We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches at Presque Isle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presque Isle State Park

Presque Isle State Park
1 Peninsula Drive, Erie, PA 16505
(814) 833-7424
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Erie
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Ellwood City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beaches at Presque Isle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We drive up to Presque Isle at least once a week during the summer. We stay over night a few times. Nice beaches within driving distance for a day. I'm from the East Coast originally, there's much less pain driving up I79 to Erie for the day then most locations along the Atlantic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    160
    27
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great hiking biking relaxing all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Went to Tom Ridge center first. Interesting exhibits, nice gift shop, good food and clean restrooms. Kids had good time. Totally handicapped accessible. Disheartening to see couple older ladies taking indigenous seed pods and cuttings especially since clearly marked that plants weren't to be touched. Guess thieves can't read. Really cool handmade mechanical toys on display - interactive for kids and they all seemed to love the actions. Chilly day but picnic'd at beach #7 which had boardwalk. Went to old power plant/waterworks etc. there were family reunions etc in private rooms that had working fire places, bathrooms etc. plenty of well-thought-out play areas for all ages. Great birding near lagoon. Can rent bikes surreys near beach 7 as well. During summer there's lots of activity including beach volleyball but still very enjoyable during the quiet season. Just be sure to bring coats since wind lakeside can be strong. Miles of protected bike and hiking paths aren't quite so exposed thus not as cold. A great place to go whether with family friends or just quiet time for yourself

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Oxford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The park offers a beautiful drive and several beaches. There are areas to picnic and put in boats, kayaks, etc. Recommend renting a bike or taking your own to take advantage of the bike trail to get great views along the lake.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Presque Isle State Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The beach areas were not as nice as I expected. I had expected the area to be very nice because of the size. Biking was fair, not very well marked.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful "beach"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved visiting this state park- loved that it was free even more. Coming from NJ we were worried this "beach" wouldn't be up to our normal beach standards but we were surprised! Although there are certainly no waves like the jersey shore it was clean, peaceful and fun!

One must do is drive all the way around to the boat house alcove! It was the most adorable sight and I was ready to move right into those houses past beach #11.

Would certainly go back but as the drive from NJ is long, probably only if it is along our route somewhere else!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presque Isle State Park also viewed

 

Been to Presque Isle State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presque Isle State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.