We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Erie

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2082 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Erie
toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

I got back from a recent one night trip to Erie. The Fairfield inn was average, very clean, kinda small, but had all fairfield inn amenities such as new comfortable bedding etc.

The staff were not overly friendly except the woman who did the breakfast on Saturday morning.

This is suitable for the price which we paid 77 but regular for that night was 89.99

I would definately look at other hotels as there are many including a new one being built next to it.

The big-box store the review prior to mine mentioned that they said was empty is recently a new store not a name ive heard of though.
Next to millcreek, many shopping stores, and a hour from Grove city outlet mall.

I did not use the pool but it looked very nice, very busy though. The breakfast was very average with the make your own waffles but fresh. All in all, clean, nice room, decent free breakfast, newly renovated, but small lobby and hotel and staff that could smile more, overall i give this 4 out of 5 for this 2.5 star hotel.

PS the pictures on marriott.com are before the renovations and the matresses are very comfortable

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    45
    34
    21
    6
See reviews for
66
25
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

We booked this hotel for 2 reasons, it is located on the grounds of Millcreek mall, and because we got a rate on $112 on Priceline.

The hotel is in a great location, right off Peach Street (the road with all the shops, restaurants and things to do) and it is next to the mill in town. The area around the hotel is strange and odd. An empty big box mall sits on the far side of the hotel! It feels like a ghost town. I know its not the hotel's fault, but it ruins the first impression of the hotel.

When we arrived, we found the entire hotel lobby wrapped in plastic and the front desk area occupied by 4 people, 2 of whom were in uniforms the others wearing ball caps and jeans!!! NOT IMPRESSIVE! After I inquired about the condition of the lobby, I was informed that it was being remodled and the guys in caps are painters. Fair enough, but had we known the hotel would be wrapped in renolds wrap, we wouldn't have booked there.

Our room was clean, nice, good beds, warm. Bathroom was clean, and floor shined (even behind the door!). Hotel supplied shampoo, etc.

The indoor pool and hot tub is very nice, warm water, clean, and looked newer.

The next morning, the plastic wrap was down and the lobby was set up and ready for the guests who were paying to stay there, to finally have access to it. Not bad lobby, it is also where the free cold breakfast is served each morning.

The free breakfast in the morning was OVER at 9am!!! That is crazy as most hotels run it 'til at least 10 am. At any rate, the serving area was crowded with pushy people all reaching for that last donut. Not a big selection, you may be just better off doing breakfast at Bob Evans down the road.

There is no restaurant or bar at this hotel. There is a pub/bar in the strip mall next door.

I would say that the hotel seemed overpriced for what is was. I would think $89 would be a fair rate for this property.

  • Liked — next to the mall
  • Disliked — the plastic wrap lobby
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

I have stayed at the Fairfield for the past 4 weeks (M-F) for business and have found it to be excellent in nearly every respect. The only minor inconvenience was that they ran a little low on some of the continental breakfast bar items on two occasions. Otherwise, I could not be more satisfied with the hotel. Great staff, clean rooms, well maintained pool and hot tub. I would have to say that the experience of the most recent reviewers prior to my review must have been before some of the renovations were complete, because I have stayed in 3 different rooms, and never saw any difference in quality. The hotel seems essentially brand new, and the staff is clearly experienced and well trained in customer service.

Overall a very good experience for a moderately priced chain hotel.

  • Liked — Clean hotel, excellent staff
  • Disliked — Ran out of a few breakfast bar items
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We spent five days here with our five year old Grandson in August 2007, and were very disappoinded in the following areas.

1. Houskeeping was poor, never changed sheets, vacumning
was very poor, failed to supply drinking cups daily. Cleaning
carts placed in front of elavators. Spider webs on window.
2. The water in the pool was cold and water in hot tub was
dirty and only partially filled, unable to use.
3. The room cardkey had to be reactivated ever two days,
unable to enter the room.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegooddoctor71
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2007

For a hotel that was recently renovated, things sure are in a state of disarray. The free wireless Internet was down the entire time we were there. The pool and hot tub were also out of service when we arrived. Then they reopened. Then the hot tub was closed again a day later. The elevators are scary. We decided early on we'd take the stairs. They smell like smoke and are prone to sudden starts and stops. The hallways are a mess, as well. Not sure that the new carpeting has EVER been vacuumed. All that's a shame because the rooms are actually quite nice. Pretty much everything -- linens, furniture, flooring -- was new. No noise from adjacent rooms, either. The free breakfast is pretty lame ... the only hot item is the waffles you can make yourself. Unless, of course, you count the frozen Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches they offer. Seriously. Other offerings include pastries, cereal, fruit, coffee and juice. Locationwise, you're right next to a major mall and tons of big-box stores, as well as all the major highways. All in all, this is a decent property that could be a great property with a little more TLC.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel because we were taking advantage of the strong Canadian dollar to do some shopping in the US.

There is not a lot of hotels in Erie particularly around Peach Street area and most were fully booked on the weekend we were there.

The hotel is located on the ground of Millcreek Mall at the back next to a closed down retail box store but we did not know that and there was no sign for this hotel on Interchange road, so we had a hard time find the place.

Once we were there we found the hotel were under renovation, there was some paint smell in our room and the room numbers were hand written. The carpet in the hallway has also been cleaned recently because some of it are still wet. But this is only temporary as they are almost done with their renovation.

On the good side, the rooms are huge and they had a nice indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The breakfast has a lot of variety and you can make your own waffle. There are also coffee, tea and hot chocolate available throughout the day.

We might considered coming back because now we can find this hotel. It is close to all the retail stores we want and only an hour drive to the big Outlet Mall in Grove City.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

Newer hotel in an odd part of town (behind the Millcreek Mall next to an abandoned superstore). Whichever CEO approved these floorplans must have been sleeping. The halls are narrow & the elevator is stuck in an an alcove that is so narrow two people cannot walk next to each other let alone get in/out of the elevator easily. Our room on the 4th floor was clean and bright with new carpeting thruout. The limited continental breakfast was served in a crowded area that was not efficient to serve the large number of residents. Pool is small and the same one you see in most hotels these days. This hotel was inhabited by many sports players and families this weekend and was noisier than would have liked. The A/C fan was running constantly to try and drown out the hall noise. Because this is a fully non-smoking hotel all the smokers converge by the front entrance making exits/entrances awful.

  • Liked — queen sized beds in rooms
  • Disliked — in a really odd part of town stuck behind a mall near abandoned buildings
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Erie

Address: 2082 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Erie 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairfield Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Fairfield Erie
Erie Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.