We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good nights rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Erie to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7792 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Fayetteville, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good nights rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Courtyards have become a first choice while traveling. This hotel was very clean and the staff very courteous.

The room I stayed in was starting to show some wear however. The room was very clean and quiet with the exception of the HVAC unit which was really load when it came on.

Overall this hotel met my expectations for a Marriot hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICKI M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our property. We are very excited to share that we will be proceeding with some renovation items in early 2014. We realize that there are some areas showing wear and tear and this is the reason we will be pushing our renovation ahead of schedule a bit. I hope you will stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    50
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
48
39
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for a basketball tournament along with other parents and players. I was pleasantly surprised at the overall cleanliness and service. The room seemed clean and up to date. I liked that the hallways were well lit. It looked like the interior had been recently remodeled. The workers at the reception desk were friendly and helpful whenever I had a request (such as place for our group to eat, contact info for pizza place, more towels), but seemed often busy with customers so sometimes I had to wait. My family appreciated that there was a kiddie pool, hot tub, sauna, good-sized pool, and a fitness center. I was impressed with the higher-end pool furniture - comfortable and well-crafted. The hotel was conveniently close to our tournament at Family First Sports (only 1 minute or so away). We were also close to Krispy Kreme (hot and fresh glazed donuts!), Walmart (for forgotten items and snacks), and other restaurants. The rate was reasonable. Would stay there again. Our room had a balcony which would have been nice to use if the weather had been nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICKI M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our facility and our staff. It is always nice to hear postive feedfeed. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will choose the Courtyard by Marriott Erie for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I am actually writing this before I check so I don't forget to do it later. My purpose was to attend an event in conference hall attached to the hotel. My union booked the room for me so I really didn't have a choice. What a great surprise! Hubby and I had a whirlpool tub King room and it was very spacious and accommodating with a nice pullout couch and hidden refrigerator. Someone wrote about the counter space in another review but we were fine and put all of our items on the shelves provided. We did not use the little bistro however we used the pool and hot tub daily. This morning we almost panicked because the hot tub was taped off but the front desk staff directed us to walked around the hallway to the Hilton and we could use theirs...NICE!!!!! It was just as hot and comforting as Courtyard's. The staff from the room attendants to the front desk were very warm and friendly. Literally greeted us with a smile. We plan on coming back in the summer to go to Pesching State Park with the kids and would love to book here. it was a nice getaway for hubby and I!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICKI M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share these wonderful comments about our staff and facility. I am certainly going to share this review at our daily meeting. Positive comments like the ones you shared definately keep the staff motivated and proud.. I am looking forward to seeing you during your next visit to Erie. Again, thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rates here can be astronomical but the property is just adequate. The new lobby is great but the guest rooms are well worn and thats where you spend your time. I guess we expected more from this property. Other Marriot properties in the area are suite-style and deliver a better experience, including free breakfast. We would not choose to stay here again. Pick the Hilton Garden Inn which is adjacent to the Courtyard for a higher quality experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICKI M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our facility. We are very excited to share that we will be up and coming a renovation in the near future. The lobby was the first step of this beautiful project. Once this project is complete, I am sure you will find our rooms to be one of the best in the area. I can also understand your concerns with not providing a complimentary breakfast. This was a desicion from Marriott directly and that all Courtyard's would be switching over to the Bistro concept. Although the breakfast is not incuded, the food is fantastic and reasonably priced. We also added the touch of the Starbucks coffee as well. I hope that you will give us another chance in the future to make your stay a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating to our needs. Due to circumstances we required a late check out at he last minute and they had no issue in granting our request.
Well situated to the highway and shopping. Overall a great stay, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICKI M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about our facility and staff. We hope that you will chose to stay with us again on your next travels to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel looks nice but after check in went to use indoor pool, found it was closed for maintenance. Not told when we arrived and no compensation offered. This hotel does not offer an inclusive rate for breakfast only on weekend. Many other hotels in area offfer better deal for rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear jimbos60,

We appologize that you were not informed when you checked in that the pool was closed due to maintence repair. However we do have a partnering hotel that allowed us to use their pool during the time that ours was closed. We also do offer breakfast packages any day of the week that is included in the room rate. We are not sure how you reserved your room.

We wish to have you back in the future and encourage you to call and ask about our pool and breakfast packages.

Thank you for your response and review on tripadvisor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and kid friendly. My husband and I booked a trip at splash lagoon and unfortunately the Courtyard Marriott was booked so we decided to stay somewhere else and missed the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff isn't the friendliest, but it is clean and enjoyable to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear michellecinci,

We are very sorry that we were sold out during the time that you were in town. Please next time, give us a call earlier so we can get you in on a guaranteed reservation. We appreciate your comments and review on tripadvisor.com

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Erie

Address: 7792 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Erie Hotel Erie
Courtyard Erie
Erie Courtyard
Erie Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.