very cold. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brampton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently returned from a soccer tournament and checked into the hotel and found the rooms to be clean ,the staff to be courteous, the area had great restaurants, and the hotel was close to the highway. The breakfast was very good as well. all in all a good hotel to stay at

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went for a weekend getaway. We had a great experience at this hotel the first time except for the hot tub was not working.

Second time around the hot tub was not working again. Staff were not as professional as I have experienced in the past. Something changed. It was not as welcoming or as clean as the first visit.

Gave this place a second chance. Not going for a third time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I were passing through Erie on our road trip to Cooperstown, and we chose to stay at the Country Inn & Suites. The hotel's location is superb--just off I-90 and Hwy 19, it's simple to get to the hotel (but away from the noise of the interstate) and then easy to drive into downtown Erie.

The staff at the front desk and in the breakfast room were the high-quality folks we have come to expect at Country Inn & Suites; Zach was especially helpful in orienting us to the city (we'd forgotten our map!) and restaurant possibilities.

Our room was on the small side but well-appointed (fridge, microwave, free wi-fi, etc) and quiet, and we slept well. The breakfast was great, as always--waffles, sausage, eggs, pastries, cereals, oatmeal, yogurt--and a perfect start to our morning's drive.

The fitness room had two treadmills and a recumbent bicycle, and no weight equipment. There is a pool which I saw a family enjoying.

The price was higher than other Country Inn & Suites we've stayed at, but that may be because Erie is a more expensive city.

Overall, this isn't a destination stop, but a worthwhile way-station on your way through the Great Lakes area.

Room Tip: The water pressure in our shower was fairly low; this may be because we were on the 3rd floor. Pres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky USA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked a room, paid for it and when I arrived learned it had been given away to another person. When I arrived the front desk person who botched my reservation acted like it was just too bad for me. Well thank goodness I can let everyone know that I was misled by inept staff who can't even block a room that has been bought and paid for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care Specialist at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. With regards to the issues you have highlighted regarding your reserved room may I assure you that I have discussed these issues with the hotel management team so they may be aware and take any remedial action necessary to ensure such issues do not reoccur. To discuss your concern further, please contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ontario
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for several nights as the shopping us good in this area. Stayed in a suite which was clean and quiet. Breakfast is good and near places to eat in the area for other meals. Noticed alot of our of state licence plates in the parking lot and this motel is cheaper to stay at compared to the Hampton Inn located next store. Liked tthe fast check in and free USA Today newspaper provided for free when staying here. No complains noted during our stayed here.

Room Tip: Located near a major highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA

Address: 8040 Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South, PA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.