We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sizeable rooms, affordable price, modern interior - a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2090 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 15454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Sizeable rooms, affordable price, modern interior - a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We moved out from the Fairfield Inn just across the road from this property after a disappointing experience there. Whilst this is similar to Marriott's 'Residence Inn' offering, it had common features that you expect from a Marriott flagged property. The rooms are sizeable, with a full kitchen, although ours had an awful 'indian' food stench every time you walked in, and it was a shame we were provided a different room to the one which they had shown us when we first enquired. Also the bathroom walls and shower curtains had hairs on from previous guests, which isn't to the quality that I would expect. So those were the two minor negatives that take away from an overall positive experience.

Maureen, the very pleasant and well meaning sales manager, talks a lot and sometimes inappropriately reflecting her overtly conservative views at times when the recipients (eg. us) don't have time to chat. But I'd prefer this over rude, and uncaring staff members. Mark the GM, seemed to manage the front desk most of the time which seemed odd, but was very accommodating and helped with a view 'debit card' issues that we were having. (Remember - always hand a credit card in when checking in, which for some bizarre reason we forgot this time).

The breakfast is included and ends relatively early at 9am but has a variety of options including waffles, toast, muffins, cereals and yoghurts. Nothing fancy but not too bad. We did decide to head over to the nearby Starbucks on occasion though. There is a sizeable pool with hot tub at the property which is open till midnight and seemed very popular and was only busy with children at the weekends.

The local roads on the route into the property need fixing, as well as someone requesting the snow to be ploughed as it had been for all the neighbouring properties. It otherwise does feel, as it is located, a little out of the way from all the other buildings in this area of the Millcreek mall. Of course it is through being near the mall, that this hotel has the tag of being in a good location, and it genuinely is, enabling you to get access to most retail and dining options within this area of Erie.

So in summary, a good place if you're planning a low price visit to Erie, or are needing a place to stay for a longer period of time. It won't astound you, but it certainly won't let you down. All the little bits from the more reputable Marriott hotels feature, including free wifi and local calls,(and the less enticing, thin toilet paper and small bath towels) are what made this a much better and more comfortable stay than our time at the Fairfield which we didn't recommend.

Room Tip: See your room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. We know how hard it can be to travel under some circumstances and were glad to be of help to you. Offering the service and staff to take care of guests is the mission and we are delighted you were able to experience our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    93
    33
    15
    7
See reviews for
93
52
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent place, clean and tidy room with much space. Breakfast OK (cereal, yogurt, boiled egg, waffles).

I didn't have a car and wanted to take a walk after spending all day in meeting and then flying over to Erie, but not a good location for a walk or looking around. Only big stores and some few pubs nearby.

Great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for takinig the tije to give the TownePlace Suites such a nice review. Our hotel is the newest in Erie, PA and we love whe our guests enjoy their stay. This time of year does not showcase the foliage around the hotel. Please come back in the summer! We promise flowers and trees! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Staff was wonderful, the best I ever encountered at a hotel! Everyone was extremley nice and made you feel glad you was there! It felt more like an apartment building then a hotel. The room was spacious, included a small kitchen even a dishwasher! Bathroom was small however, and only one mirror in the bathroom. Beds were very comfortable. Pool was a little cool, however the hot tub was nice. Breakfast area was roomy, kept well stocked. We enjoyed the stay!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask....they are willing to help out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
What a great review of our hotel! We try to impress all of our guests and appreciate when they recognize our efforts. You are very kind to let us and others know we are achieving our goal of 100% happy guests! Please do come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castile, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We come to erie a few times a year and we usually stay at another hotel due to the conditions of this other hotel we looked for another. When calling and asking to see there rooms. Mark the general manager and sherry who was a desk clerk along with Maureen. I have never meet such nice people.They told us where the sales were gave us a tour.. of the whole hotel checked on us the whole stay. We had a light bulb go out there were up there in 5 min to replace it.

Just very nice.. and I would never stay anywhere else after this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for the rave review! We truly have a staff who likes what they do! And we love our hotel. We are soooo happy you had a fun trip! Tha is what staying in a hotel is all about! Hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Ontariio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Based on reviews, I booked a king bed suite. One of our first surprises was meeting a couple and their two dogs. It never occurred to us that dogs would be permitted in the hotel. I did check later and found the information on the Fact Sheet. Our next surprise was that the fitted sheet did not fit the bed. When we sat on the bed, both corners pulled up. When we woke up, we were on the mattress. Surprise number three was breakfast. The lady in charge of the breakfast was talking to a guest which is great BUT when both coffee pots and the waffle batter are empty, this is not acceptable. It was fine for one night but we will go elsewhere next time we are in Erie.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello and thank your for reviewing the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know how we are doing. TownePlace is an extended stay hotel and therefore we do allow pets in the hotel under 40 lbs. I am so sorry the sheets did not fit correctly! That is annoying! Our breakfast hostesses do get cought up with our guests. I have brought this to their attention and all said they will be more aware! Comments such as yours help us improve and delight our guests! On you next stay please call me and I will offfer you a night on the house to show how much we do care about your view of the hotel! Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff were very welcoming and responsive, they made my stay even more enjoyable. My room was spacious, equipped and attractive. The pool was clean and maintained. Breakfast was stocked and the selection was decent. Definitely recommend for business or family stays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive feedback from your recent stay with us. We truly enjoy our hotel and our guests! Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family was in need of multiple rooms for a funeral. Our sister made the arrangements for our entire family. This was a very difficult emotional time for all of us and Mark along with his staff went out of their way to accommodate us on a short notice. We arrived early on our check-in day and our rooms had been made available to us immediately. The lobby, lounge area, hallways and elevator were very clean. We had a room with two queen beds, a fully supplied kitchen area and bathroom. All areas of our room were very clean. We were not in need of the kitchen but we noticed the inside of the cabinets were very clean and stocked with all necessary items. The bathroom was not large and if I could find a fault it would be the lack of a mirror in an area other than the bathroom. My daughter and I could not get ready at the same time because there was only one area to do our hair and make-up. With our time constraint this caused a bit of a problem. The room was quiet. There were restaurants conveniently located. The staff were good at helping us with directions. Some of our family arrived for breakfast before the scheduled time but everything was made ready for them as quickly as possible. To Mark and his staff thank you for eliminating the stress of our accommodations during this very stressful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the TownePlace Suites. I appreciate all you have going on and was very happy we were able to help during a difficult time. Making an easy stay was our goal and my staff also wanted you all to feel comfortable. Mark Drummond/General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie

Address: 2090 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 15454
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Erie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Erie, PA, adjacent to the newly remodeled 170+ store Millcreek Mall Complex, is just the destination whether you need to stay one or one hundred nights! With our great long term stay rates you'll get more than you expected while paying less than you thought! The hotel is convenient to Hamot and St. Vincent Hospitals, Gannon and Mercyhurst Colleges and Edinboro and Penn State Behrend University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Towneplace Hotel Erie
Towneplace Suites Erie
Erie Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.