We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courteous Caring Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2090 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 15454   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Courteous Caring Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our family was in need of multiple rooms for a funeral. Our sister made the arrangements for our entire family. This was a very difficult emotional time for all of us and Mark along with his staff went out of their way to accommodate us on a short notice. We arrived early on our check-in day and our rooms had been made available to us immediately. The lobby, lounge area, hallways and elevator were very clean. We had a room with two queen beds, a fully supplied kitchen area and bathroom. All areas of our room were very clean. We were not in need of the kitchen but we noticed the inside of the cabinets were very clean and stocked with all necessary items. The bathroom was not large and if I could find a fault it would be the lack of a mirror in an area other than the bathroom. My daughter and I could not get ready at the same time because there was only one area to do our hair and make-up. With our time constraint this caused a bit of a problem. The room was quiet. There were restaurants conveniently located. The staff were good at helping us with directions. Some of our family arrived for breakfast before the scheduled time but everything was made ready for them as quickly as possible. To Mark and his staff thank you for eliminating the stress of our accommodations during this very stressful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the TownePlace Suites. I appreciate all you have going on and was very happy we were able to help during a difficult time. Making an easy stay was our goal and my staff also wanted you all to feel comfortable. Mark Drummond/General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    84
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
87
48
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
State College, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had four rooms at this property due to a funeral. Three were standard rooms and one suite. Mark, with whom I made the reservations, could not have been more accommodating. He even had two sets of directions to the funeral home printed for us, prior to arrival, so that when we checked in they handed us the pages.
The staff was kind and kept asking us if there was anything else they could do.
The rooms were clean - I am quite picky. The issue we had was that the noise from the 4th floor above could be heard in our room on the 3rd floor. I would ask for 4th floor room.
Some of us were up super early, and though the breakfast area was not open yet, the staff put out fresh coffee and asked that we help ourselves to fresh fruit while we waited.
Very nice place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you stay was here at the TownePlace Suites. Our heartfelt thoughts were with your families and friends. It is such a difficult time and we just wanted to make sure our part made things as easy as possible for you all. Thank you again for thinking of us! Mark Drummond/General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clairsville, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Clean, modern and fresh. The breakfast was delightful. No complaints from this family of four on our one night stay. Check-in was a breeze. The exercise room was small, but the treadmills were top notch. Pool was cool and refreshing. We will stay again when in Erie.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the truly nice review of our hotel! Our staff really enjoy reading our reviews and feel so accomplished when they are positive. We pride ourselves on our rating with Trip Advisor and are delighted to be rated so high by you! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here on the Thursday of the Black Friday weekend. My mother in law, father in law, husband and I booked a "suite" to share. Apparently, if you add a kitchen to any room it becomes a suite! The room was insanely small for 4 people, we could not pull the pull out couch out without it touching the bed. We are a close family....but not that close! We had to book a second room to accomodate my husband and myself, and the staff informed us there were no deals or sales on the rooms that we had to pay the $229 per room per night. We then went back up to our room only to see online that there was a deal for a room at the rate of $109. The staff gave us both our rooms at this price after we showed them the deal online. But why did we have to find it? The room is modern in decor, clean, and spacious for 1 or 2 guests per room. It was located in the perfect spot for us as we were doing black friday shopping and you don't even need to leave the Millcreek Mall parking lot to get back to your room. Over all it was an ok stay, not fabulous, not terrible. Next year we will book at one of the other 2 hotels located in the same area however.

Room Tip: Great rooms for 1 or 2 people, definitely not more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the review of the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. We sincerely appreciate your time and willingness to let potential guests and our staff how we are doing as a hotel! We do have different suite types that may have worked out as a better fit for your stay. Our 2 bedroom suites are spacious and have 2 seperate bedrooms. We have 16 of these suites in the hotel and they do book up quickly. This time of year brings out a lot of shoppers that create a demand that makes the rates a bit pricey. However, keep a watch on our Facebook or Twitter and I am sure you will see some great deals throughout the year! Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Clean property. Friendly crew. Stayed here many times with ZERO issues. From the free papers...free party nights and great breakfast...your going to enjoy your stay!
Dinner recommendation: walk to a number of great places.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so very much for such a nice review of the TownePlace Suites by Marriott. We are delighted when we make our guests happy and meet our goals of 100% satisfaction for our clients! Please come back to Erie soon and we look forward to hosting you as a very welcome guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at plenty of hotels over the years and I have to say that this hotel is by far the best yet! When I checked in the girl working the desk (I believe her name was Joanne) was so cheerful and helpful. She reccommened a wonderful place to eat and even gave us directions. The room was absolutley beautiful...very clean, very roomy. I travel to Erie several times a year to visit my grandchildren...I will be sure to stay at TownePlace every time I come!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
You made our day with your glowing review of our hotel! We are delighted when we succeed at our mission of hospitality. Please come back soon and enjoy the TownePlace in Erie again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

