We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2090 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 15454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this location after a long day of driving, so we arrived around 11 p.m.. The receptionists were all very friendly and helpful.
Upon inspection of our little room (which my boyfriend actually called "cute"), the only flaw we found was a dirty duvet cover which the receptionist kindly replaced and got which she apologized profusely.
The layout of our room (Queen size bed, corner room) was very thought-out. The closet for coats is actually extended so the other end of it is available in the washroom for hanging wet towels. Another TripAdvisor wrote that there is a table under the desk that can be used as a dinner table, and we saw that as well (didn't need it, but was a good tip).
Hand lotion is not provided in the washrooms but can be requested at the lobby (useful purse size for emergency dryness!) and had a strong citrus scent of Lemon Sage.
Washrooms were very clean.
Oh! Also, I don't know if all rooms had this, but they had an almost-full-size fridge, a full-size microwave, two flat-top burners, a coffee maker, and an oven, if you feel like saving on meals out. They were even thoughtful enough to include a basket of random cooking essentials, like salt and pepper shakers (with salt and pepper packets inside - you wouldn't want to use pre-filled shakers, now would you?!), Palmolive dish soap, that sort of thing. I don't remember exactly now, but I'll post the picture I took.
Breakfast was okay, like others mentioned it would be nicer with scrambled eggs/pancakes/bacon-type offering. Usual toast, English muffins, donuts, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal (though they did have a couple of unique options - cocoa krispies, strawberry special k). Coffee was very weak, but that might just be me. They need to get a pancake machine like we had the previous morning's hotel (Best Western Plus in Columbia, NC), which was amazing!! :)

Overall, tiny room, but with the CAA/AAA discount, it's worth it. Probably would prefer to rate this 3.5/5, but cleanliness is always the biggest factor for me so I'll boost it to a 4 ;)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark d, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
I'm so glad that you like our rooms, they are nice! I was also happy to here that was staff was able to take of your issues. I hope to meet you next time you are in Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    95
    36
    16
    7
See reviews for
98
55
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Well, figuratively speaking. I was stranded in Erie because of the "Big Chill" (wind chills at -35 were crazy for this Georgia girl!) first one night, then two, then three...
The staff was friendly, encouraging, and offered cheerful advice on how to get around in the frozen tundra. The breakfast hostess even helped me film a clip to send home to my kids- "how to make snow by throwing a cup of hot water in the air!"
I wish they had a hot breakfast, but they did include healthy choices like oatmeal and Greek yogurt, along with hard-boiled eggs. The coffee was good and plentiful and the room was spacious and comfy.
There was a large workspace so this would be good for any traveling business people, as well as families.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark d, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
We did have fun during our recent "deep freeze"! You need to visit us during the summer, we can have a cookout on our patio.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our second time staying here. We travel up for a gymnastics meet once a year and got lucky finding this gem. As breakfast is included with a good many of choices. Staff has always been pleasant, helpful and informative about the area. We will be back.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark d, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thanks for taking your time to right this review! We were glad to see you return to our property and look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Erie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. It was a very pleasant stay. There is a beautiful pool and hot tub that we made good use of during out stay at the hotel. Room was very clean and posh.

Would stay there if we visit Erie again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room, the pool and hot tub. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We booked this hotel for shopping in the Erie area. We were very pleasantly surprised. The Queen studio, while compact, appeared clean, in excellent condition and was well arranged to include a nice kitchen set-up (fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, sink, burners, dishes etc.). Hotel included indoor pool / hot tub, small exercise room and decent morning breakfast. While the address is on Interchange Road and it is on the outskirts of Millcreek Mall, the hotel is actually set well back from Interchange Road in a group with other hotels so we had to hunt a little bit to find it. (We noted afterwards that the Millcreek Mall directory map shows the hotel location relative to the mall stores.)

We would come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, and your tip about using the Millcreek Mall map to pinpoint our location is fantastic! Come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Staying there almost every week. This is just the best place to stay. Staff is wonderful. Located in the center of millcreek mall and restaurants. Clean and quite rooms, kitchen, pool, gym, free breakfast. What else? You name it. Holding back for my initial review. I found out the good part of this place after staying at other hotels. JUST ON THE SIDE NOTE- it would be great if they can provide on demand movies on TV.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am very happy to hear that you love our location and amenities. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I booked this hotel after staying at another Erie property for the past 10 years. What a wonderful surprise. From the check in to check out, we had a fantastic experience. The hotel is located very close to the Millcreek Mall and a wide variety of restaurants. Given its location, it is accessible to both Peach Street and the 1-79 S to head down to Grove City. The staff were hospitable, as they acknowledged us in the hallways and in and outside of the hotel. We had a studio king room which was a little tight; however, the full kitchen is very useful and full stocked after a full day of shopping. The hotel is very clean, including the pool. The breakfast provided various options, but as was mentioned in a previous review, some source of protein (i.e., sausage or bacon) would be an added benefit. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay on the main floor, especially if you are planning to shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to hear that you were able to utlize our fully equipped kitchen, and am glad to hear you loved our location. The Towneplace Suites brand is currently reviewing their standards for breakfast at Marriott HQ, so hopefully we will see some upgraded options in the future. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie

Address: 2090 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 15454
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Erie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Erie
#9 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Erie, PA, adjacent to the newly remodeled 170+ store Millcreek Mall Complex, is just the destination whether you need to stay one or one hundred nights! With our great long term stay rates you'll get more than you expected while paying less than you thought! The hotel is convenient to Hamot and St. Vincent Hospitals, Gannon and Mercyhurst Colleges and Edinboro and Penn State Behrend University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Towneplace Hotel Erie
Towneplace Suites Erie
Erie Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.