We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8040 Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is very quiet even though the doors are thin. It is in a great location just off the hwy. with lots of restaurants nearby and a gas station next door for easy fill up. The beds are firm with duvets and they supply nice toiletries. The pool was warm and the hot tub was actually a bit too hot. The fitness room has a bike and 2 treadmills. The breakfast was very good and the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    45
    49
    46
See reviews for
128
61
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Country Inn & Suites after having to leave another motel in the area for noise difficulties. We were quite pleased with the Country Inn & Suites. We did experience some problems in room 318. The back of the bathroom door had a hole punched in it apparently from a domestic dispute that had occurred sometime earlier. A new door was on order. The toilet was loose on its’ floor mountings. It still worked but it would move under the guest. When we reported it the front desk called someone in to repair it. The repair people were waiting to get in when we checked out the next morning.
Other than those two things we totally enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation. The rooms are large and very clean. The breakfast was great. Much better than we have experienced at other places. The staff was polite and helpful. The kids used the pool and hot tub and said they were both clean and well maintained. It’s a good place to stay; five minutes from the mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights with two young children. The facilities were nice, the breakfast was much better than most free breakfasts (fresh waffles, eggs, bacon/sausage, oatmeal, cereal & pastry options, and more), and the staff members were very friendly (especially the breakfast attendant). We enjoyed the Indoor pool, hot tub, "lending library" (books available to borrow & bring back whenever we chose) and the free coffee & cookies, which were available all the time. It is right across the street from Splash Lagoon, and very close to malls & restaurants. No complaints at all about this visit. We would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times in the past few years and loved it. We visited Feb. 23, 2013 and were appalled at how worn everything has become. Needs a good updating...also we had a terrible night with neighbours that were LOUD and not at all thoughtful. Finally fell asleep at 1:30 am. Not very impressive especially for the money we spent.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We also understand how important a quiet environment is. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly or feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid-feb for one night. Staffs are friendly and rooms are spacious. It is a bit older than other Country Inn and suites though. Overall this is a very good choice if you're looking for a hotel suite in this area.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had never stayed at a Country Inn Suite before. The entrance has a very warm feel - Oak staircase, fireplace, library, cookies and coffee. The rooms were clean and nice too. like that this one is off of the main road which helps with the traffic noise. Very close to shopping and Splash Lagoon. I have stayed at a few other hotels in Erie and the road noise was an issue. The staff was super friendly. The pool guy talked to us and made sure the pool was well kept. It was a nice little pool and hot tub compared to most hotels. The soundproofing in this hotel was not too good. Our neighbors came in from Splash Lagoon at 11:00 and we could hear every word theywere saying, the hairdryer, shower, etc. until 1:00. The heater also sounded like a jet taking off in our room all night. This would have been a great hotel minus these two instances. The breakfast was great with quite a variety.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor on an end room to eleviate overheadnoise and minimize neighbor noise. 108 has a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this property on a "spur of the moment" trip to Splash Lagoon. Since it was MLK Day weekend, all the hotels attached to the waterpark were sold out. We have never been there before, so I mapped out where Country Inn and Suites was compared to the waterpark and it appeared close, so I booked it and got in the car to drive up.

The hotel is right down the street from Splash Lagoon - if weather had been nicer, we probably could've walked to the waterpark. Parking lot was large and I had no problems finding a spot. Lobby is nicely decorated and check-in was uneventful. We were asked if we wanted first or second floor room - selected second and took the staircase up to our room.

Had a two queen non-smoking. Room was clean and bathroom was find. Flat screen tv on a swivel made it easy to see from either bed or the desk. A mini-fridge and microwave were also present and made it nice since I was traveling by myself with two kids. Front desk called about 15 minutes after we got into the room to ensure that everything was ok - nice touch.

Pool and hottub were just ok. I've already mentioned this on a post-stay survey sent by the property manager and got a reply that they will work to address the suggestions. The lighting was dim and there's not enough seating. Towel quality is sub-par (thin and small) and the motor on the hottub was not sufficient for the size. These are all pretty picky items - but when you're traveling with kids, having a pool area is an important amenity.

Breakfast assortment was good. They also have cookies, fruit, and a coffee station available all day. For the price and location, this place is definitely a no-brainer vs. paying twice as much for a hotel attached to the waterpark.

Have a great trip! If you found this review helpful, please click the "helpful" link!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South

Address: 8040 Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.