We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview on the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeview on the Lake
Save
You added Lakeview on the Lake to your Saves list
8696 East Lake Rd, Erie, PA 16511   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Erie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It is very nice to stay at a place where the owners (Kelly and Demaris) are right there to take care of your needs. These are two very hard working people and the property is a reflection of their hard work. It is very clean, attractive and well kept. We stayed in one of the mini cottages and other than the low shower being a bit of a challenge for my tall better half, it was very nice for the rate. We certainly enjoyed that beautiful sunset while sipping on a glass of local wine! It is nicely located between Erie and North East and the directions they provide for you to the attractions are very detailed and helpful. If we are ever that way again, you will see us again. Thank you for a nice stay.

Room Tip: Mini cottages are very private for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
thanks for the kind words. We both enjoyed meeting you guys and hope you can make it this way again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
48
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our 6th year staying at Lakeview on the lake! We absolutely love it. This is the most peaceful, relaxing place. Kelly and DeMaris(the owners) are wonderful hosts. They treat you with such kindness and respect. They make sure eveything is there you need; they truly make your vacation the perfect getaway. We love to wake up and drink our coffee overlooking the lake and watch the beautiful sunsets. Our son has a great time and never wants to leave. The grounds are well kept and rooms are clean, an absolutely beautiful place to stay. Lakeview is close to the winery's and the bayfront attractions. We recommend Lakeview to all our family and friends. Thanks again for our perfect getaway, see you next year! ~Nathan, Tesa and Devin

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I drove from Edmonton, Alberta through to Maxville, Ontario and stopped at this place along the way. I have way to many good things to say! The couple who owns this place are so wonderful, I stayed in one of the "motel" rooms on my first stay which was extremely clean and perfect for one or two people. The owners were so helpful with giving me ideas of places to eat, and visit while travelling alone. The view is unreal, I don't even have words for it. On my way back from Ontario, I had a friend doing the drive back home with me (to Edmonton) and this was my only MUST SEE for us to stop and stay at on the way. She absolutely LOVED it. We stayed in the RV trailer as there were no rooms left. I was a little hesitant at first, but it turned out being so much fun! It was SO spacious for the two of us, I ended up being happy that the RV was the only "room" left. I would definitely recommend it for a family or even for two people who travel with as much luggage as us.
The walk down to the lake is very steep and long, we only ended up doing it a couple of times, however they have chairs to sit in and watch the sunset, as well as provide wine glasses!
I do a lot of travelling, and can honestly say I have never been treated with such kindness from the owners of a hotel, nor have I stayed at a more beautiful place. I would recommend lakeview on the lake to couples, families, and anyone travelling solo.
Now trying to figure out when I can go back there! Thanks guys for the wonderful accommodations, hope to be back soon! =)

Morgan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly E, Owner at Lakeview on the Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Morgan,

thank you for the kind words. We really enjoyed meeting you and your friend, and wlcome you back this way any time you like. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just for back from our vacation at Lakeview on the Lake. We stayed in the Beach Glass Bungalow. It was great for our family of five. The kids had a blast from the great grounds with amazing views to the heated pool. The bungalow was clean and well stocked. We will fit sure be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigel, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Demaris and Kelly you have a real gem in the woods with a SPECTACULAR view. We had a small cottage and enjoyed every minute. Yes there where spider webs and chipmunks running over the porch but it's the woods and I would not expect less. We had a wonderful time and wish it could have been longer. Close enough to wine country an all the attractions Erie has to offer. We will definitely see you again.

Room Tip: Towels and bedding provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambridge, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lakeview has been our favorite place to stay in Erie. Kelly and Demaris (the owners) have always gone out of their way to make our visit pleasant and relaxing. The view of the lake and sunsets are spectacular! An added plus is that while waiting for the sunset we meet so many other nice people and spend a very enjoyable evening chatting with the other guests. There is also a wonderful pool, a place to play volleyball, a swing set and the office has games for guests to use. It is rare, in all the times we have stayed a Lakeview, that we have had to ask Kelly or Demaris to help us with a problem and if we did they immediately have taken care of any issue we may have had. Best little retreat we have ever stayed! Just got back home and are already are planning our next trip to Lakeview next month!

Room Tip: They have several types of rooms. We love "Annies Retreat" The "Glass House" an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The place truly is right on the lake and it is beautiful with the chairs looking towards the sunset. The concept is awesome, with the at-home feeling and the family atmosphere with the heated pool and play areas. The main issue we had was with the size of the mini cabin and the lack of security of our belongings. This place was much too small for 2 people; the bathroom was tiny and the shower went from scalding hot to freezing cold many times for both of us. We expected it to be at least the size of a hotel room but it was much smaller. The big problem was that every time we returned to our room, all the windows were open. While we respect that you trust all of your tenants, we felt that our belongings were left unsecured, after we took the time to lock all of the windows each time we left. Also, we were instructed to re-hang towels if we planned to reuse them. We did that. However, the used towels were removed and not replaced. We felt that we overpaid for what we received. We also agree with the other reviewer that we spent much more time than we anticipated driving back and forth to Erie and Presque Isle. We are sure that this would be a great location for those wanting to visit wine country and a nice place to bring a family but I think you need to pack your belongings and take them with you everywhere unless you can request that your windows remain closed and locked.

Room Tip: Do not choose a mini-cottage unless you just want to sleep there and don't have much to bring in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lakeview on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview on the Lake

Address: 8696 East Lake Rd, Erie, PA 16511
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Erie
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a romantic getaway or relaxing family vacation? Lakeview on the Lake offers a variety of clean comfortable rooms, mini-cottages, and suites. We are the only resort in Pennsylvania located on the shoreline of Lake Erie. Only 10 miles east of Erie in the heart of wine country, the smell of grape vineyards can be intoxicating. Many of our guests have been coming here for years, the serenity of our eight acres is what keeps them coming back. Descend the grand staircase and walk along the shoreline, take a dip in our outdoor heated pool, play badminton, bocce, volleyball, or simply relax and unwind in our Adirondack chairs as you enjoy the spectacular sunsets. Fresh lake air and peaceful surroundings are sure to restore and revive your spirit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakeview On The Lake Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakeview on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.