We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Erie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Erie to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Erie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7792 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shopping Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating to our needs. Due to circumstances we required a late check out at he last minute and they had no issue in granting our request.
Well situated to the highway and shopping. Overall a great stay, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VICKI M, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about our facility and staff. We hope that you will chose to stay with us again on your next travels to Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
36
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel looks nice but after check in went to use indoor pool, found it was closed for maintenance. Not told when we arrived and no compensation offered. This hotel does not offer an inclusive rate for breakfast only on weekend. Many other hotels in area offfer better deal for rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear jimbos60,

We appologize that you were not informed when you checked in that the pool was closed due to maintence repair. However we do have a partnering hotel that allowed us to use their pool during the time that ours was closed. We also do offer breakfast packages any day of the week that is included in the room rate. We are not sure how you reserved your room.

We wish to have you back in the future and encourage you to call and ask about our pool and breakfast packages.

Thank you for your response and review on tripadvisor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very clean and kid friendly. My husband and I booked a trip at splash lagoon and unfortunately the Courtyard Marriott was booked so we decided to stay somewhere else and missed the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff isn't the friendliest, but it is clean and enjoyable to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear michellecinci,

We are very sorry that we were sold out during the time that you were in town. Please next time, give us a call earlier so we can get you in on a guaranteed reservation. We appreciate your comments and review on tripadvisor.com

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I always try to look at the positive in any hotel I visit, however, I am unable to say one positive thing about my experience! Here are the facts: 1. There were no other rooms available in the area and it was a last minute "Mom's weekend", so I choked down the cost of $329.00 PLUS TAX FOR ONE NIGHT'S STAY! 2. The cable TV didn't work, in spite of two mechanical engineers working on it for over an hour. 3. By the time they were out of there it was late and my friend and I tried watching a movie on our computer and we got a scolding phone call from the front desk to "keep it down ladies". 4. Internet kept picking up the hotel next door and would not let me sign in requiring numerous calls to the front desk. 5. The room was dated, the furniture worn and nothing looked clean. 6. Finally, to add insult in injury, the bill included three (3) Market beverage charges that we did not make totally $6.50! They tried to ARGUE with me over it, as if I was a thief and a liar! Marriott should be embarrassed that their name is on this establishment, as it reflects very poorly on the chain.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by the good Marriott name. Rooms are run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear rinkrover,

On behalf of The Courtyard by Marriott in Erie, Pa, I would like to take this time to sincerely appologize for the experiences you may have encountered during your recent stay with us. Here at the Courtyard by Marriott we take pride in ensurring that each guest's stay is their best ever. The room renovation process is in place. We have completely the renovated the lobby. We completed the television upgrades in all of the rooms to 42 inch flatscreens. The next renovation process would be replacing the furniture in the rooms which is on track to be completed by the end of 2013. Once again, we appologize for the inconveniences that occurred. If any of this would to occur again, we prefer that you would speak with the manager on duty, who would be more than willing to accomodate you in any way possible. We hope that you visit us again and we correct it with a great stay.

Thanks again for your response, as it helps us better our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We travel to Erie several times a year and this is the first time I have stayed at the Courtyard. The Marriott chain is my preferred chain but normally prefer rooms with a kitchen but for some reason this hotel was $30 per night cheaper than the others so I thought we would try it (we needed two rooms). The lobby is very nicely decorated and the front desk service was great. The place is clean but the rooms are a bit dated and not great. The room itself is a good size but the bathroom is small and the shower was awful, it sprayed everywhere. No counter space in the bathroom, which stored the coffee maker that we couldn't move to the table as it was hardwired in! Our room had a fridge but our second room did not. Balcony is nice, but not all rooms have them either. Fire alarm beeped one time during the middle of the night on our first night and we all jumped out of bed. But it didn't keep going off and there was no smoke or anything so we all went back to bed. It was annoying. Beds are comfortable with lots of pillows which was nice. Flat screen tv was nice too. Location is great near highway, restaurants and shopping. Breakfast is not included but there is a restaurant in the lobby but it was pricey $25 for two of us and it wasn't that great. Probably will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Annnieee,

I would like to apologize in regards to the dated rooms you felt we have at the hotel. I will not dissagree with you one bit on your feelings of our hotel. We definetly appreciate all the positive feedback. I will mention that Ownership have been doing a fantastic job of getting the ball rolling with the process of our new renovation completed. We originally started the Courtyard refreshing business remodel about 1 year ago, beginning with the lobby which is complete and brand new. Second addition was converting all of the old 27' tube televisions to brand new 42' flat screens that are HD compatible. The third and final phase of the hotel remodel will be very soon. The rooms remodel. It does take time to fully complete a hotel renovation, especially through busy summer months. I assure you when the full remodel is complete, we will have that new sleek look everywhere, technology advanced and absolute comfort we strive to provide for every guest.

Thanks so much for the feedback,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Recently stayed here 3 nights for Son's wedding, which was next door at the Ambassador Center/Hemingway Ballroom. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds (2 queen room), helpful staff. Husband also liked easy on/off Interstate and that they had Starbucks coffee. Breakfast available for a fee in lobby area (which was very nice) until 9:30 am. Great that we could access the Ballroom via a couple of hallways and could relax between the Wedding and Reception in our room. My sister and her family also stayed and enjoyed the pool, although it was on the cool side. She had one issue with a leak in their bathroom and the management moved them immediately. Close to shopping mall and places to eat, although that road currently under construction so allow extra time from any hotel in the area. Did get a senior discount for the one weeknight of our 3 day stay. Little more $ than we usually pay on the weekend, but overall very happy with our stay and happy with the service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
midwestm0m ,

We were so glad to have you spend an unforgettable wedding weekend here on the Courtyard/Ambassador complex Erie, Pa. We thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. We welcome your family and you back anytime when back in the Erie area. Please don't hesitate to call the hotel directly to set up any reservations and our professional staff will do our best on getting you the best price available. Once again, we were glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the wedding event was a success!

Thanks again,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Located in back of the Millcreek Mall it is easy access to I-79 and to local attractions, including a convenient place to shop at the mall! Quiet and extremely clean. Pleasant staff. Enjoyed and will definitely return here on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMCY, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Roseburgeson S,

Thank you so much with your feedback on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate all good guest comments and wish you back soon to stay with us again in Erie!

Thanks Again,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Erie

Address: 7792 Peach St., Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Erie
#12 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Erie 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Erie Hotel Erie
Courtyard Erie
Erie Courtyard
Erie Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.