We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double-booked” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Erie to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2082 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16506   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“double-booked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Got in at midnight from a long drive. Check-in took forever. Went to the room, keys didn't work. Went back to the desk for new keys. Back to the room to find some guy all pissed off I was trying to get into his room and woke him up because I was double booked. Back to the desk to finally get a room. Stayed here before but not one of their better moments.

Room Tip: One that's not double-booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with here at the Fairfield Inn in Erie. We would like to apologize for the situation you encountered on the night of your arrival. I am very sorry that you began your stay in this manner. We strive to exceed your expectations each and every time you stay with us. I would like the opportunity to remedy this situation for you, if you wouldn't mind contacting me directly. I do hope that the next time you are traveling through Erie you try our hotel again, so that we can provide you with the experience you have come to expect from a Marriott.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    39
    27
    9
See reviews for
75
30
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It seems that many of the earlier Fairfield Inns, built with both indoor and outdoor corridors, have been downgraded into other budget brand hotels and that the Fairfield brand was wilting away. Though not brand new, this is a larger, multi-story (I think five or six stories) hotel that I suppose is a newer breed of Fairfields, with all indoor corridors and an overall format similar to other limited service hotels within the Marriott family.

Unless shopping at the nearly adjacent mall is what your after (and it's just a rudimentary suburban mall), the location is nothing to write home about. It's several miles from Presque Isle in Erie (could be worse, but could be better) and while it's literally right along I-79, to access it, you must drive through the shopping complex and likely wait to turn left at a very long traffic signal. Next door to the hotel is a very odd indoor flea market of sorts located in what used to be some big box retail store.

While I'm sure this hotel can be had for well under $100 many nights of the year, it's shame what this and other hotel rooms in the area sell for on summer weekends. The room was big, had a comfortable bed, a good-size television and great WiFi; and the front desk staff was friendly and efficient enough, but under no circumstance was the room worth almost $200/night. While I realize that the market was dictating it, it's not like it was located with an ocean view, along a boardwalk or in some great downtown location where once could walk to fun places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night on business. Room and bathroom were clean and quiet! I was disappointed there was not fitness room in the hotel but all in all it was a nice stay. The provided breakfast was delish and the bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just what you would expect from a Mariott property-cleaninside and out - bedding excellent-pet friendly - close to Presque Isle and other attrations like Waldamer Park and shopping - breakfast was plentiful - beverages were always available to you day and night - pool clean and inviting

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfieldErie, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Erie, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to say such nice things about our hotel. It's so nice to hear such positive feedback. I hope you enjoyed yourself in Erie at our many great attractions around the area. I hope you stay with us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Dover
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

It was a very nice surprise after a long RIDE on our motorcycles from Jarvis, Ontario. Hotel is clean, well kept and pool is clean and refreshing. We arrived a bit late and they were waiting for us.
Too bad they filled in the hot tub though.
Continental breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Fairfield in Erie. The rooms are clean and the queen sized beds were comfortable. My son and his family also stayed here and they brought their dog with them. I found one of the few "better" hotels that allow pets..with a $ 25.00 per pet (not per night) fee. They have a nice grass area for the dogs. The hotel is located near Dick's Sporting store and you can walk to a few of the stores in the shopping complex. The breakfast was just waffles,, donuts, sweet rolls... but I understand they will be serving hot breakfasts to compete with the other hotels... this would be a big plus, as we went out for breakfast.
The hotel was close to restaurants and about 6 miles from the Presque Isle entrance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Ages: 26-64
Date: August 2012

Location: Great location...right next to Millcreek Mall, the highway and fabulous restaurants.

Rooms: We had two rooms with two queen beds. The rooms were a good size, clean and they both had fridges and one also had a microwave.

Staff: Fantastic...very friendly, quick check-in and very helpful.

I would stay here again...we got a great price and the location can't be beat!

Room Tip: We asked for a room on a higher floor because the hotel has parking on both sides which the rooms fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Erie

Address: 2082 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 16506
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Fairfield Erie
Erie Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.