We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Most” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8040 Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Erie
Charleroi, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better than Most”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had never stayed at a Country Inn Suite before. The entrance has a very warm feel - Oak staircase, fireplace, library, cookies and coffee. The rooms were clean and nice too. like that this one is off of the main road which helps with the traffic noise. Very close to shopping and Splash Lagoon. I have stayed at a few other hotels in Erie and the road noise was an issue. The staff was super friendly. The pool guy talked to us and made sure the pool was well kept. It was a nice little pool and hot tub compared to most hotels. The soundproofing in this hotel was not too good. Our neighbors came in from Splash Lagoon at 11:00 and we could hear every word theywere saying, the hairdryer, shower, etc. until 1:00. The heater also sounded like a jet taking off in our room all night. This would have been a great hotel minus these two instances. The breakfast was great with quite a variety.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor on an end room to eleviate overheadnoise and minimize neighbor noise. 108 has a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    37
    39
    36
See reviews for
101
47
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at this property on a "spur of the moment" trip to Splash Lagoon. Since it was MLK Day weekend, all the hotels attached to the waterpark were sold out. We have never been there before, so I mapped out where Country Inn and Suites was compared to the waterpark and it appeared close, so I booked it and got in the car to drive up.

The hotel is right down the street from Splash Lagoon - if weather had been nicer, we probably could've walked to the waterpark. Parking lot was large and I had no problems finding a spot. Lobby is nicely decorated and check-in was uneventful. We were asked if we wanted first or second floor room - selected second and took the staircase up to our room.

Had a two queen non-smoking. Room was clean and bathroom was find. Flat screen tv on a swivel made it easy to see from either bed or the desk. A mini-fridge and microwave were also present and made it nice since I was traveling by myself with two kids. Front desk called about 15 minutes after we got into the room to ensure that everything was ok - nice touch.

Pool and hottub were just ok. I've already mentioned this on a post-stay survey sent by the property manager and got a reply that they will work to address the suggestions. The lighting was dim and there's not enough seating. Towel quality is sub-par (thin and small) and the motor on the hottub was not sufficient for the size. These are all pretty picky items - but when you're traveling with kids, having a pool area is an important amenity.

Breakfast assortment was good. They also have cookies, fruit, and a coffee station available all day. For the price and location, this place is definitely a no-brainer vs. paying twice as much for a hotel attached to the waterpark.

Have a great trip! If you found this review helpful, please click the "helpful" link!

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The hotel is older than most Country Inn & Suites that I've stayed at, and shows more wear-and-tear. But the worst part was their 72-hour cancellation policy. All other Country Inn's that I've stayed at allowed you to cancel up to either 4 PM or 6 PM of the arrival day. A blizzard was predicted and I wanted to change my route (and therefore my hotel), but had to make the choice of losing my money or or driving in bad weather. They did say that I could change the reservation to another day without losing money, but couldn't cancel after changing it. Beware!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy H, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. I aplogize for the issues you experienced during your stay here. We take these very seriously here, and we will use this as a training tool for the front desk staff to avoid any future occurences from happening again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great Hotel, staff were fantastic, fitness centre had great equipment, great pool and hot tub,rooms were clean, beds comfortable, good TV stations, breakfast, best we have had in a long time lots of variety and the breakfast lady could not do enough to help. Front desk staff were very helpful.
Great location for the highway, lot of places to eat lot of gas stations and things to do for a family.

We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor, the lights are a little bright in the parking lot for groundfloor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Close to Shopping Mall, Restaurants, Close to Highway, only 45 minutes drive to Grove City Outlet Mall, Rooms were clean, good size, beds comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Continental Breakfast was great although the room was small. Please note Comfort Inn is across the road so this could cause some confusion when booking a hotel. Also this Country Inn appears to be better value for your dollar then the the Comfort Inn. We were able to save approx. $20.00 per night for the same room plus we were able to upgrade for a suite / King bed for no extra charge. Please note it appeared there was a lot of vacancies at mid-week(Dec.) at any hotel / motel in this area. So you have lots of choices to find a Good / Great place for great value. and the Country Inn was a good choice for us and we were able to get a better price then Expedia and Hotel.com.

Room Tip: When booking on a week-end and you want a quiet stay, ask front desk if any sports teams have booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for a night while passing through Erie. Check in was fast and the clerk was friendly.
The hotel could use a little cosmetic TLC, the hallway and room carpets are worn and dirty. The room its self could have used some updating and was not filthy, but not overly clean either. The bathroom was well stocked and fairly clean however the wallpaper was peeling and the popcorn ceiling was crumbling from a leak. The beds and pillows were comfortable and we did have a good nights sleep. The free breakfast was fresh and hot and the attendant was nice and helpful asking if there was anthing we needed.. Next time in Erie we will most likely spend a few more bucks and try another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My friend and I went to Erie shopping and we stayed at the Country Inn. Great location, close to everything, good size rooms, clean, beds were comfortable, breakfast was great. We stayed on a Wed and Thurs night. There wasn't that many people for breakfast the first morning but Fri morning was very busy so finding a seat for breakfast was difficult. The only complaint i would have would be the free internet wasn't the best so if you don't bring laptop or ipad with you then its something you wouldn't even care about. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice. We went to use the exercise room but it was being painted. Make sure you use your CAA/AAA to get a discount. I will be going back again :)
And go to the Golden Corral for dinner :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South

Address: 8040 Oliver Road, Erie, PA 16509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.