We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Business Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2084 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16565   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Business Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed at the Homewood Suites when I had to remain overnight in Erie for business. It was a last minute decision to stay here, but i am glad I did.

The hotel is in a good location near a mall, which provides many options for shopping and food, but not close enough for retail to interfere with the peace and quiet of the hotel.

I checked I nearly evening on a weeknight and was informed that they were serving dinner. Dinner was comprised of salad, chicken fingers, and pierogies. The food was average, but it was very nice option when you're working late and don't want to venture out once you get in.

The rooms are big and comfortable, and the surroundings are quiet. The bed was comfortable, allowing a good night sleep. The shower had good pressure and water temperature was good.

There was a pool, workout room and business center that all looked nice, but I did not use.

Breakfast was good, with many breakfast options. I myself had sausage, egg and a waffle - which were decent.

I would definitely stay again when I visit Erie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Erie Homewood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    82
    46
    12
    11
See reviews for
116
58
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staying there for business for 5 days. The hotel is clean and comfortable.
Hot tub is out of order, so that was a bummer. Pool seems clean, breakfast is decent, though the sausage always seemed luke warm at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Unfortunately- the hot tub is permentatly closed. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for the night on the way to shopping in Grove City. Location is perfect for shoppers, it's actually in the mall parking lot behind The MIll Creek Mall. If you key the address into your GPS it will take you only to the mall and it's difficult to see the hotel so that was a bit confusing. Room was great, clean and spacious with a nice size living room and full size kitchen including pots pans cutlerty etc. Staff were very pleasant and helpful for recommendations in the area. Hotel gives a $7 slot voucher for the casino which is only 11 minutes away. Bed wasn't the most comfortable but everything else was great so no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
The Erie Homewood Suites by Hilton is located within walking distance to the largest shopping mall in the area. Tax free clothing! Thank you for the review and we hope you are able to come back soon to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

this hotel was right beside the Millcreek Mall (on the same property) so would be great if you are a big shopper. We aren't but that was ok. The hotel staff were all very pleasant and the breakfast was an excellent way to start your day. Eggs, sausage, bagels, belgian waffles, yogurt and fresh fruit. The rooms were a little dated but very clean and spacious. The bed was very, very comfortable. DO NOT plan on taking a cab anywhere as it is too far away from town and there is only one cab company. It took 45 min (both ways) to get a cab to go 10 min away. Frustrating but we made the best of it. Overall I would recommend this hotel to a shopper as it is very close to all shopping and many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are in the heart of Erie shopping! No tax on clothing is a big draw for out of state guests. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the staff here is wonderful!!! the room was clean and smelled good.just cant say enough about how the staff goes out of their way to be helpful.i really enjoyed my stay here would reccomend it to anyone that wants a nice place to stay with friendly staff and convienient to shopping!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When booking a hotel room, one of my "must haves" is a sauna and indoor pool...the pool for the kiddos, the sauna for the grown ups. So when I booked this hotel, I checked the online list of amenities as well as the photos just to be sure. There was, indeed a sauna. It was covered by a blue tarp with yellow caution tape. Sigh. The pool itself was a rectangle, about 15x10, almost the smallest I've ever seen, but not quite. It was only 3.5 feet deep at it deepest point, which I actually liked, having small children with daring natures.

The room, itself, was a very good value for the money, as it included a full sized fridge, microwave, 2 burner cooktop, dishwasher and plates, cups and eating/cooking utensils.

But lets go back to the pool. There were no clean pool towels, only a hamper of dirty ones. We were assured that clean towels were "on the way". So we got into the pool. An hour later (and a phone call to the front desk) we were still waiting for those towels. I finally got tired of waiting and just walked, soaking wet, to the room.

Oh...the room. Well, as I said, it was a good value for the size. It also looked clean when we first arrived. Countertops wiped off, floor vacuumed, etc. But upon closer inspection, the cleaning was "surface cleaning" only. There were old coffee drips on the white coffee maker and white dishwasher (that should have been easily seen by the cleaning crew); there was dust and grime on the wooden chairs and tables; and some type of brown powder on the cover of the 3-ring information binder all hotels leave out for your perusal. Additionally, the laminated pages of that binder were stuck together with dried syrup...or something.

Our hotel room looked out over I-90, and the traffic was loud, and constant, all night. I was awakened about 2 am by a horrible, loud (but low) vibrating hum. It was the heating system in our room. When I turned it off, the hum went away.

The breakfast in the morning was the usually standard "hot & cold" continental breakfast fare, no better, no worse.

But back to the pool....my husband took the kids out for another swim the next morning. He said the pool was filled with all sorts of debris (bobby pins, a clump of hair, bits and pieces of other odditites)...and, you guessed it....NO TOWELS! He had to walk to the front desk where they were, apparently, doling out pool towels at their discretion.

Overall, with no sauna, no pool towels, a dirty pool, dirty room, all night traffic noise, and the twilight-zone "hum from H____"...it was a rather disappointing hotel stay.

We probably will not stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not overlooking the highway. We stayed in room #400...don't know if the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It is our goal to provide only the highest level of service for all of our guests. I apologize that you that we fell short of that goal. The details of the stay allow us to assess the services we are providing and make us aware of oopportunities for improvement. We are very happy you stayed with us and we hope you will come back to try us again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great rooms, love having the sep. living room from the bedroom. Ice maker in the standard sized fridge was helpful too. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was a nice added bonus lots of fresh coffee and fruit too. My husband loved making his own waffles.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ErieHomewood, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie

Address: 2084 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
#10 Business Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie is conveniently located just a few short miles from Eerie International Airport and Presque Isle State Park in Erie, Pennsylvania. Visit our hotel and enjoy our Mon-Thurs Welcome Home reception, free breakfast, 24-hour convenience shop and free high speed wired and wireless internet acess. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Hotel Erie
Homewood Suites Erie
Erie Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.