We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly special dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pie In the Sky

Pie In the Sky
463 West 8th Street, Erie, PA 16508
814-459-8638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 323 Restaurants in Erie
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly special dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Terrific service + a lot of fun, as 10 of us celebrated a family birthday in the back room on a busy Friday night. Our gracious waitresses kept us supplied with fresh glasses for a variety of wines we were sharing and a steady supply of super-delicious warm crusted dinner rolls. For appetizers, the bruschetta + the mushrooms in garlic sauce were big hits. Our entrees, ranging from steak to salmon to pork chops to mahi mahi couldn't have been better, and potatoes and vegetables were done to perfection. Pricey? Indeed. But for this special occasion, all worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We used to love coming to this restaurant but our last couple of visits have been dissapointing. My husband and I decided that last night's visit will be our last. For starters, they were out of the lamb shank dish. Considering that this restaurant is only open for dinner two nights a week and we had a Friday night reservation (and the dining room was mostly empty), we were surprised and dissapointed to hear that any of the menu's dishes were unavailable. The other dissapointment was that there were only two appetizers to choose from - the signature mushroom dish and a bruschetta dish. While the mushrooms were delicious as usual, it was dissapointing to have so few (and basic) options to choose from. It almost feels like they just don't care and aren't putting in the effort that they used to. The other complaint I have is the prices. We are used to higher end menu prices and don't mind paying more for a better dining experience, but Pie in the Sky's menu feels like a rip off. $18.95 for penne pasta with a sundried tomato cream sauce? My husband's steak was $27.95 - it had good flavor but it was thin and not really a quality steak. The food just isn't worth what they are charging for it. There are so many other wonderful independent restaurants in Erie now, we have no reason to return to Pie in the Sky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip - Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I'm giving this place five stars mostly because of the waiter. The guy had us in stitches all during the lunch. He was a riot. The food was also excellent, and they have lunch-time entertainment. This is a great place for a casual sit-down lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Pie in the Sky is one of our favorite restaurants. The quality of the food and the skill of the chef make for an always delicious meal. The lamb is outstanding and the trout is the best I have ever eaten. The salads are fresh and full of delightful additions of nuts and fruit. The name of the restaurant is serious--the homemade desserts are excellent. The staff are wonderful and the service is both professional and friendly.
Lunch is also served during the week. The sandwiches, salads, and soups, all homemade, are memorable. This is a lovely place for couples, groups, and parties.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Erie Spot for Foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

When ever we go back to Erie and are looking for a great lunch or dinner, we stop at Pie in the Sky. Check the days and hours because there have been times on our breeze through Erie that it is not open. We went for a dinner and had 4 teens and 4 adults. Many at the table had steak and were very happy with their choices. My daughter ordered a pork chop that was as big as she was and said it was one of the best things she ever had. I had a fall chicken dish and it was excellent. They have a mushroom app that has sherry, cream, and bread crumbs and whenever we go and it is on the menu we order it- it is not low cal but it is great! They feature seasonal menus that capture local flavors. Make sure you order dessert as is always amazing. Choices change based on season but they are always amazing. We have had lunch there as well, service was a little slow (if you are trying to get to a meeting) but if you have time, it is a great spot that isn't the typical Erie-chain experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pie In the Sky also viewed

 

Been to Pie In the Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pie In the Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.