We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad place, easy location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Erie

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2082 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 37 hotels in Erie
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not bad place, easy location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Typical Fairfield Suites. Standard breakfast although it was very neat and clean and she was diligient about keeping it tidy even with a full crowd at breakfast. Front dest staff is very nice and helpful. Great location in the mall annex area. Carpets in halls could use a good steam cleaning. Otherwise, nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay, and that our staff did a good job of taking care of your needs. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    43
    30
    19
    6
See reviews for
64
22
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

I write this because I see there is another Fairfield promo thru Marriott that I will not be participating in. Erie pa is one of the hardest markets for me to book a hotel at for my buisness. After watching this property go from my favorite to one of the worst in 1-1/2 years, i decided I will never book with this property. After checking into this hotel this past winter, I witnesses the manager and staff create a situation with a guest on their way to their vehicle. They continued to trash this guest with no reguard of me being on computer in lobby. They let the situation get so out of control that the local police needed to be called. The person just wanted a reciept for the money they were not refunded from hotels website. Very strange, spooky & tacky situation. Were these people to leave with no record of their refund? Now fo. My incident in April, come off the highway, register for my room, get keys and leave to make dinner reservation. I go into room for first time, see room with stain on chair and room not cleaned. I assumed I had been checked into someone elses room. Refused to move room & paid double. Unprofessional staff, manager has tattoos showing & uncooperative desk staff. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
I am truly sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience while you stayed with us. I appreciate your taking the time to write a review; feedback is very important to us and we strive to provide the highest possible level of service to our guests. I am sorry that you were witness to a situation such as you described; unfortunately we do occasionally have incidents at the hotel that we are unable to predict or prevent. While we do our best to exercise discretion in these extreme cases, it is not always possible to do so.
As far as the issues encountered during you April stay, I apologize that our housekeeping service was substandard upon entering your room. I would encourage you to contact me directly so that we could discuss the remainder of the items in your review, as I would like to get further clarification and work toward solving the problem. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have stayed here a few times recently and each time has been fine. Rooms are clean comfortable with a nice easy chair. Plenty of outlets for plugging in electronics, and nice new flat screens. Breakfast has nice options, with fresh fruits, cereals, breads and breakfast sandwiches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your stay with us at the Fairfield Inn. We're delighted to hear that you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed all of our amenities. We appreciate having you as our guest and look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, being one of two Marriott properties not sold out. If you like dirty rooms with browning wallpaper, and musty hallway smells, this is the place for you. Worse, the internet was so slow, that I actually had to leave the hotel to find an alternative internet connection so that I could actually get some work done. If I planned to stay any longer than one day, I would have moved to another property. This hotel is in serious need of renovations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. We do apologize for the experience you had. Your feedback is taken very seriously and will be used to improve our operation. We thank you for choosing Marriott and assure you this is not representative of what you should expect. If you find yourselves returning to the Erie area, I ask that you please contact me to handle your reservations.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just got back from an overnight stay in erie. The staff is exceptional and very friendly. Be sure to ask for the $7 casino credit if you're planning on stopping by erie downs (its free..). The room was very lean and comfortable.

The pool however is very small (20ftx10ft), very cold, not too clean and at the deepest point it's 3.5ft deep. We found the pictures to be very misleading :(. There is also no hot tub .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the Fairfield Inn. We are delighted to hear that our clean and comfortable rooms and friendly staff met your expectations. I am sorry to hear that the pool area left you disappointed, especially regarding the water temperature. We do strive to maintain a consistent pool temperature that is comfortable for everyone. I hope that you plan to visit us when you return to Erie. Thank you again for writing.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I'm shocked to see such positive reviews for this hotel. To have Marriott associated to its name clearly reflects it's franchised set up with little quality control. The reality is I have been a Premier Platinum elite member in the past - a top 1% tier of the Marriott customer base, and Bill and his family would do well to get their name off this underinvested, poor service, and poorly maintained hotel. We checked in for 6 nights, but left after two nights. Primarily as a result of two rude, unhelpful, and definitely not Marriott quality front desk staff. The lovely lady who supports breakfast should not feel aggrieved because she understands good service and took note of the fact that we were here in Erie due to my wife's grandmother's funeral. As a leading Director of Sales for some of the largest hotels in London, and whose career includes Marriott, she was particularly shocked at this hotel, especially given she helped open the hotel over ten years ago. We have travelled to hundreds of hotels in the world and this was one of our poorer experiences. What you may ask? It was the little things, it often is but for a basic hotel chain, it's these things that need to be done well...

- hairs on the walls, floors, toilet seats, sinks upon arrival
- room not serviced
- duvet cover was two sheets
- taste of water was strange
- towels were too small
- no hello's, or goodbyes
- no directions to the room
- no explanation of facilities
- upon asking for gym facilities we were told "you have no options around here"

We checked out, moved over to the TownPlace suites that sits behind the Fairfield building. As a newer hotel, with much better service, quality and overall maintenance, this hotel would be a much better location for your next stay in Erie.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience, and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you felt while you were here with us. Your review is greatly appreciated as it helps us to improve our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. We take the cleanliness and upkeep of our hotel very seriously and I will be sure to follow through with our team members to make sure that future guests do not have a similar experience. Your satisfaction is important to us. I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with the customer service that you deserve should you ever return to the area.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was required to stay here for a Hockey Tournament in March with about 60 young players (6-13) and their families. Compared to other Hotels I have stayed at for several other tournaments this was by far the least accommodating, to say the least. Considering the teams had rented almost the entire Hotel at a higher than normal price, on an otherwise uneventful weekend, this was odd. They actually made us sign a contract stating that they could charge an extra $250.00 fee if our kids were caught running in the hall.

I will not be staying there for the tournament next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn. I am sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. We take all feedback very seriously. Just to clarify one thing, the form that was filled out upon check in did not indicate that guests could be charged for running in the halls. It did specify that we are a 100% non-smoking hotel, and that a fee of $250 would be assessed in the event that a guest is found to be smoking anywhere inside the hotel (a policy that is enforced among all our guests, not just groups). I apologize that you felt we were not very accommodating. If you would like to contact me directly and further discuss the reasons you felt this way, I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Reddinger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Erie

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Fairfield Inn Erie Hotel
Fairfield Erie
Erie Fairfield
Erie Fairfield Inn
Address: 2082 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Erie 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.