If were to rate our stay on the staff and the room, it would have a "very good" rating. If I were to rate our stay on the way they handle issues when they arise, it would have a "poor" rating... so I chose an "average" rating.



I want to start with all the positives about our stay at this hotel because they out weight the negative although the negative in the end... ruined our stay.

First off, the check-in staff was extremely AWESOME! We checked in with our dogs and they also welcomed them with open arms.

This was the first time we stayed at any TownePlace Suites so we were pleasantly surprised to find out we had a stove, fridge, dishwasher and microwave. It put me in mind of a mini Residence Inn. The room was big and so clean! The bed was comfortable. The halls and lobby were clean. They had a section outside in the back where our canine children could go potty - all equipped with potty bags. We always travel with our own but it was nice to know they provided them in case you forgot. We were so impressed with the room and the surroundings.


Now I must share the negative feedback. I HATE that I even have to mention this. We stopped off before we checked out to explain the situation – I wanted to give them a chance to make it right and all we got was a smile and “I’m sorry”.

As I said - check in was great. The room was great. We unpacked, got cozy and went to the bathroom. When we flushed the first time all was well. A few hours later, right before bed, we used the bathroom again – we tried to flush and it wouldn’t go down. I waited until the tank filled up and tried again... nada. So, I went down to the desk and asked for a plunger. The plunger was used and return back to the front desk. We figured it was just a fluke so we went to bed and throughout the night the toilet did the same as before. It wouldn’t flush. It was late and we didn’t want to disturb anyone so we just waited until the morning to ask for the plunger again. First thing in the morning we got the plunger. We kept the plunger in the room just in case it happened again and every time we used the bathroom we had to plunger the toilet. -_-

This should not happen in a Marriott!

We were beyond annoyed at the situation and wanted to explained the issue to the front desk and like I said she just apologized. I’m sorry but we wanted and deserved to have more than “I am sorry”. We couldn’t use the toilet the whole stay minus once when we first checked-in. Sure we could have went to the front desk and requested another room but it was late when we realized the toilet had issues. And sure we could have asked for the plunger throughout the night or requested the front desk staff to come in every potty break to plunger the toilet all hours of the night but I find that ridiculous. In my opinion, we should have gotten a percentage off our stay, something other than “I’m sorry”. We paid top dollar for our stay here – we didn’t go through any of the ‘deal websites’ to get a discounted price. We never do. We go straight through Marriott’s website to book our hotel stays with Marriott.

I’m extremely disappointed… I’ve never known a Marriott to do that to their customers.

Room Tip: Under the desk there is a smaller table. If you pull that table out it can be used as a kitchen tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reenie B, Director of Sales at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review. Many guests benefit from experiences such as yours and management gets an honest view of their property. TownePlace really is a great Marriott product and I am delighted you enjoyed what we have to offer! Being pet friendly is a great perk in hotels nowdays and I am glad you thought so as well. I am truly sorry about the maintenance issue you experienced. Just from my years in hotels it sound like something got flushed and needed the attention of our plumber! Usual culprit is a key card believe it or not! Next time call the desk and request a room transfer at your leisure!!! We want you to be happy and comfortable. We want to invite you back as our guest for a problem free stay. Call me and I will arrange for you!!! Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie

Address: 2090 Interchange Road, Erie, PA 15454
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Erie
#8 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott® Erie, PA, adjacent to the newly remodeled 170+ store Millcreek Mall Complex, is just the destination whether you need to stay one or one hundred nights! With our great long term stay rates you'll get more than you expected while paying less than you thought! The hotel is convenient to Hamot and St. Vincent Hospitals, Gannon and Mercyhurst Colleges and Edinboro and Penn State Behrend University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erie Towneplace Hotel Erie
Towneplace Suites Erie
Erie Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.