We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2084 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16565   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had 3 adults staying on a Sun night. The living area made it perfectly comfortable for everyone. We had planned on going to the water park, but ended up staying in the hotel pool and hot tub. What can you say....love the free breakfast. This was our second stay and won't be the last!

Room Tip: ask to be away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    90
    49
    16
    12
See reviews for
128
60
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Well to start with this was about our 4th visit to this hotel We arrived at 320 pm and was informed that our room was not ready, check in tim e is 3pm. We booked this room two months prior. We chose the 2br suite fully equiped kitchen two full baths and a fire place. The front desk clerk wanted to switch us to another suite a 2br and bath, we delined we wanted to 2br. She advised that she would take off that nights stay due to the room not being ready. At 520 pm we were advised that our room was ready and went to our suite. The suite was clean and freash. Once again we noticed that the living room furniture was old and in need of replacement When you sat on the couch and went to get up, it was like trying to get up from the floor.. Also the furniture was well worn, please replace???? We had another problem. The ice maker was not working. Hotel maint came and replace a part, but it took a good while for it to make ice. Oned improement we nothiced was in hskp. This time our room was refreshed everyday and Tamika our housekeeper did a excellnet job in making sure we were satisfied with the days refresh. I reccomend that you request Tamika if you do use this hotel, you can request a housekeeper for your stay. The real dissapointment was no JACUZZI . One report is waiting for a part another is just waithing to fill it in never to be used again. This is a important part of the hotel in our mind, relaxing after a day out and about. This hotel has a daily breakfast and a mgrs reception in the evening, differant meals everyday except Fri and Sat. Over all a good stay, The best we had at this hotel to date.

Room Tip: try to get a gound floor close to pool and breakfast service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I would have rated this very good but it is starting to appear slightly shabby. The rooms are quiet and the location is great, however, the hotel is in need of a little upgrade/updating. The inside oven was filthy & it seemed that the supplies were lacking. The staff that we had contact with were extremely pleasant and friendly. We really liked this hotel but may look elsewhere for our next trip to Erie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room and apologize for this experience. We work hard to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of our guests and apologize that we were unable to meet that expectation. I am working with our housekeeping staff to prevent this from happening in the future. I hope that if you travels bring you back to the area that you will consider staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hilton should be ashamed of themselves!! This hotel needs to be updated in every way. The mattresses are terrible, the kitchen chairs were broken and dangerous, the bedding had holes in it. The bathrooms was small and dated, and certainly not for a family of four to stay in. The garbage was NEVER emptied during our stay, and no towels were supplied when asked for extras.AC is noisy and dated, walls thin. It was a disappointment for what we paid for the Stay and Play rate for the Memorial Day tournament in Edinboro. Had we been able to move we would have. We stay in hotels at least 5-6 times a year for Soccer tournaments and this by far is the worst we ever stayed a and one of the most expensive per night. This place is in dire need of a refurb and Hilton needs to step it up to compete with like hotel chains. I will say it was very convenient but there are 2 other hotels right here. In my opinion go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. . We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location. Grocery stores, a lot of restaurants, shopping, and sight seeing is almost all on site. The rooms, however are in desperate need of updating. The bed was very comfortable. The water pressure is very good. The room is quite small though for a family. The kitchen fridge had a leak when we arrived. There was a pool of water on the floor which we had to clean up ourselves because when I called front desk about it, I was advised that this is normal for the fridge to do this. The walls and doors and kitchen cabinetry really need freshening up or replacing. The breakfast was good but the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed with the number of people going for breakfast. It showed. Overall, staying at the hotel was an o.k experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed at the Homewood Suites by Hilton in Erie for the past two nights. The Hotel is extremely easy to get to off of I-79, right next to the mall. I was very happy with the staff, their courtesy and professionalism is to be commended. The room was an average suite, nice kitchen, decent living room, comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The room is a few years older, but is well maintained. Breakfast was tasty, dinner was a very nice surprise. Best of all was the free beer with dinner. Very nice touch. I would recommend this to any business traveler, or family, as these rooms are very spacious and an affordable price point. My only caution is if you are not a smoker, don't accept a smoking room. I did, and it felt like I woke up have licked an ashtray in the morning. My guess is the occupant before me was a very heavy smoker, and it just didn't air out enough yet. I tried to switch rooms, but they were booked solid. A lesson learned!

Room Tip: 426 is smokey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We (my wife and I) have stayed in the area on several occasions as we have had family in school there. Our son in law graduated from Edinboro so we spent the weekend at the Homewood Suites. We have stayed in the Homewood Suites at other locations and had great experiences.

We were promptly greeted at the front desk (after tapping the bell on the checkin desk), signed the appropriate forms and were off to our room. As we walked down the hall, I grabbed a paper, something I really appreciate hotels passing out to their guests! We got to the elevator area and looked down to see the dirtiest, grimiest, filthy carpet . I was shocked. As we got to our room on the third floor it was obvious someone had smoked in our nonsmoking room but it was late and we decided not to go back downstairs.

The room as nice though more like a studio apartment than what the manager describes in one of his responses to another guest.

It was nicely appointed with everything one would want in a hotel room. Once again though we were disappointed with the housekeeping. The carpet in the bedroom area had two large red stains. I do hope it was koolade or something like that and not blood! *L*...The bathroom floor had a greasy stain that the housekeeper had missed as well.

We slept well, had a nice breakfast, and were off to enjoy our son in law's graduation. When we returned the room had been cleaned...except the red stains remained as did the greasy smear in the bathroom.

Didn't get to spend any time by the pool but it did look like a nice area.

I'm sure keeping a place like this clean is not an easy task, but I really expect more from the Hiltion Homewood Suites!

Room Tip: I didn't do very well with this...had a wall right outside my window...room 321. Pick another r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie

Address: 2084 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#10 Family Hotel in Erie
#12 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie is conveniently located just a few short miles from Eerie International Airport and Presque Isle State Park in Erie, Pennsylvania. Visit our hotel and enjoy our Mon-Thurs Welcome Home reception, free breakfast, 24-hour convenience shop and free high speed wired and wireless internet acess. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Hotel Erie
Homewood Suites Erie
Erie Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.